We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place highly reccomanded!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Bucharest
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent place highly reccomanded!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

we have been in the hotel! the place is just excellent from all points of view;excellent food, accommodations, excellent rooms, ect... but most of all the stuff was amazing specifically the manager! No words!!!
thanks you very much!!!! see you soon! Bela and Elhanan levy, Rishpon. ISRAEL!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yifatnmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. I am so very happy to read that you spent such a wonderful time with us. It is great to see that you have found all our services to your liking. Thank you for the praising words addressed to the team and thank you for all your recommendations.

I am looking forward to seeing you back. It is always a pleasure to have to chance to welcome you.


Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    431
    111
    21
    17
See reviews for
105
262
143
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

An excellent hotel in a great location convenient for business and leisure. There's a fanastic panoramic skyline view of the city of Bucharest from the two gymn areas, the pool and jacuzzi in the fitness and spa room on the 22nd floor. A sauna, steam room and massage room are also there. The food in the restaurant was very good, service was great and the rooms and common areas decorated to a very high standard. A nice touch was that every night a new postcard welcoming message of interesting Romanian customs, history and trivia is left on the bed after the room is cleaned.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review. I am so very happy you had such a fantastic experience with us at the InterContinental Bucharest. It is great that you could take some time and visit the 22nd Floor Health Club. The outstanding panoramic view is something one shouldn't miss once visiting the hotel. It is really great! I am glad you have enjoyed it. Thank you for recommending us.

I hope I will have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

All my best wishes.

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

During a 5 day stay, the attitude of the staff- from doormen, through reception and housekeeping....even room service at 2:00 AM was at the top of my expectations from world experience. The room (a suite) was very nice, though not much of a view....no fault of the hotel. The brunch in the morning is fantastic with lots of seating in a lovely glass ceilinged area. The bar can be a bit smoky at night, but its acceptable.
The restaurant staff was courteous and cheerful even when I showed up 5 minutes before their 10 PM closing.

Room Tip: splurge...get a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldbasics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your 5 start review with us, we appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay. I am happy that our services exceeded your expectations and I am confident you will return to create together much more memorable moments. Thank you for all the praising words addressed to the entire team, from the doorman to the housekeeping and restaurant team.

I am looking forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the InterContinental Bucharest.

All my best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is situated on University Square & next to the National Theatre. It is therefore within a very short walk of the Old Town & major sites. It's next to a Metro station so transport is easy. The views from the upper floors are magnificent and it has a good health club (pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna) on the top (22nd) floor.
The bedrooms are spacious, usual Intercontinental standard, with well equipped bathrooms. It is worth paying extra for the club rooms, as the club lounge on the 21st floor is exceedingly good: great breakfast, coffee & tea available all day, & from 6pm alcoholic drinks and small food portions).
The staff were all helpful. Can't comment on the restaurants as we didn't use them
So, why only 4* (and I did wonder whether just to give it 3*)? There are a number od downsides. Whilst the health club is good, the changing facilities are abysmal, and the worst we have experienced. There are only 2 showers & these are next to the sauna & steam room, with just a flimsy curtain for privacy, with toilets some way away. Very difficult to shower & change back into clothes/wash hair & dry hair etc, with other sexes passing very close. Also, there was nothing at all in the room or on the TV to say anything about facilities of the hotel, not even check out times. At first I thought that was just missing from our room, but later we returned in a different room & it was just the same. Not even anything about how to get an alarm call. No offer of help with luggage.
We booked in advance (cheaper!) for 2 nights & then later in the week for 1 night. Consternation when the credit card statement arrived to find that we had been charged for 2 two night stays. It took several calls to Priority Club to get reimbursed & so initially it just served to reinforce all the negative publicity about Romania. Shame as it is a great country.

Room Tip: Get on on the club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank global-traveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great club room experience - club lounge service excellent with happy hour from 6pm til 10.30pm (Guatemala Intercon = 45 minutes!). Welcome fruit basket on arrival was a nice touch, with a hand-written welcome note. Rooms well appointed but a little dated, especially the bathroom with short, high sided bath and in-bath shower with one of those nasty curtains. Good book in the room about Bucharest but, sadly, some previous guests had ripped some of the pages out, including those with the city maps. Not what you'd expect in an Intercon club room. Great location and good city views from the front-facing balconies.

Room Tip: Front facing for great city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing this review about your experience at the InterContinental Bucharest. It is greatly appreciated. I am happy to read that you felt welcomed. It is a pleasure to see that you had such a great experience at the Club InterContinental Lounge. It is a unique venue in Bucharest, a pity to miss it if accommodated in the hotel. I apologise for the book, indeed a good observation to be considered. Thank you for all your comments and thank you for offering to recommend us.

I am looking forward to your next visit!

All my best wishes.

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I recently stayed here on a business trip for 3 days. The hotel was clean and efficient. I have to say the staff was on top of every detail and extremely helpful always aiming to please. Breakfast had an extensive selection and made to order omelets, eggs, waffles, etc. The location was also excellent as it was a quick walk to some great bar and restaurant areas. Overall the rooms were very nicely equipped with a classic yet functional style. I will without a doubt stay at this property in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. It is great that you found our location excellent. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the breakfast selection, that means a good start of the day.
Thank you for all the compliments addressed to the team, they are as happy as I am to see that you had such an enjoyable stay at the InterContinental Bucharest.

I hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eance, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stay at Intercon's quite often, am rarely disappointed, and this stay was no exception.
Superb views over the city from the 9th floor suite, excellent bed, the bathrooms were very well appointed, overall a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.
From arrival at check in, (gave my name and received an envelope with room keys and tickets for a complimentary drink at the bar) to being in the room took no more than two minutes. Very well organised, just what you would expect from a good quality holel.
The staff were superb, the questions we asked were answered within a heartbeat, with everybody prepared to go out of their way if required.
Doubt I'll be back in Bucharest, but if I do, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobleponge216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and thank you for your loyalty to the InterContinental Bucharest! I am so happy that the serviced we have delivered was up to your expectations. It is so nice to read that you found everything great, from the check in experience to the overall attitude of the team. Thank you for offering to recommend us.

I hope I will have the chance to welcome you back!

All the best!

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 167 in Bucharest
768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#9 of 167 in Bucharest
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Property: InterContinental Bucharest
Address: Bulevardul Balcescu Nicolae 4 | Bulevardul Nicolae Bălcescu 4, București 010051, Romania +40 21 310 2020, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing