We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great location”
Review of Class Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Class Hotel
Ranked #130 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Reviewed November 13, 2008

I stayed here for 5 nights when on a business trip. I probably wouldn't stay there again.

The place is a good quality hotel with large rooms, etc. However, the rooms were a little tired and a few things were annoying. I sat at the desk on the first night to do some work and the chair collapsed - this had obviously happened before.

Security seems reasonable and they have a 34/7 gaurd at the door.

Restaurant waqs awful. The food was hyper expeisive (4 times the price of local restos) and the drinks were like tokyo prices. The resto was fairly empty during my stay - probably due to the extreme prices. The waiter I though might also be doing the cooking. I ordered some food which took over an hour to arrive and then it wasn't even what I had ordered and was very poor quality. I don't think a professional chef had cooked it for sure. I just ate at the local pizzeria and a couple of other places for the remainder of my stay. All less than 15 mins walk from the hotel.

The hotel is not in a great location and street lighting is poor. In this area there are also packs of stray dogs that follow and annoy you but stamping your feet and shouting seems to keep them at bay. You will probably feel quite insecure if walking around here at night due to these things and a few seedy characters, lack of pavements and general shabbiness of the area..

The pool and SPA though was very good and clean and modern.

If you ask the reception, they will give you a key to unlock their wireless internet - which was free and I appreciated that!

Theres a very small supermarket place about 50m away from the hotel if you dont fancy paying 3 or 4 euros every time you want a small bottle of water!

I got a good rate through the company I was working for that week but to be honest I would have felt very hard done by if I had paid the rack rate. It would NOT have been any kind of value.

Access to the city is best by Bus which there is a stop about 10 mins from the hotel and loads of busses go there. Staff were not able to supply bus maps though which was a pain as you didn't know wehere the busses were going. You should buy tickets before going to get the bus although i didn't manage to figure this out at any stage and never paid for any bus trips due to be unable to fiund how to buy tickets.

Hope this helps...

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Craigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Class Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 41 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2007

This was my second trip to Romania for business and my first stay at the Class Hotel. Probably the worse part of the hotel is it's a little hard to find and isn't in downtown. Otherwise the room was a good size and everything was clean. The morning breakfast buffet was very good, though during high traffic times some of the main items went scare and not replenished fast enough. Though they have free WiFi, its only available in the lobby/bar areas. They offer a very nice pool and gym. Front desk staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SWsalesGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
Thank DHGregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: המלון רחוק מהמדרחוב
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arb32016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nach einem Zimmer fragen, bei dem sich das Fenster öffnen lässt.
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -JoJo-FRA-2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled on business
Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madalina B, Director of Sales at Class Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
3.0 mi away
Phoenicia Express Hotel
Phoenicia Express Hotel
#136 of 169 in Bucharest
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Stil Hotel
Best Western Stil Hotel
#123 of 169 in Bucharest
59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Bucharest North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Domenii Plaza by Residence
Domenii Plaza by Residence
#51 of 169 in Bucharest
92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Expocenter Hotel
Expocenter Hotel
#56 of 169 in Bucharest
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Phoenicia Grand Hotel
Phoenicia Grand Hotel
#29 of 169 in Bucharest
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Class Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Class Hotel

Address: Strada Garlei 30 A | 1st District, Bucharest 013723, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range: $57 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Class Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 10 minutes from Otopeni Airport and 5 minutes from Romexpo, Bucharest's main exposition center,this 4-star hotel is located in green surroundings,close to Baneasa Lake.Hotel Class offers 63 elegant rooms and suites,classic decorated and equipped Air Conditioning,mini-bar,International Phone,TV-set and WIFI Internet.The Leisure Club has indoor-pool,Jacuzzi,Sauna,Squash court and Fitness-room. Our Conference Center has 4 Meeting rooms suitable for seminars,conferences and events,equipped with,flip chart,projector and screen.Our restaurant serving excellent and varied Romanian and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Class Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Class Hotel Bucharest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing