We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Staff Team”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bucharest
Ranked #5 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

InterContinental always deliver and this hotel is one of the nicest I've stayed in. Although a little dated in style, the entire staff team here just could NOT be better. From front desk, to housekeeping to the bar, to the restaurant, there is a real feel here of being a very valued guest. The property is incredibly well kept, with flowers everywhere and a real attention to detail in all areas. The room we had was a suite, with a huge and superb bed, a great view and was spotless, well card for and felt luxrious. But it's the service that makes this a great place to stay. Service levels that are just so hard to find these days, make this a classic 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

There are two things good about this hotel and they are: The Avis car rental and the concierge. This hotel needs work for it to be a five star. The carpeting is ripped on the staircase, the rooms have TV's from the 1980's, the carpet in the ballroom looks like dirt, it is noisy, and we are platinum plus members of this hotel group (the highest that anyone can be) and we did not get an upgrade to a suite. We have traveled all over the world and always had an upgrade. I know it is upon availability and the reception said there were suites available, but didn't upgrade us. I didn't argue and just stayed at Radisson Blu for my next night in Bucharest. Radisson Blu gave us a free upgrade and I joined their point system.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hilton, Radisson Blu, or the Marriott if you are wanting a 5 star property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 7wonderstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear 7wonderstraveler,

Thank you very much for being a Priority Club Member and for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Great location...clean...nice breakfast...helpful staff....

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urologturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuscostescu, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Hotel Bucharest and its services!
I am very happy to be reading your comment and to notice all the positive remarks you brought to us.
I am looking forward to welcome you once again in our hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Marius Costescu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Intercontinental is superbly located in the heart of the city, practically atop a Metro stop, and two blocks from Lipscani, easily the most charming part of the city (and filled with cafes and great for strolling) and shops and cafes along Victory Street (Calea Victoriei). It is also close to a stop on the Bucharest City Tour (a Hop On and Hop Off tour). Very comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast buffet. Definitely enjoy the croissants. These are the real, buttery pastry that is nothing like the pallid version served in the US. And, grab one with chocolate and you'll be eating a bite of heaven. There's lots to see in the city. http://www.offbeattravel.com/bucharest-romania-landmarks-attractions.html

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OffbeatTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

we tried both restaurants and the food was very good.
spa/pool on 22nd floor is a flashback to the 1970's and needs to be seen.
lounge on 21st floor is excellent.
just a shame about the street noise at night and stray dogs barking all night.
overall, a great hotel to stay at if you want to explore bucharest.
tip: hotel mercedes is EUR 31 from airport which is a great deal!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjspjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hotel is in the perfect location a few minutes walk from the old town where there are numerous bars, cafes and restaurants. The hotel is very clean and the service was 100%, all staff members we dealt with were friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was spacious and very clean (housekeeping 110%). We stayed 'Club' which I would recommend, you have access to a private lounge on the 21st floor which has amazing views over Bucharest and offers complementary snacks and drinks and a very leisurely breakfast + comfy sofas to chill out on after lots of sightseeing! On the top floor (22nd floor) is a swimming pool with gym & saunas and outside seating, again the staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was a little bit of luxury and calm to return to each day. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay in a 'Club' room, it costs a little extra but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolktraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The InterContinental has a great location in the centre of Bucharest, right next to a metro station and 5mins walk from the Old Town district. It feels a little old/tired now and could have been cleaner, but overall retains most of the features of a top class hotel. Staff were always helpful and friendly. The room was a good size, with comfortable beds and no noise. The hotel is one of the tallest buildings in Bucharest and has great views, particularly from the top floor spa. The swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna, etc were all well maintained and never busy. Buffet breakfast was really good. Overall excellent value for money.

Quick tip: don't book airport transfers or taxis through the hotel concierge - there is a taxi rank just outside the hotel that uses metered taxis, which will cost 10-20% of the price (as an example, a hotel-booked airport transfer for four people would have cost 60euros, we took a taxi from the street and it cost us 6euros).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souzou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.5 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 169 in Bucharest
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#15 of 169 in Bucharest
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 169 in Bucharest
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bucharest

Address: Bulevardul Balcescu Nicolae 4 | Bulevardul Nicolae Bălcescu 4, București 010051, Romania +40 21 310 2020, Bucharest 010051, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#4 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range: $104 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering above the city skyline, InterContinental Bucharest is one of the city's favourite international high-rise hotels, a distinction owed to its ideal location, fine appointments and impeccable service. Experience the Club InterContinental Lounge on the 21st floor of the hotel for a memorable stay in a relaxing, private and elegant setting designed to fulfil the expectations of the business travellers. Immerse yourself in the beautifully designed pool, with panoramic city vistas on the 22nd floor. Dine at Corso Brasserie, offering a contemporary Romanian menu and glass walls overlooking Bucharest. For a fine dining experience, try the Modigliani Pasta e Carne, one of the top Italian restaurants in Bucharest.The Old City Center, the Romanian Athenaeum Concert Hall and Cismigiu Gardens are just a few minutes away from the hotel. You’re also within walking distance of Bucharest’s business and shopping districts. Start your Bucharest's itinerary with the amazing city view from your room balcony! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Bucharest Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing