We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel , good location good services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

this is the first time i start with a negative part but i really think the only thing that this hotel is missing is a pool but the rooms are nice with beautiful comfy mattresses... good location right next to the athenee

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank remusdeac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,941)
There are newer reviews for Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Very nice old hotel in the middle of Bucharest with a great architecture,design and history.
Irreplaceable services and very nice and polite staff!
Very good breakfast buffet,full of everything you wish!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this valuable review and for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton.
I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased that you found not only our services to be of high standards, but also the location and the historical building. I will transmit your kind words to our entire staff and we will be looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed for about one week in this hotel. The location is nice, very close to the city centre. A lot of interesting historic buildings are next door. Especially the Romanium Athenaeum at the opposite site of the road is worth a visit. Access to the subway is okay. Two station are on walking distance; less than ten minutes walking. By using the subway all of the city can be visited very easily. Bucharest is a nice city and absolutely worth a visit. Staying in a hotel at Hilton standard enhanced our trip!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Rien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Athénée Palace Hilton.
We are glad to read that overall you had a pleasant week and you found the location to be at your convenience to explore Bucharest. Nonetheless, we are happy that you appreciated our service and we will be looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Great location in Bucharest.Old hotel said to be a hangout for the secret police during the communist era.Now refurbished and modernized.Has working wifi very good breakfast buffet and a fine location to explore Bucharest.Expect to see many community dogs hanging out on the streets that seem to be everyone's pets.Apparently they were not allowed in the Soviet style apartments so they took to the streets.People come out in the evening to feed them.

Room Tip: Overlooking the square is nice.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton and for taking the time to write this valuable review.
It is reassuring for us to read that you had a pleasant staying at Athénée Palace Hilton and your expectations were fulfilled. Also, we are glad that you found the rooms comfortable and you enjoyed the breakfast. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience that you may have encountered and hope that it hasn't clouded your stay in Bucharest.
We will be looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I usually stay at another 5 star hotel in Bucharest, but not anymore. This hotel has class, location and comfort. The rooms and bed are very comfortable. The staff are very accommodating and the prices reasonable for this class hotel. I was able to book an advanced rate that makes the price/value ratio very good. Although the views from the room as nice as some of the other hotels, the staff make up for it with their service and smiles.

I will stay here from now on when visiting Bucharest.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
4  Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this valuable review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton.
We are delighted to read that you had a comfortable staying and your expectations were fulfilled. Moreover, we are happy that you were extremely satisfied with the professional service we provide and that you consider returning again.

We will be looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

One could spend much time admiring the architectural features of this great building; it comes with an interesting history going back to 1914. Google it! The grand lobby, marble designed floors, gold pillars, and intricately designed chandeliers make this a very comfortable, inviting place to sit and relax. Unfortunately, we arrived just when a large group pulled in. Because of this there was a bit of chaos, we decided to use out time in Bucharest wisely; we went sight seeing first. We asked the concierge if they could keep our bags safe as we had breakables. Not only did they do this but they signed us onto the free Internet, provided us maps, and arranged for a safe, relable taxi to accommodate us. They even came outside to greet the taxi to confirm the cab number and translate cost/destination. We came back after dinner to check in. The room was clean, comfortable, and quite large. As we had to catch our flight very early in the morning they provided a box breakfast for us. Too short of a stay, but when we come back to Bucharest we are staying here! Great place. Museums are close and many good places to eat within walking distance of the hotel. We did not have an opportunity to us the fitness centre or pool...but the looked very inviting. Great service from employee we met.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton and for writing a review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted that everything met your expectations and you had a great stay with us. The building is, by all means, an important heritage and we are carefully trying to preserve its authenticity. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience encountered during the check-in procedure. Nonetheless, I will deliver your kind thoughts to our personnel.
We will be looking forward to welcome you again!

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here recently as part of a business group. All staff were very helpful and courteous, food was good and the rooms were very clean and well equipped. I particularly liked the outdoor bar/chilling area which was great to catch up with friends/colleagues at the end of the day. I was particularly taken with Bucharest as I didn't know what to expect but found the city charming and interesting. Will definatly visit again and stay at the Athenne.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holmefieldguesthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton and for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
It is wonderful to read that everything met your expectations and that you could experience what Athénée Palace Hilton has best to offer. Also, I am glad that you appreciated our courteous staff and the rooms were according to your taste. On the same note, we are happy to see that Bucharest turned out to be a charming city with lots of entertainment options.
We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,
Jan Thomsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#6 of 169 in Bucharest
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 169 in Bucharest
802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#13 of 169 in Bucharest
573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Address: Strada Episcopiei 1 - 3 | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Family Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range: $113 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing