We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, a little dated and some questionable guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bucharest
Ranked #8 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stay, a little dated and some questionable guests”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great club room experience - club lounge service excellent with happy hour from 6pm til 10.30pm (Guatemala Intercon = 45 minutes!). Welcome fruit basket on arrival was a nice touch, with a hand-written welcome note. Rooms well appointed but a little dated, especially the bathroom with short, high sided bath and in-bath shower with one of those nasty curtains. Good book in the room about Bucharest but, sadly, some previous guests had ripped some of the pages out, including those with the city maps. Not what you'd expect in an Intercon club room. Great location and good city views from the front-facing balconies.

Room Tip: Front facing for great city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing this review about your experience at the InterContinental Bucharest. It is greatly appreciated. I am happy to read that you felt welcomed. It is a pleasure to see that you had such a great experience at the Club InterContinental Lounge. It is a unique venue in Bucharest, a pity to miss it if accommodated in the hotel. I apologise for the book, indeed a good observation to be considered. Thank you for all your comments and thank you for offering to recommend us.

I am looking forward to your next visit!

All my best wishes.

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    420
    108
    20
    16
See reviews for
101
250
140
567
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I recently stayed here on a business trip for 3 days. The hotel was clean and efficient. I have to say the staff was on top of every detail and extremely helpful always aiming to please. Breakfast had an extensive selection and made to order omelets, eggs, waffles, etc. The location was also excellent as it was a quick walk to some great bar and restaurant areas. Overall the rooms were very nicely equipped with a classic yet functional style. I will without a doubt stay at this property in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your excellent review. It is great that you found our location excellent. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the breakfast selection, that means a good start of the day.
Thank you for all the compliments addressed to the team, they are as happy as I am to see that you had such an enjoyable stay at the InterContinental Bucharest.

I hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eance, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stay at Intercon's quite often, am rarely disappointed, and this stay was no exception.
Superb views over the city from the 9th floor suite, excellent bed, the bathrooms were very well appointed, overall a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.
From arrival at check in, (gave my name and received an envelope with room keys and tickets for a complimentary drink at the bar) to being in the room took no more than two minutes. Very well organised, just what you would expect from a good quality holel.
The staff were superb, the questions we asked were answered within a heartbeat, with everybody prepared to go out of their way if required.
Doubt I'll be back in Bucharest, but if I do, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobleponge216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and thank you for your loyalty to the InterContinental Bucharest! I am so happy that the serviced we have delivered was up to your expectations. It is so nice to read that you found everything great, from the check in experience to the overall attitude of the team. Thank you for offering to recommend us.

I hope I will have the chance to welcome you back!

All the best!

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We used the Lounge for just one day of our 4 day stay as we had other things to do.The two ladies in charge offered attentive and friendly service all day and evening. Nothing was too much trouble. Nice refreshments fabulous Romanian red wine nice ambience and great views.
We have used many of these Lounges around the World and this is currently at the top of the list along with Budapest and Dusseldorf. I hope that the management recognise the immense value of the experience given to customers by such wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillypenguin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
139 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have just returned from a four day city break to Bucharest. Our stay at the Intercontinental was excellent. We were pleased with the check in and the services of the helpful concierge team.We had a room on the 8th floor which was spotlessly clean and had very tasteful furniture and furnishings Thought had been taken to protect the wood with glass tops - a simple thing missing in so many places so everything looked to be in a very good state.It was lovely to have a balcony to view the city -what a lot of traffic!!! . The bathroom was good and toiletries provided were good quality and replenished daily. We had tea/coffee making and these too wre replenished daily. We saw the lovely new looking carpets on the corridors being shampooed every day and it smelt very fresh and clean - this was a first!
We used the club lounge for one of the days and this was superb and excellent value for money and what friendly staff. The Corso Brasserie for breakfast was good and breakfast is served until 10.30
My thoughts on Bucharest, in trying to be helpful,is that it is very interesting to visit. Negatives would be impatient erratic driving and constant horns being sounded amazing 11 lane roads in one direction and difficulty getting across some roads due to size. Also the smoking which we have got used to not having to endure.It is not a shopping mecca and the people in the shops do not understand English in the main and I don't speak their language we managed.However smiling is a an international non verbal communication and it was sadly lacking. The postal service has to be seen to be believed but our postcards have duly arrived in the UK so perhaps faster than Italy. Souvenirs are few and far between so does not appear to be geared up for Tourists, or was it just the time of year?
Overall for the History and interest value this is well worth a visit. Staying in this Hotel is a must as we visited some other 5 star Hotels and this won every time.

Room Tip: All good we think Higher floors better views and the front of the Hotel perhaps better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillypenguin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your five star review! It feels great to read that your experience was a superb one. I am happy that you found excellent the Club InterContinental Lounge. It is really a place not to miss when visiting InterContinental Bucharest! Thank you so much for choosing us for your stays and also for offering to recommend us.

I hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and to create together some other great experiences.

All my best,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

In the heart of Bucharest you can find this great 5 star hotel, It is easy to find because it is the tallest building in the area. Elegance is the main feeling you get in this hotel, and the staff is very friendly and willing to help and answer questions. A very important thing is that we did not have to wait at the reception for check in as I have to wait at all hotels and I really hate when that happens. Anyway, the elevators are specia, they are extremely fast, thet go from lobby to the 22nd floor in jus seconds and you really feel it burst with speed. Not recommended for people who have motion sickness or height sickness. The room is big, extremely clean. My room was at the 19Th floor, so I had a great view. Beds and pillows are very confortable, The bathroom is also big and elegant, also the cosmetics there are very high quality. A minus that I have to mention is the staff from the parking exit, I mean a lady with no uniforme or behaviour or anything that should remind of a 5star hotel. Anyway she was extremely arguing and disrespectfull and we had to stay like 20 min to convince her that the parking had already been paid.

Room Tip: Choose the upper levels for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review about your recent stay at the InterContinental Bucharest. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am very glad that you had the chance to live the InterContinental experience up from the 19th floor, having an overwhelming panorama of the city. Thank you for offering to recommend us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back, I remain with

My best wishes!

Stefan Frank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2013

There are a number of excellent hotels in Bucharest but the Inter Conti has a trump card - a really great location. It is literally a 5 minute walk from the Lipscani old town full of pubs and restaurants. A metro station is 1 minute away and a taxi rank 20 metres from the front door (taxis in Bucharest are the cheapest I have experienced anywhere in Europe). Many business locations are close by. Despite the location my room on the 12th floor was very quiet even though it was quite close to the lifts.
Breakfast was great with a wide variety and all the staff I encountered seemed genuinely friendly and helpful. The spa centre on the top floor is a must visit! Where else could you sit in the jacuzzi and enjoy such a fantastic city view.
It is also a great location for a business meeting / seminar.
The only negative observation is that smoking is still allowed in the bar and lobby. Unfortunately this seems to be the norm in Romania. To visitors from UK and many other countries this is uncomfortable and to be honest way behind the times.
Despite this I can recommend the Bucharest Inter Conti unreservedly.

Room Tip: the higher the room the better the view from the balcony. Lifts are very efficient and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Id0ntwantascreename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... B, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your great review. It is great to read that my team made your stay, a nice and memorable experience. It is great that you have managed to spend some time at the 22nd Floor Health Club, indeed the view is spectacular. Thank you for offering to recommend us and our location.

I hope I will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

My best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 166 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#9 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Property: InterContinental Bucharest
Address: Bulevardul Balcescu Nicolae 4 | Bulevardul Nicolae Bălcescu 4, București 010051, Romania +40 21 310 2020, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing