We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Symbolic Value and Interesting Contents”

Palace of Parliament
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.85*
and up
Communist Bucharest History Tour
More Info
$82.46*
and up
Brasov Day Tour to Sinaia and Bucharest Including Palace of Parliament Visit
More Info
$57.37*
and up
Private Tour: Full-Day Bucharest City Tour
Ranked #10 of 295 things to do in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world's second largest building was built as a palace for Nicolae Ceauşescu, who was overthrown and executed before it was completed.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Symbolic Value and Interesting Contents”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

It is worth visiting, first, because it represents the excess that occurs where freedom does not exist, and second, because it represents the transformation of a nation after obtaining freedom. The concept that something of this size and cost was constructed to fulfill the desires of a dictator while his people suffered is unimaginable. No expense was spared in materials, marble, gold, rugs largest enough to cover a football field. Now, the building is open to visitors, the guide we had was charming and informative. People from all over the world can view a small portion of the rooms, Romanian artwork, and costumes achieving a sense of the current use of the building. It is not simply a big building, it is a place that teaches many lessons. It is slightly unnerving to leave your passport at the entry area, but you do, of course, have it returned at the end. Go now while it is developing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KayRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,164
    1,897
    759
    182
    93
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“MASSIVE!!!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is gigantic and very imposing! We went on a tour around (you need your passport to enter) marble and crystal everywhere! Very lavish!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaveP948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A very structured visit to 5% of the second largest building in the world”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you have a good and interesting guide, the visit to the Palace of Parliament in Bucharest is great! We did, but have spoken with others who did not. In any case,it is worth a look, if only for the extravagance of the work that went into building the structure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Big building, overly long tour”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The sheer size of this building is impressive. Surprisingly, it is the second largest building in the world after the Pentagon. However, you see a very small percentage of the building and the two hour guided tour is excruciatingly long for what you actually see.

Be prepared to walk and wait. If you are not taking a bus tour, then you must park in a lot that is perhaps a several minute walk from the front entrance. Not too bad, except that you are about to do a lot of walking. It was quite busy when we got there so we had to wait for some large guided tour groups in front of us. You must bring your passport, turn it in while on the tour, and go through airport-type screening.

The tour starts with a trip to the large parliament chamber and then goes downstairs to the basement where you can see a bunch of pipes and some old pictures of the building. Why? Our guide said that people always asked what's underneath so they decided to include the basement. But 10-15 minutes there?? You then work your way around various big, mostly empty rooms. Spend 30-40 minutes on the roof while locals take a smoking break. Fortunately, it has a good view of Bucharest, but why so long? You get to see several large meeting rooms and stand out on the balcony in the front of the building where Michael Jackson addressed the crowds below saying he was excited to be in Budapest. Whoops.

As we moved between floors, we had to wait for a single slow elevator a number of times that held only 6 passengers (and our group had about 40 tourists in it). I later found out that usually they make people walk up and down the many long flights of stairs, but someone in our group asked that the elevator be used instead to assist some of the older people, so it became a bottleneck as our entire group had to use it. Our guide mentioned that the same tour used to take an hour, but they had recently been instructed to make it two hours. We were concerned about catching a flight, but we were not allowed to leave the group early.

If you like large government buildings you might enjoy this tour. The high ceilings and walls are quite ornate and there is some nice art scattered about. But if you have a choice of tours, you may want to consider a more condensed one.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank castriker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Gigantic Memorial site to Madness”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

A must see place in Bucharest, to understand the madness of Chauchesko. Take good walking shoes. We took the long tour and go downstairs - not worthy. But the roof view is excellent and provide a wonderful sight of the city. You need your passports and cash for ticket.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adomvatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace of Parliament also viewed

 

Been to Palace of Parliament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing