We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice....but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Bucharest
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice....but....”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Building on the inside looks better then from outside....Room well equipped with all sorts of stuff, although the condoms in the minibar were a bit too much......Some staff were very friendly (especially front desk), others less.... Pool on the roof must have contained o alot of chemicals, as I got a rash few minutes after leaving it, which has never happened to me before.....

Unclear policy about the internet charges, was asked to confirm that i will pay 16 EUR a day for the connection although it was supposed to be included in my room rate. It was evetually taken off the bill, but untill check out was not sure if that would actually happen.

Good location close to old town, although did not feel very comforatble when walking there in the evening (not the hotel's fault though....)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart12_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuscostescu, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Bart12_Warsaw,
I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with InterContinental Bucharest. I am very happy that our front desk staff and the rooms rise to your expectations. I have taken note of your comments regarding the pool and the policy regarding internet charges. These are of great importance to us and allow us to continually monitor and improve the quality and services that we offer.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,
Marius Costescu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    433
    111
    21
    17
See reviews for
105
262
144
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A very good SPA on the 22nd floor.
Well furnished rooms. Very clean.
Good view of Bucharest from all sides.
Great breakfast.

Small an old TV in the room.
Disappointing casino. No slot machines. Almost empty on Saturday evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KishKashTa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuscostescu, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Hotel Bucharest and its services!
I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts regarding your stay with us.
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.
I look forward in welcoming you back to our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Marius Costescu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Outdated, expensive for the services it offers, very noisy rooms, you can hear traffic all night. Staff very helpful and professional. Internet in room 16 euro per day! I'd expect it for free in a five star hotel. Would not recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Djasta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuscostescu, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Djasta P,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with InterContinental Bucharest.
I would like to apologies for the inconveniences caused by the noise and the internet charges, your comments greatly assist us in our efforts to improve the quality of service we deliver to our guests.
Once again I would like to thank you for your comments and I hope I will have the opportunity in welcoming you back to InterContinental Bucharest.

Sincerely yours,

Marius Costescu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for the first time and it surprised me of their level of service beyond my expectation. The room was very nice , comfortable bed. As an ambassador member, i was greeted with a bottle of wine in the room! The club lounge was excellent with great snack and business facilities. Staff was also very helpful for local travel information and tour.

Indoor pool was great, altough the gym is considered too small for this size of hotel.

The hotel is next to subway station-universitate which very convenient and it is very close to historical site. It
iS great for sightseeing and restaurants in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sombatbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I negotiated with Intercontinental for an all inclusive rate, with wifi to be included. When I go to the hotel, I realized that High Speed internet was NOT included per the check in clerk and would not even lsten to me and asked If I wanted to go elsewhere at midnight knowing I could not being my first time in Romania. As a businessman, I would never agree to book a hotel unless this service was free. VERY BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE, and deceiptful sales reps that work for INterncon, obviously commission based, BEWARE!!! Once upon a time, this was a good hotel name, management values have changed evidently. This hotel is in need of a face lift as it is very dated and old in the rooms.

Room Tip: There are many other great hotels with better service. I paid almost $300 extra for internet while I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Basil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuscostescu, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with InterContinental Bucharest and I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the internet charges. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. I appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Once again, I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us and I do hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back in InterContinental Bucharest.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Even though we were happy overall with our stay, comfy beds, air conditioning, somewhat outdated spa area, we were disappointed with the bell boys and doorman. We arrived by taxi with lots of luggage (3 girls) and there were 2-3 doormans/valets standing at the door. None of them greeted us, nor opened the door, nor offered to helps us with our bags. Shame on them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alextheicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuscostescu, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
I take this opportunity to thank you for staying with Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us!
Your comments greatly assist us in our efforts to improve the quality of service we deliver to our guests. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had to experience on your check-in time regarding the doorman/ bellboy attitude. I have read your comment and made a thorough investigation of the events that lead to this outcome and I already took action in order to avoid in the future such behavior from our employees.
Once again I would like to apologies for the inconvenience and I hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,
Marius Costescu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very impressive house in typical IHG grand-hotel style with lots of marble and wood and spacious room. It is situated in the city centre and has all typical facilities and overall excellent staff.

Standard fitness room and small pool on top floor with nice view over city

A bit disappointing the breakfast staff which were more concerned talking with themselves than waiting to guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csaba73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuscostescu, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Csaba73,
I would like to thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay with InterContinental Bucharest. I am pleased that you found our hotel and staff excellent; we are very proud of our hotel and our high standards for service, cleanliness and quality, however, even though we try every time to exceed our guests’ expectations, it seems that we failed to have outstanding service at breakfast too, for which reason I would like to apologise and assure you that we will take immediate action in order to avoid future outcomes.
Once again, your feedback is important to us and we are looking forward for your next stay with us and prove our high standard service.
Sincerely yours,

Marius Costescu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 167 in Bucharest
770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#6 of 167 in Bucharest
551 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Property: InterContinental Bucharest
Address: Bulevardul Balcescu Nicolae 4 | Bulevardul Nicolae Bălcescu 4, București 010051, Romania +40 21 310 2020, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing