We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good first experiance in Bucharest”
Review of Minerva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Minerva Hotel
Ranked #113 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A very good first experiance in Bucharest”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

let's start with location, although it is not in that close to the old city, its location is quite good and near to the main piazas of te city.
I stayed in for business and it was quite good for me.
the rooms are renovated with good bathrooms, new LCD TV, free WI-Fi and there is also a free gym and sauna in the hotel.
the service was very good and hekpful, and the breakfast was more than reasonable.
the safe in my room was not functioning, so make sure it is.
you will have to relay on the air condition, because there are not opening windows in the rooms.
whenever you need a taxi, ask the reception, they are working with a reliable station.
also exchanged some Euros in the reception, and it was fair and they didn't rip me off.

Room Tip: there are 3 stars rooms in the hotel and 4 stars rooms, go for the 4 stars, they are renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kobi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    61
    53
    19
    13
See reviews for
12
29
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel has a very good position, because is near Europe House, and in the center of the city. 3 star rooms are old equipted but 4 stars are very nice.
The wireless connection is quite good, but could be better.
About the staff I can tell the house keeping doing very well their job.

I

Room Tip: backside rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreas g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennetbaden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First off the rooms are nice and clean and the beds are comfortable (this is rather a big deal for me).

Now for why it could be better: The shower is a disaster with water pouring onto the floor and going down the floor drain. No matter how one showered water is on the floor, I just find this unhealthy. I would use the extra towels to create a dry spot to shave and bush teeth, just not very nice.

2nd...PLEASE have espresso and cappucinos available for breakfast, meaning before 8:00 am. This is just an odd oversight as they do have a bar in the lobby with a full espresso machine, of which makes EXCELLENT coffee. To be told at 7:00 am that this type of coffee is only available after 8:00 am is not a four star hotel. We had to report to work at 8:00 so there was no way of waiting for the bar to open to have an espresso or cappucino. The breakfast was okay.

The hallways have seen better days and are a bit run down. I love the staircase, beautiful architecture, but is just lost. The spa is a welcome surprise and I truly wish that I could have taken advantage of this, as well as the gym. I visited and it was rather nice. The girl at the spa desk was friendly, kind and really wanted to help.

I would have also appreciated having the option of sleeping with an open window rather than the a/c, but I think I am a rarity on this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Positive: central location 500 mt from Piata Victoriei, newly renovated 4 star wing, dry & wet sauna, helpful and friendly staff. Negative: no phone calls possible with wireless internet connection. Strange because Bucharest is Europe's best equipped city in terms of internet broadband. Staff gave me a LAN cable so i could do phone conferences talking into my computer. Book the new wing though, not the old wing which needs refurbishing. All in all good value - a similar hotel in Paris costs 250 Euro minimum per day, while I booked Minerva through Venere for 41 Euro per day.

Room Tip: south side new wing is the best, for example room 522
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcopolo911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

(EN) The Minerva Hotel is one of the most famous hotels in Bucharest. It was one of the first hotels which suffered refurbishment after the ''89 Revolution. It has 3* and 4* rooms. I stayed in both, but i highly recommend the 4* which are part o the new wing of the hotel.
Breakfast is buffet, various and tasty. The Chinesse restaurant also offers a great choice of meals.
(RO) Hotelul Minerva este unul dintre cele mai celebre hoteluri din Bucuresti. Este unul dintre primele hoteluri Ceausiste ce a suferit modernizari dupa Revolutia din 89.Are camere de 3 si 4 stele. Am stat in ambele tipuri, insa va recomand cele de 4 stele, sunt in aripa noua a hotelului. Micul dejun este bufet, variat si gustos. Restaurantul chinezesc ofera de asemenea o selectie bogata de mancare.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tudor0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at the Minerva Hotel during my participation in a Conference. The hotel was suggested by the organizers, and therefore my general impression is not negative, but in some points it could be better. The room was comfortable, quite and clean, and the bathroom was new. Though I asked for a non-smoking room they gave me a smoking one, but fortunately it had no scent of smoke! Breakfast was good and tasty, and with a satisfying variety - though the coffee was not that good. One night I ordered a club-sandwich in the room, but they delivered it after almost an hour(!) and it was cold and rather expensive. The staff was sufficiently polite, but rather stiff- this service could improve more. The location was very good, the historical city center was in a walking distance, and fortunately it was also close to the Conference Venue. For a business trip, Minerva Hotel works just fine!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank garistodemou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in the 3-star-room and it was ok, clean, quiet and not too small. However, beds are a bit too hard, and we had no blinds for the windows. During Spring/summer, the sun rises very early in Bucharest, so it seemed as if we had the lights on at 5.00 am. Breakfast is good, you have plenty to choose and staff is very helpful. The hotel is in a zone full of embassies, so it is a very good location, with amazing buildings to photograph.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
#22 of 166 in Bucharest
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bucharest City Center
0.1 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#36 of 166 in Bucharest
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Victoria - Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Amzei Hotel
Amzei Hotel
#90 of 166 in Bucharest
81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minerva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minerva Hotel

Property: Minerva Hotel
Address: 2 - 4, Gheorghe Manu Street | Sector 1, Bucharest 010445, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#66 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Minerva Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Minerva enjoys a top location in an elegant residential area of Bucharest, in the city center, 300 m away from Piata Roamana and Piata Victoriei, just a few steps from all its touristic and cultural attractions, and from the largest business and commercial centers. Located near the public transport network (subway, bus, trolley, train, express-line with direct links to the airports), Hotel Minerva offers easy access to all major areas of interest in Bucharest and in the country, whether you are on a business trip or on holiday.Our 4 stars rooms are furnished in a modern style offering up to the highest standards of comfort to our guests. The air conditioned 3 stars classic designed rooms offer good value to visitors choosing to stay in the hart of Bucharest Hotel services: • Free wireless internet access Wi-Fi throughout the hotel;• Facilities for persons with disabilities (wheelchair ramp, toilet) on the ground floor and restaurant• Specially designated areas for smokers• Business Center: Printing / copying documents, sending fax, computer, Internet• Lobby Bar (with an offer of Alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, cocktails and snacks)• Spa & Wellness Centre (fitness room with cardio and strength equipment, dry sauna and wet sauna, Jacuzzi, massage)• Parking• Car rental services• Airport transfer• Exchange• Laundry and dry cleaning• Elevator• Staff speaking foreign languages• Information / reservation miscellaneous• Storage / Transport Storage• Storage of items forgotten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minerva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing