We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice safe hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
Ranked #41 of 168 Hotels in Bucharest
Timisoara, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice safe hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a hotel near the main train stop in Romania, the North Station. Very useful for a stop between / before train trip(s). The rooms are standard and clean. The neighborhood is not very friendly, but the hotel is a safe and a very good choice in this area. Be careful with the taxi drivers in Bucharest, especially in this area; sometimes you have to negotiate with them.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorinaAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    274
    218
    72
    31
See reviews for
75
165
147
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent one night in the Ibis Gara de Nord. We chose it because we were arriving at Bucharest OTP Airport lateish evening and taking an early train to Brasov next day. To get to the Ibis from the airport we took bus780 which stops just outside the station. Then walked for a couple of minutes to Calea Grivitei and the hotel. If you are facing the little park in front of the station go left then right.

Check-in was efficient and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable, but fairly basic. There was no room-safe or tea/coffee making facilities. There was plenty of hot water in the bathroom. The bed was clean and reasonably comfortable. The room was quiet and we slept well. The only slight problem was it was a bit hot and the room had no air-con.

We ate in the Ibis restaurant. The staff were friendly and efficient. The food was pretty bland but as we later learned most food in Romania was pretty bland. The draft Ursus beer was good.

The bill was correct on check-out.

The hotel is right next to the metro so could be used for a longer stay. The area immediately around the hotel has some small shops and snack bars. The girl in the nearby convenience store was very pleasant. There are more shops, snack bars in the station itself. The area seemed perfectly safe but devoid of any sights. If you want to be near the station or if you intend to go to the sights by metro this hotel is fine. I would certainly use it again if I wanted to catch an early train somewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenemHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Every time I have to stay in Bucharest, I always stay at Ibis Gara de Nord. It's very conveniently located, you can catch a bus from both airports and they drop you off 3 min walking from the hotel. The subway is right in front of the hotel. Also the train station is 2 min from the hotel.
The hotel itself offers a great value for money, you get even more than you pay for.
The staff is not very accommodating at times, they could definitely do better, but I've seen worse too.
The rooms could need some improvement here and there, but for what you pay for, you can't complain much.

Room Tip: Book it ahead or through the hotel's website, it's the best way to do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Mught not be the most fancy hotel but clean and food standard to a reasonable price. The location was good; the metro just outside the door and just a couple if minutes to the northern (and main) station of Bucharest. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

For anyone planning a short stop in Bucharest, this is a good choice of hotel; the rooms are bigger than the average Ibis ( i read in the local guide that Ibis acquired the site) and were clean and functional, though the decor looked a bit dated. Downside of being in an older (extensively renovated) building was a lack of wireless internet connection - free internet was available, but needed a cable connection ( which I'd have brought from home, if i'd known) .Breakfast was good value, and adequate , though not an extensive range.

Location is ideal, being a four minute stroll from the main railway station (Gara de Nord) which is also the terminus of express coach 780 from the airport(s) - though the pickup point for getting back to the airport seems to have moved during local building work. Central Bucharest can be reached easily by metro ( station entrance just outside the front door) , or a 25 minute walk

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djg2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Bucharest Palatul Parlamentului
0.1 mi away
Hello Hotel
Hello Hotel
#43 of 168 in Bucharest
422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Trianon
Hotel Trianon
#22 of 168 in Bucharest
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Eos
Hotel Eos
#74 of 168 in Bucharest
20 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tempo Hotel
Tempo Hotel
#28 of 168 in Bucharest
437 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#35 of 168 in Bucharest
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord

Property: Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
Address: Calea Grivitei 143, Bucharest 010708, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord hotel is located 2 km from the centre and 200 m from the railway station. The hotel has 250 air-conditioned rooms, a restaurant, a terrace and a bar open 24 hours for snacks. It also features 6 meeting rooms for organizing seminars and conferences, and private outdoor parking with security guard service. Business travellers will appreciate the WiFi wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bucuresti Gara De Nord Hotel Bucharest
Ibis Hotel Bucharest
Accor Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing