We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expect some not so stylish surprises, such as a packet of Durex in the minibar” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Bucharest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Bucharest
Ranked #7 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Expect some not so stylish surprises, such as a packet of Durex in the minibar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Let's start on a positive note: great location, it is right in the centre of the city. The hotel has a nice lobby, the rooms are spacious and clean and they have a balcony with really great views. Being a priority rewards member I also received a voucher for a free drink at the hotel's bar.

And now the not so positive staff:
I open the minibar and I see a little surprise, a blue packet of Durex. Now I noticed some prostitutes around the hotel and let's be fair the hotel can't really help who hangs around its premises. I was also approached by prostitutes but a quick refusal was all it took to be left alone. But when you see the packet of Durex in the hotel's minibar next to the Pringles you start to wonder whether the hotel is in a way pimping for the "locals". Bleah. Although not unique to this hotel, the adult movies are featured prominently as soon as you turn on the TV. The TV is an old TV but it does the job.

Trying to use the gym located on the top floor is such a big pain. You have to register and then put on some disposable slipons before you actually make it to the gym or lockers where you can take these disposable slipons off. Because I was the only registered guest at the hotel I had to go to reception and register my sister so she can use the gym. So more hassles for just simply using the gym. The pool was small but at least it was indoor so you can use it regardless of the weather.

There was a welcoming message in the room from one of the managers, along with some free fruits on a platter and a couple of complementary bottles of water. BUT, the message was for someone else and not for me so obviously there was a mistake on the hotel's behalf.

My room was clean but the bath tub although stylish looking was one of those plastic bath tubs. The internet was also relatively expensive at around 15euro for 24hrs access.

The grass around the hotel's premises was unkept as you can see from my attached photo. This to me is representative of the sloppy management which pays attention to some aspects of the hotel and not to others. Just like they sometimes reply to TA reviews and sometimes they do not.

The staff, some were great and some were somewhat selective in regards to who they helped or called a taxi for or opened the door for.

Anyway, for me personally the presence of the Durex in the minibar was such a turnoff that I would not return to this hotel despite its great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Appreci8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Appreci8life,

Thank you so much for being a Priority Club Member and for taking the time to write a comprehensive review about your recent stay with us. I am delighted you were pleased with our great location, lobby and room accommodations. We are very proud of our hotel and our high standards for service, cleanliness and quality. I am sorry to hear that we fell below your expectations. We apologize for the inconvenience and hassle you have experienced at the minibar, hotel facilities, room amenities and services received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this is the best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    404
    104
    18
    16
See reviews for
96
236
135
548
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Quite superb! Stayed in a club room to guarantee non-smoking. (Cheaper rooms do not guarantee this, as they are allocated on arrival. This is the only real negative.). Excellent helpful multilingual staff. Deservedly five star!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euroboyLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The hotel has all you would expect from this chain. Wifi, pool, gym, casino, bar, and dining options. The buffet breakfast is nice but was to pricey ($30). Also my room rate changed everyday which was strange. The staff is very nice and professional. The location is the best part as you are right downtown and near "old town" which is a walking street area of bars, cafes and clubs. The room are comfortable but dated.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoltED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
87 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The location of the hotel is simply perfect: just in the heart of the city. Some might complain about prostitution around it, but it's not agressive, just ignore them. The rooms are old and the TVs very old fashioned, but spotless clean. Good sized bathrooms. The swimming pool have great views but the water wasn't pleasant. BREAKFAST IS AMAZING, great omelettes and caffe latte. They charge EUR 16 to use wifi even in the lobby, which is absurd these days. Just walk to Lipscani street and you'll have dozens of bars where you can use it free of charge. Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulista1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

The price paid in the end was not the one on the reservation, the infos are not clear on their site - they say that they charge 20 EUR more for a third person, but actually they charge 40 EUR per night (20 EUR for the fact that a third person share the room, 20 EUR for the additional bed).

Location is nice, the hotel is nice except the old small TV in the room that is strange...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank desphinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Overall, we had a very good experience at the hotel. It was in a good, central location and the rooms and staff were very good. The club level was also a good place to relax and had a plentiful supply of drinks and food. The only reason for 4 stars is like other reviewers, I found that the hotel could use a bit of updating.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisterTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanciano, Italy
Level Contributor
244 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have been few days ago for the very first time in this Hotel and I was particularly surpised as I was always thinking it was a "recent" building: on the contrary is not! Is an old building and in fact the room that I was given clearly showed all its age.
The hotel is a 5 star one of course with all the comforts in the room but it is missing something.
Opportunities for improvement:
1) It should be refurbished as the rooms suffers the age in all aspects;
2) No LCD TV, just an old CRD one!
3) In the bathroom there is no power socket for shawing! I searched it but there was no way to find one. If it was there was clearly well hidden.
4) Bathroom furnitures are worn out;
5) The small fitness center is in a nice location but in summer is the possible worst place: if you want to use it, you may consider to have a sauna in the same time!
6) Waiters in the restaurants (where you have breakfast) take too much confidenza with customers and are not always kind;
7) In the night, having people near the lobby entrance approaching you to offer "special services" from ladies is very annoying and I thought this use was almost disappeared near such hotels in Bucharest.

Positive points:
1) The hotel is the city center and close to metro station;

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anxanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#8 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.7 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Property: InterContinental Bucharest
Address: Bulevardul Balcescu Nicolae 4 | Bulevardul Nicolae Bălcescu 4, București 010051, Romania +40 21 310 2020, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing