We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple but okay hostel”
Review of Byzanthin Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Byzanthin Hostel
Ranked #90 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Bucharest
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simple but okay hostel”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place is nothing special. Simple rooms and bathrooms. No internet in the rooms, only downstairs. Small kitchen, with limited supplies. Clean enough. And the staff is friendly and helpfull. Simple common area, nothing fancy. The location however was great, just outside the center, next to a great park. Supermarket around the corner, asswel as the metro. No breakfast included allthough this was mentioned on hostelbookers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2offtheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
2
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We have booked a Superior 3 Bed Family Room for one night coming in Bucharest for E.E. Comic-Con and The Human Body exhibition. The hostel does not have a a secure luggage storage space. Dirt, garbage and clutter in the courtyard, reception hall, reception and kitchen. The room was full of dust and dirty walls. The only window of the room was also dirty and it opens in the hostel's corridor and not outside the building. The bathroom was horror: with clogged toilet, mildew+mold & smelled v. bad.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bucharest hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a small, very spartan hostel. The location is great, walking distance from parks and museums. The rooms were clean and acceptable. No nice appointments, but a good place to crash. If you are looking to be in Bucharest on the cheap, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tedd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We booked into the Byzanthin for 3 nights, but on arrival were advised that there was "a problem", and we would be moved to another hostel in the morning. The manager would speak to us about it the next day. We never found out what the problem was, but immediately jumped online to check other Bucharest options, just in case (the free wifi worked just fine).

Our room was spacious, clean and tidy, with 2 twin beds pushed together to make a double, and had an ensuite (unexpected bonus). The window did not face outside; it opened onto the hall - be sure to keep it locked for security. It felt a bit like we were staying at someone's house, as everyone else there seemed to be friends or family, not travellers - dunno. This wasn't a problem, just a bit odd. The location was not far from the train station.

The girl at reception spoke reasonable English, and was able to recommend a nearby restaurant. She also organised (as it turns out), our move to Friends Hostel on the other side of the railway station, and they paid for our taxi fare to move as well. We also got our room for the night at a discount for the inconvenience of having to move.

We were glad the girl at Byzanthin were helpful in sorting us out with decent new accommodation. All in all, it was a decent place to hang our hat for one night.

Room Tip: check your windows - if it opens to the hall, keep them locked, just in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at Byzanthin Hostel with my boyfriend for one night. The sign indicating it is a bit small, so pay attention when searching for it. It's close to the metro and to one of Bucharest's main squares (Victoriei), where the government building is and with a lot of parks close. The area of the square offers many possibilities of fast food, restaurants or supermarkets. However, going from the square to the hostel, passing the 2 streets, feels a bit less safe. There are some houses next to the hostel who seem to be devastated and homeless people could find shelter there. However, this is true for many central areas of Bucharest (we discovered that going away ust 2 streets from a very central place one can find such buildings which look dangerous.
We had a twin room, which was clean, with a little window on the roof, but the beds were bunk beds and they were very noisy, making it very stressful to even turn from one side to the other. The madrases were old and looked a bit dirty. The best part was the A/C, which was very efficient and we could use it as much as we wanted.
The owners (I think... or anyway the girl and the man who were always at the reception) are a bit weird, the girl seems overfriendly and the man speaks fast and hard to understand even in Romanian. The shower in the common (for 3 rooms of 2 people each) bathroom was unconfortable (har a courtain that made it hard to use it) and I saw a cockroach there one evening.
The breakfast was cereals with milk.
My conclusion is that you can find better places for the same price, both more clean and nice and also in the central area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlad, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I had a delayed flight, so I called the hotel from another country, telling them I would be in late. They allowed my family member to wait for me in my room...very, very helpful in light of a terrible day of delayed flights and 12 hour late arrival. The room was immaculate, and the staff friendly. The bed was simple but extremely comfortable...fluffy pillows and duvet. Plenty of hot water and an immaculate bathroom. The price was excellent. I will definitely stay there again when I am in Bucharest.

Room Tip: Our room was immaculate and the bed extremely comfortable, so I think any room will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivorybow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Nice hostel with clean and neat rooms. Reception open 24/24 which is very handy, and very good connection to internet. I recommend it for trips to or through Bucharest.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vlad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Hello Hotel
Hello Hotel
#39 of 166 in Bucharest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
#40 of 166 in Bucharest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Funny Hostel
Funny Hostel
#25 of 136 in Bucharest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Puzzle Hostel
Puzzle Hostel
#15 of 136 in Bucharest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byzanthin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byzanthin Hostel

Property: Byzanthin Hostel
Address: Strada medic Caracas Constantin nr. 22, Bucharest 011155, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Bucharest
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Byzanthin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing