We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashion styled but not old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two night on a business trip to Bucharest. The room is quite big with comfortable bed (though it is two seperate single beds joined together). Good amenities big shower and bath. The only lacking is a comfortable work area. Breakfast is reasonable could be better for some reason they keep on asking for room number minutes after someone else already recorded that. Other than that there is a good Italian restaurant 10 minutes walk (called Tartoria)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yehiel_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Continental
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 573 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel was fabulous - very comfy bed, lovely bathroom facilities, quiet, and good breakfast. I stayed for business and found the facilities extremely comfortable. My only complaint was that at 5'1" (150cm) tall, I couldn't quite reach the hanging rail in the wardrobe!! Otherwise perfect :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noplacelikehome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Grand Hotel Continental is excellent and a true 5 star hotel. We had a deluxe room that was large and decorated in a classic opulent style, with a stunning bathroom. It is very centrally located in Bucharest, with parking directly outside the hotel overseen by a security guard.
The only downside is that breakfast is expensive at 20 Euros pp and could only be described as adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekenderpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I am not sure why many reviewers here are disappointed, the hotel offers great rooms, nice breakfast and service. Yes, this is not up to a real Western 5 Star hotel, but the room prices are not similar to the ones you usually pay for a 5 star either.

The location is very central, close to most of tourist attractions, you might even not need any transportation at all if you stay in Grand Continental. The decor is rather posh with fake golden things dominating, but not totally tasteless. The rooms have enough space, beds are of good quality, my room faced the street, but I did not hear nay noise, the bathroom looks nice and modern. The hotel provides complimentary bottles of water every day. There is a bathrobe, electric teapot and complimentary tea and coffee bags, cups and spoon. There is also a nice set of mini toiletries in the bathroom. There is a safe box and a mini fridge.

Rooms get properly cleaned everyday, and there is a chocolate candy awaiting you on the bed in the afternoon on your arrival. Breakfast is quite ok, you can find meaty and vegetarian options, decent coffee, and some Romanian specialties.

The staff at reception desk is very polite and efficient, I did not need much help from them, except a wake-up call and taxi order, which they did promptly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MashaTrofimoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Grand Hotel Continental, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback from your visit with us.

My most sincere thanks for your excellent comments about the Grand Hotel Continental! It is always nice to know that the hard work and all our efforts are rewarded.

I am very glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back.

Yours Sincerely,

Sanda Almasan
General Manager, Grand Hotel Continental Bucharest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had two lovely overnight stays at the Grand Continental separated by a side trip to Ramnicu Valcea for a conference.

The hotel is a bit of a peaceful oasis in the middle of bustling central Bucharest. The rooms are large and comfortable,with traditional style furnishings. The modernized bathroom was quite a contrast to the style of the bedroom with a waterfall faucet spilling onto an over-sized, almost flat sink. There was no counter space for one's toiletries other than a small area behind the sink that was already full with hotel-supplied amenities. So we had to set our toiletries on the uphill part of the basin and be careful not to turn the faucet on too high.

The hotel has two restaurants--a fancy one on the ground floor and a bistro in the basement where they serve the buffet breakfast. We had dinner at the fancy restaurant with our local Bucharest hosts. The menu was extensive and we thought both the food and service were excellent. However, with the exception of a lone diner who got there about half-way through our dinner, our group of seven were the only ones dining that entire evening. We thought that odd given how good it was. The bistro breakfast was also excellent with a good selection of hot and cold dishes.

As our rooms were paid by our business hosts, I can't comment on the value. But we really enjoyed our two stays here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castriker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were staying in Bucharest for several nights after our wedding and wanted somewhere with more character and charm. Grand Hotel Continental had it in buckets!

- The rooms are large and beautifully furnished. The bathroom has a good shower + bath and the bed was very comfortable. The only slight problem was that the TV didn't work but that was pretty minor
- The staff were lovely - very helpful and attentive
- It is in an excellent location - close to the old city and the centre, but also right on the Victoriei thoroughfare which is very convenient
- The price is not cheap, but it is very reasonable compared to the other "chain" hotels in the area which don't have half the charm

Overall an excellent hotel that would not look out of place in the centre of Paris. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businesstraveler127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent four nights here. The room was spacious, grand, and altogether luxurious. Old world elegance, combined with modern, stylish bathrooms. Great location for sightseeing and an easy walk to the Old City, which was vibrant with night-life and great food. Enjoyed Bucharest very much, especially after coming from Mamaia (near Constanta) on the Black Sea coast, which was shocklingly run-down and dreary. (We were told it was a couple of weeks past the high season, but that doesn't explain the unpainted buildings, trash, and dead landscaping). Romainia was a trip of contrasts, and Bucharest was definitely one of the high spots.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.3 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#6 of 169 in Bucharest
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 169 in Bucharest
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 169 in Bucharest
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Address: Cale Victoriei 56, Bucharest 010083, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: $106 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Grand elegance is back in Bucharest." At Grand Hotel Continental you will rediscover the old dimension of luxury in the hospitality. Architectural refinement details and exceptional services are dedicated to the elite clientele. We have restored the atmosphere of XIXth century, we have added the XXI-century technology and we have customized all services to create a unique and memorable experience for each guest. The Grand Hotel Continental is located on Calea Victoriei, a place full of history, the center of Bucharest high life since the 1800s. The building was built in 1886 by the plans of two known architects Mr. Enil Ritten Forster and I.I. Rasnovanu in German Renaissance style. It was first called "Otelul" and it was built where the old "Broft Hotel" (property of the businessman Menahem Elias) was before. Half a century later it took the Grand Hotel Continental name. The building has passed through a recent restoration, preserving the same classic structure and details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing