We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Hotel Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Central
Ranked #50 of 168 Hotels in Bucharest
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location - steps away from the Old Town/Lipscani and many cultural and architectural highlights.
The room was very clean, very warm - not always the case - and had a very comfortable bed. Moreover, it was very quiet as our room showed onto an interior courtyard.
Excellent value for the money, I would definately go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    126
    64
    29
    13
See reviews for
31
73
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The rooms and the hotel have been refurbished recently. Staff is very nice, location is excellent, close to the Lipscany district (restaurants, bars etc.).
Breakfast was a little bit poor, only filter coffee was included, espresso was charged separately.
My room was on the first floor, which is noisy because of the huge traffic on the road. 3rd or 4th floor may be better.
Great disadvantage is that although my room was a non-smoking one, it had a terrible smoking smell. It was really disgusting. Previous guests have been certainly allowed to smoke.

Room Tip: The higher is better because of the noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 3 days. Hotel is very convenient for Lipscani, university, parliament and Revolution square areas. Clean and adequate room. Breakfast basic but ok. No view. Unspectacular in every way but overall very good value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

For a first time in Bucharest, we could not have asked for a better place to stay. First, the location is indeed central to a wide variety of restaurants; a city block away from a major park, and within walking distance of top of the line shopping. The rooms are spacious compared to those at many hotels, and room temperature may be conveniently self-controlled. Large flat screen television with more English speaking channels than one finds elsewhere in Europe. The rooms (3 of us attending a wedding each in our own room) were fastidiously clean, and we each commented on the friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was fine, and again, there was a helpful courteous staff and always a clean table to sit at. Personally, I avoid our American fast food restaurants whenever I'm in a foreign country, but the upscale McDonald's next door on the corner of the hotel made it possible to get coffee to go. That was a first for me. The few times we needed a taxi, the front desk staff would call and one would be right outside within about 2-3 minutes. There may be more sumptuous hotels, but they could not be any more reasonable than Hotel Central. Should I return to Bucharest, I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel where one looks for a room with a view... It is a place with comfortable beds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brombones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at Central hotel 5 times before n our last visit was on june 2012.We really like this hotel and the staff.Rooms are nicely decorated,beds are comfortable n good working air conditioner.Breakfast is at the 2nd floor and its nice and basic.The hotel is very close to lipscani ,lot of bars,restaurants n night clubs to see.You can walk to lipscani from the hotel in 5 min.The only negative thing about the hotel which we dont like is the carpets ,carpets needs to be changed.We wanna stay at this hotel in our next trip to Bucharest and i recommend this hotel for travellers too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller_alk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I am writing this like a lot of reviews from the hotel during my stay
The location is good, and quite central, a few restaurants and shops nearby. A little newsagent shop next door is hand for water etc...
The hotel seems quite small with a small lobby area and bar...it is right opposite reception and the bar is small and not very highly used..more of a token effort. There is no gym or fitness facilities here, no pool etc...so remember this is a small basic city centre hotel, and not your Radisson/Hilton brand type. regarding noise...not noticed anything, I have a room that appears to be at the back, not a pleasant view but seems quite

The decor is good, looks quote modern, lots of grey, white and black to give it that modern neutral feel. The rooms are small, but adequate. bed is fine, pillows are bit to big and puffed up for me, I like a flatter pillow and there are no alternatives. The bathroom is a good size and all is good there. One thing I like about the room, is the number of power sockets...so many hotels have far too few power points in the room and this is good to charge my laptop, iPhone, blackberry etc... Wifi is good, reliable and free

I have a problem with my air conditioning unit, it stays on for no more than 3 minutes, switches off and then 10 mins later comes alive again. I mentioned this to reception who say that it is faulty and can move me to another room, but to be fair I am only here for 4 nights and cant be bothered to pack all my clothes and work belongings up together and have the hassle of repacking , changing rooms and unpacking again for just 2 more nights...

The staff seem friendly and helpful. No problem there

Breakfast is on the 2nd floor, its a smallish room and i have to say the selection of food is quite small..its not brilliant, adequate but not as good as a lot of other hotels I stayed in...The restaurant is only open for breakfast, they dont do lunch or dinner here, again, because its just a small hotel in the city centre

So overall, its ok...like i have said about other similar hotels, if you are here for business and want a big selection for breakfast, a bustling lobby bar, pool, fitness centre, a restaurant you can dine in and a bit of an atmosphere, then this wont be for you. If you are with a partner on a city break for 2 or 3 days and want somewhere clean, decent, central and basic...this place is ideal

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The front desk service is top notch. The hotel is small, clean and in a decent area that is loud and busy during the day but shuts down in the evenings.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room -- a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindapooh829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera
Hotel Opera
#64 of 168 in Bucharest
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#68 of 168 in Bucharest
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Bucharest Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tempo Hotel
Tempo Hotel
#28 of 168 in Bucharest
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#7 of 168 in Bucharest
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Europa Royale Bucharest
Europa Royale Bucharest
#17 of 168 in Bucharest
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Property: Hotel Central
Address: 13 Brezoianu, Bucharest, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Bucharest
#39 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Central 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing