We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Parisian Style Hotel in Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Continental
Ranked #7 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Parisian Style Hotel in Excellent Location”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We were staying in Bucharest for several nights after our wedding and wanted somewhere with more character and charm. Grand Hotel Continental had it in buckets!

- The rooms are large and beautifully furnished. The bathroom has a good shower + bath and the bed was very comfortable. The only slight problem was that the TV didn't work but that was pretty minor
- The staff were lovely - very helpful and attentive
- It is in an excellent location - close to the old city and the centre, but also right on the Victoriei thoroughfare which is very convenient
- The price is not cheap, but it is very reasonable compared to the other "chain" hotels in the area which don't have half the charm

Overall an excellent hotel that would not look out of place in the centre of Paris. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveler127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    142
    35
    14
    12
See reviews for
52
174
38
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent four nights here. The room was spacious, grand, and altogether luxurious. Old world elegance, combined with modern, stylish bathrooms. Great location for sightseeing and an easy walk to the Old City, which was vibrant with night-life and great food. Enjoyed Bucharest very much, especially after coming from Mamaia (near Constanta) on the Black Sea coast, which was shocklingly run-down and dreary. (We were told it was a couple of weeks past the high season, but that doesn't explain the unpainted buildings, trash, and dead landscaping). Romainia was a trip of contrasts, and Bucharest was definitely one of the high spots.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is located just in the center of Bucharest in on of the old, but compeltelly rnovated buildings. The enterior is very nice, the furniture is not just if it was old, but it's really old, but also renovated. Although there is a lot of traffic outside, the windows don't let the noise in, which let you relax during the night.
The only problem is the breakfast, which is served downstairs in a narrow place, which doesn't have the same style as the rest of the hotel. it's simple and has no style. Anyway the breakfast itself is pretty much ok. If you really want to drink a coffe, than ask an espresso, or else you'll get some brown water.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great luxurious hotel. Stayed here for one night and was totally satisfied. The rooms have a classic old style, and the bathroom is very modern. The breakfast area wasn't large, but had enough food choices. I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank RobertTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

After booking this hotel via booking.com, where it states that dogs are accepted on request, I have just been told that a surcharge of €50.00 is payable and they only accept small dogs. This is 150% more than the most expensive of all the other hotels we are going to in Eastern Europe and nearly 50% of the total room cost (which includes our breakfast). Needless to say will be cancelling our reservation.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank trumpinpumpkinjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed for a weekend. All good, liked a lot of things about this hotel, had a nice room service dinner, reasonable price only 69Lei for everything. Also found a kettle and teabags in my room, able to make tea or coffee anytime for free, bonus!!

Great location, very central, but also quiet. Nice building, with a bit of history, but also clean and modern inside. Great view of the street through my window.

Bad points? Sauna was only 9am to 9pm. I showed up about 8.50pm and was disappointed to be told they already switched it off.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ploeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batumi, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Period of accommodation: 21st-26th of July.
Location: Downtown. City center. Walking distance many to cultural points (such as concert Halls, Museums, library ), leisure points (such as bars, pubs, clubs, casinos &slot halls), on the main shopping street (luxurious brands), banks &ATM points and postal office.
 Hotel: in spite of the name "Grand", the hotel has 3 floors and 59 Rooms.
Classical architectural style. Parking available.
Rooms: Classical style furniture contradicting with ultra modern design bathrooms where functionality beaten by design. Clean, tidy, spacious. Beds are orthopedic. 
Staff: well-trained, local, English and other foreign languages spoken, attentive.
Facilities: spa, gym, sauna small but effective. 
Breakfast is minimalist buffet, clean and delicious.
Restaurant: Don't try Balkan Bistro restaurant. Unfortunately, the concept made of selection of foods from Balkan countries is quite unsuccessful.
Cigar room with poor selection of brand cigars. Cognacs and malt whiskies are enough but could be more brands and choices.
Price: 90€ - 130€ including taxes for booking. very good price for such a high quality level of accommodation.

Room Tip: Choice the rooms viewing to hotel entrance, quiter than to Victoria Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMXESEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 166 in Bucharest
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#8 of 166 in Bucharest
1,280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
1,122 reviews
1.3 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Continental

Property: Grand Hotel Continental
Address: Cale Victoriei 56, Bucharest 010083, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Continental 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Grand elegance is back in Bucharest." At Grand Hotel Continental you will rediscover the old dimension of luxury in the hospitality. Architectural refinement details and exceptional services are dedicated to the elite clientele. We have restored the atmosphere of XIXth century, we have added the XXI-century technology and we have customized all services to create a unique and memorable experience for each guest. The Grand Hotel Continental is located on Calea Victoriei, a place full of history, the center of Bucharest high life since the 1800s. The building was built in 1886 by the plans of two known architects Mr. Enil Ritten Forster and I.I. Rasnovanu in German Renaissance style. It was first called "Otelul" and it was built where the old "Broft Hotel" (property of the businessman Menahem Elias) was before. Half a century later it took the Grand Hotel Continental name. The building has passed through a recent restoration, preserving the same classic structure and details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing