We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Ranked #11 of 167 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, we paid for the executive floor and it was worth it. rooms are big and clean and well equipped. the bad point is that the air-con was very weak, we tried to play with its control but failed to increase its power. The hotel is very central so you can get easily to any part of the city. we used taxis, it's very cheap (compare to western Europe).

I had doubts about which hotel to choose, the Hilton or the Radisson. and I'm glad we chose the Hilton. As it's more exclusive and classy, and the atmosphere is more business and luxury. We went to the Radisson, few times. The Radisson has a good combination of business & pleasure due to his outdoor pool, but the guests of the Radisson are mostly gamblers and I didn't like it.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank gulu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review and for trusting us when you chose Athénée Palace Hilton.
It was a pleasure to read your kind words and grasp your enthusiasm in regard to our hotel amenities. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered and we assure you that your feedback will be taken into consideration for further improvement.

We will be looking forward to welcome you again soon and show you once more what true hospitality is.

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,032
    623
    162
    26
    28
See reviews for
185
516
143
733
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is an older hotel (about 100 years old) taken over by Hilton. It is very well maintained and typically a Hilton with comparable services. The location is very accessible to old town, some beautiful churches and other architectural wonders and near to some great restaurants. Rooms were clean, large and well maintained. It is missing a little store so if you want anything it is a trip out of the hotel. No gift shops either. Has a lot of historical notions which are quite interesting. All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patsychom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton and for sharing this valuable review.
We are delighted to notice your interest in our rich hotel history and that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope that due to our convenient location, you managed to visit Bucharest and what it has to offer. Regarding your recommendation, we kindly thank you and assure you that it will not rest unheard.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We only got to spend one night this time, but from the moment we checked in to this convenient, central location, near plenty of restaurants, beautiful sights, and shopping our chcek in & out and stay experience was top notch. Being a Hilton Honors member, I was greeted with a professional, courteous wholehearted welcome. The executive lounge was excellent, the day time attendant was excellent. We will be back for a longer duration to better explore Bucharest

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Corinne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton and for writing this review.
We feel honoured by your compliments and, at the same time, happy to have succeeded into offering you a pleasant stay. We are sorry that you could not visit Bucharest and will definitely encourage you to come back again and discover the city.
We will be looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The hotel is centrally located, but the view from most of the rooms of the Hotel is not that great. The main reason being the hotel/ building is not very tall. You can get a glimpse of the third largest ( area wise) building in the world from some of the rooms.

We were given a nice double room which was fairly large and looked good. Overall there is nothing much to complain about the hotel perse. The morning breakfast is acceptable for a five star hotel.

The lobby is just about okay. The reception ( i.e. area) is not up to five star standard level.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor giving a view of square in fron of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurien10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel has old world charm and is well maintained. My wife slipped in the bathtub so be careful. Excellent breakfast was included. Nice Italian restaurant in the park next door to the hotel.. Rooms are quite large but bathroom could be laid out better. Slippery bathtub beware..

Room Tip: Elevator can be confusing and requires a key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrRapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with the travelling community on TripAdvisor.
Athénée Palace Hilton is indeed a vivid building with a lot of history, and we are glad that you noticed and enjoyed this aspect. We are happy that our service and hotel amenities were up to your expectations. However, we apologize for the bathroom incident. We assure you that your feedback will not rest unheard.

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

The Hilton at Bucharest is right in the downtown area of Bucharest, near the Art Museum. The ride from the airport took 15 minutes and check in formalities were quickly done. The elevators have security access and the room was a corner suite. The room was clean and everything worked. The lunch ordered to the room was delivered in 15 minutes and was hot and delicious. A request for an adaptor was delivered in 2 minutes. The staff are smiling and helpful. The breakfast in the morning had a varity of spread which was appealing and tasty. The bed was heavenly as it is with all Hilton hotels. Overall a great stay

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blpsimha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review on TripAdvisor.
It is always a pleasure to read from a guest who experienced a really nice time at Athénée Palace Hilton. We are contented to see that our hotel facilities and restaurants met your expectations and you did not encounter any inconveniences. We are glad that your appreciated our professional staff who is always struggling to give their best to the guests, so that they can end up having a relaxing holiday.
We will be looking forward to welcome you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I was very pleased with my stay at the Hilton in Bucharest. Convenient location, not a far walk to shops and restaurants. Athens staff was very helpful, bringing us up to the executive lounge for a while until our room. Was ready after we arrived on an early international flight. Ate breakfast daily and dinner once in the restaurant.....food was fine and prices were what you would expect. The gym was fantastic. A would definitely stay again....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenHoCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable review on TripAdvisor.
We are glad that you had a pleasant stay at Athénée Palace Hilton and you decided to explore our hotel amenities. The location enables our guests to get a glimpse of Bucharest, so we hope that you had a fantastic time strolling around the city. We will share your kind words to our staff members and we will be waiting to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#8 of 167 in Bucharest
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 167 in Bucharest
772 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
0.7 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 167 in Bucharest
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Property: Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Address: Strada Episcopiei 1 - 3 | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Family Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing