We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelence Expected, and Delivered” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excelence Expected, and Delivered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Although we are not the Hilton Hotel type of tourists, our tour had booked us into the Athenee Palace Hilton. We had expected excellence, and received it. We agree with a previous poster. This is a clean safe hotel in a beautiful, historic building. Its strong point is its location, within easy walking distance to most everything a visitor to Bucharest would be interested in, including some decent restaurants. Its right across the street from the Ateheneul Concert Hall, and even within walking distance of Nicolae Ceausescu's Peoples House, the second largest building in the world after the Pentegon. The staff had a good command of English, were not snooty at all, and most helpful. The food, service, rooms, cleanliness, comfort, etc. were all one expected so not much point taking a paragraph or two to list them all off.

On the negative side, the buffet breakfasts were VERY expensive, although the selection was excellent. After four weeks in Italy and Eastern Europe it was nice to see an egg. We didn't even contemplate eating lunch or dinner in the Hotel.

We'd certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bucharest.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dldcw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Thank you very much for being our guest and for your pleasant feed-back.

It is always reassuring to learn that our guest are happy and satisfied and that our efforts in meeting our guests expectations and providing the best services are successful. I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and also the surrounding area. I am sorry you did not get to try our newest restaurant on the ground floor, Cafe Athenee, for lunch or dinner.

Maybe on your next visit to Bucharest you will give us the chance to convince you on the quality of our food and beverage services.

Sincerely,
Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    579
    149
    23
    26
See reviews for
170
461
135
686
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

We stayed one night on our arrival into Romania, and then spent 3 nights there at the end of our trip to Romania. We requested that the hotel have a car waiting for us when we arrived as this was our first trip there and we were arriving around 9 in the evening. A very nice car and driver was there to greet us. I would recommend this if it is your first time there.

I had booked us on the executive floor and I thought non-smoking - when they took us to the room the smell of cigarette smoke was overwhelming. There was no way we could have slept in that room. We called down to the front desk and although they were "fully booked" they said they had another room that might be better - although it was supposedly smoking too - that the guest had not checked in yet. That room was much better and did not smell of smoke at all. When we went to the elevator we were very surprised to see that there was a big sign that said the whole floor was supposedly non smoking! On our return stay we said non smoking was a must and they complied.

The rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. Bathrooms are quite nice. The executive lounge is OK - not near as nice as the one in Dubrovnik. Breakfast was OK - nothing exceptional - same for cocktail hour. The Italian restaurant downstairs is quite good. This was one of the few hotels on our entire trip that charged for wifi use - even on the executive floor - it was like $22 US a day - huge ripoff for the client! The staff indicated that they had many complaints about the cost, but management ignored the complaints.

Laundry service was very good. I fell on one of the uneven streets and tore a hole in the knee of my pants and housekeeping repaired it for me in a matter of an hour or so and I could hardly tell where the rip was!

Location is very good - however, Bucharest is one of those places where you walk a half a block from the hotel and you are in an area where there are large residences that are totally deserted and abandoned. Be careful of the taxi drivers in front of the hotel. If you walk outside and even act like you might be looking for a taxi, they will follow you back into the lobby and try and get you to take a taxi with them. This happened to me and he wanted 40 Lei to go where we wanted to go. The hotel then arranged a taxi for us and the charge was 21 Lei.

There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel - the one I remember is Restaurant Verde - that have actual non smoking areas where one can breath while they eat. The Hilton is a clean, safe hotel in a beautiful, historical building.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
158 Thank Colleen_travelqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience of the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest.

It was a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and the way the team resolved the issues you encountered during your stay. Please accept my apologies that we were unable to immediately accommodate you in a non smoking room. With reference to your comment regarding the No-Smoking signs on the floor by the elevator, in this case it is in reference to the corridors when you come off the elevator and not the guest rooms, as these are individually signed.

I fully appreciate your concern related to the internet access and I wish to assure you that Hilton Worldwide is considering every comment we receive from our guests and we are continuously reviewing our policies. A first step in this direction is the recent decision to offer complimentary internet access in rooms to all the Gold and Diamond Hilton Honors members.

We are aware of the taxi situation within the city and together with the Front Office and Security team we are taking the necessary measures to prevent our guests from being disturbed.

I wish to thank you once again for your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest.

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
162 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Glorious 2 nights at this old world hotel , facing a main square and the Large museum on the right hand side. Rooms large and bathrooms similar, restaurant good with a wide varieties of food, staff very pleasant , a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noosasunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achterveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
141 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

This is one of the better Hiltons I stayed at. The location is great (at the Revolution square and next to the Atheneul concert hall - which allowed me to arrive at 6pm and attend a concert that started at 7pm). Despite the location I had a really quiet room. The gym is great with brand new equipment, great breakfast buffet. The only glitch was the taxi they put me in on the way back to the airport (I was warned but nevertheless ended up in one booked by the hotel with a corrupt meter). But the hotel manager already profusely apologised for that! I am sure you can find much cheaper hotels in Bucharest but for me this was value for money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PvLAchterveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Hilton Bucharest confirms its good standards. Rooms are spacious, clean , services are excellent, staff at the congierce and reception friendly and competent.

Disappointing the breakfast in the executive floor...poor quality and choice , even lazy waiters. The ´normal ´ breakfast room downstarirs offers a better service and quality.
Taxi chaos outside the hotel. One would expect outside Hilton Hotel not being ´´agressively´´ asked by a number of taxi drivers. This needs an improvement.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splokysploky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, it is always helpful for us in our quest to improve the quality of services we are offering.

I was happy to learn you were satisfied with the Hilton standards and with our team. It is always reassuring to know our guest are receiving the quality services they expect and deserve.
At the same time, I am very sorry you did not experience the best of Executive Floor and that you were disappointed with the front of the hotel appearance, being hassled by disrespectful taxi-drivers. Our security service is working together with local authorities and private protection companies to ensure our guest's safety and to avoid unpleasant situations. Obviously we will have to place even more emphasis on this.

I took note of your remarks concerning the food and service on the Executive Floor and will take the necessary measures to improve the quality in our offer.

Thank you again for your feed-back and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Athenee Palace Hilton.

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

The suite was superior to others I've experienced in the Hilton chain. Convenient business center and ample breakfast were offered. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

I stay here regularly for business and will "live" here for a month soon. This is a great addition to the Hilton portfolio and yes there are renovations going on but they are of next to no inconvienince. Rooms are a good size and the junior suite upgrades where available can be nice, although of varying sizes and amenity. The executive lounge has nice facilities and has food and drinks on offer most of the day. One weakness is the restaurant, not a huge range of options for an italian restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#7 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#8 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Property: Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Address: Strada Episcopiei 1 - 3 | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Family Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA and Travelocity so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing