We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Launchpad for the Land of Dracula”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Bucharest
Ranked #8 of 168 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk Va
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Launchpad for the Land of Dracula”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed in this property in the March 2013 period. It is located in downtown and all in all it is a great deal for the price and meets all aspects of a InterContinental property. It is right next to the metro and there were always a handful of taxies out front.
The best part of the facility was the staff who were always willing to help.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the front in order to view square
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NavyGuy337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to recommend the location of the hotel as well as the services that we offer. Besides the location which gives easy acces to the cultural and entertainment attractions, the hotel also offers a great view over the entire city.
I am looking forward to your next visit, to guide you also to the legendary land of Dracula if you have not managed to see it.

Best regards,

Stefan Frank
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    440
    114
    21
    17
See reviews for
108
269
148
588
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Me and a friend spent four days at the Interncontinental. For the price we paid, we were really happy with the comfort level and overall experience at the hotel. Our room was in the 18th floor and had a nice balcony, from which we could overlook a great deal of the Bucharest skyline - including the huge parliament building. Very nice! We also really enjoyed the relaxing area on the 22nd floor with swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi. The jacuzzi could only fit four people, but only on one occasion did we have to stand in line to get in. The sauna was always empty. An advice is to make sure to book massages (which is offered by the hotel at about a third of the price of a massage in Sweden) at least a day in advance. On the morning of the day of my departure, I decided I wanted to get one, but then there were no available time slots left.

Another plus was the breakfast buffet. It offered a rich variety of servings, and there was always a cook there mot make fresh omelettes and waffels upon my request.

As for the service, it was very good, though we got off to a somewhat bad start. When we checked in to the hotel, the reception gave us the wrong room. When we brought that to their attention, they immediately set us up with a new room. But then then the key cards we received for the new room did not work, so we had to go back once again to get new keys. And the fruit plate which was put in the first room to welcome us, never made it to the second room even though we asked for it. But after that, all the service we received was impeccable. All staff were really friendly and was receptive for our wishes at all times. They also helped us to book a guided tour of the Parliament (which is a must see!).

The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the city. The old town with all its historical sights, restaurants and night clubs is only a 5 minute walk away. A metro station entrance can be found some 200 meters from the hotel. Forl me, who had worried about the safety situation in Bucharest, I also appreciated that the area around the hotel felt safe - both in the day and at night.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Daniel C,
Thank you for your feedback about the four days you spent with us. It is very important to see that your experience was enjoyable. I am glad that the room you have chosen offered the view above the entire city, indeed this is great. Many thanks for all your compliments addressed to the team, they will be very happy to hear your feedback.
Once again thank you for choosing us as your host and I am looking forward for you to return.
Best wishes,
Stefan Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

stayed in the hotel for two days. a good five star hotel wth great location. the rooms are very comfortable. the old town is located nearby and is worth a visit.
the buffet breakfast was elaborate and quite good. airport transfers take anywhere between 1 hour to 2 hrs depending on traffic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsnagaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recommending the InterContinental Bucharest. Yor review is very much appreciated by the entire team. It is great to read that our services were up to your expectations. I very much hope that you will return to Bucharest to exploreze more of the city, and choose us to be your host and guide!

Warm regards

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Outstanding hotel, good staff and a great all round experience, outstanding value per night, a premier weekend location,particulary as so convenient to old town night life, definitely recommend all weekend visitors to Bucharest stay here.

Booked airport transfer for 35euro as flight arriving 8pm onwards, maybe somewhat overpriced compared to yellow meter taxi's. but OTP airport is supposedly rife with taxi fiddles so IC Mercedes transfer is a worthwhile investment.
9pm Friday xfer took only 25 minutes However return to airport using a metered taxi will be only about 15euro.

Bed, pillows nice and comfy, I slept well, two bathrooms, one with jacuzzi, the other a walkin shower. Instant copious hot water when needed.
Aircon worked well, not overly noisy. Furnishings all good,no signs of wear at all, top marks all round

A perfect location for weekend stays. The "old town" with restaurants, bars, clubs is 100m away diagonally via underpass(s) through roundabout by hotel.
Try St Patricks bar, draft beer and draft Guinness. First bar I tried, 'Gin Palace' , only had bottled Guiness though.

Prompt checkin, nice rooms, as PCR/IHG Royal Ambassador all paid stay benefits volunteered by hotel without having to ask. Was upgraded to one of the 60 junior suites, very nice, two rooms with partition door. 2x Minibars, 2x TV's (old tube style) and TV movies non-digital so have fixed re-occuring start & end times

Had club access, nice breakfast options, nice evening snacks and generous evening drinks period and drinks choice.
Although I had a breakfast inclusive rate as well as lounge, reception said that with Lounge access you can take breakfast in either lounge or ground floor restaurant, which has more choice.
Top 22nd floor has small but adequate indoor pool and a well equiped gym.

Enjoyed evening drinks in popular ground floor bar, breakfast in both lounge and restaurant, and evening meals too. Very reasonable prices for Europe, but then this is Eastern not western Europe.

Room Tip: Buy club lounge access, access is well worth it. Gives you breakfast in lounge restaurant breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Doar Guest,

Thank you very much for your praise to the InterContinental Bucharest team. Your compliments are so much appreciated. I am very happy that your overall experience both in our hotel and in the city of Bucharest was a memorable one. Bucharest is an osutanding city its- self and you get to see it only by exploring and experiencing. I have a great satisfaction to read about your enjoyable stay starting from the check until the check out. It is great that you have also tryed the Club InterContinental Lounge. It is a place not to miss.
I am looking forward to your next visit in the near future!

Best wishes,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Location is really good just few minutes walk from the "old town".
Service is really good. Bikers can park bikes just front of the main door or in a secure garage. Don´t give any extra money to persons who claims to be workers of the hotel tho!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrekfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in InterContinental Bucharest and for recommending the location to those who would like to explore more of the city, as the Old Town area, as well as for the bike users.

I hope that you will return to us soon!

Best regards,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I attended on a conference in December, last year. Intercontinental offered everything what we needed: luxury for a very reasonable price. After the long working hours we refreshed ourselves in the pool area on the top floor with a beautiful view to the whole city, included the Peoples Parliament.
The breakfast was delicious, do not miss out the pasta de macies, a special romanian jam or the eggplant cream.
The room was ok, beds were comfortable. I enjoyed the balcony and the view very much.
The chief concierge organized our evening programs and we all thank to Catalin, who gave us the best tips how to explore this exciting city.
I plan to visit Bucharest with my wife for a romantic weekend, I would definitely stay again at Intercontinental.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience you had in InterContinental Bucharest. It is of a great value your feedback from all the areas that you have visited during your stay. Our team is very happy to guide you through the local traditions and attraction. I would be very happy to welcoming you back and be at your side in exploring also the city of Bucharest.

Best regards,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you travel to Bucharest and are looking for a classy place to stay choose this one.
It is located in the heart of the city and the rooms have great view all around.
Great rooms, great quality of service and rally helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefanFBucharest, General Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay in InterContinental Bucharest, mentioning also the great location of the hotel. Being in the heart of the city it offers plenty of options to explore the cultural, historical and also the entertainment attractions.
Thank you for recommending our services and product.

I look forward to your return, to allow us to guide you also in exploring more of the city.

Best regards,

Stefan Frank

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 168 in Bucharest
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#9 of 168 in Bucharest
560 reviews
0.2 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#7 of 168 in Bucharest
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Property: InterContinental Bucharest
Address: Bulevardul Balcescu Nicolae 4 | Bulevardul Nicolae Bălcescu 4, București 010051, Romania +40 21 310 2020, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing