We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, good services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Ranked #10 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of Bucharest, next to landmarks, shopping areas and close to the old city, the place where you want to have a nice dinner and spend the rest of the evening.
The staff is great, speaking very good English and doing everything possible to help.
The rooms are quite big, decorated in a classic way, not exactly my taste but good overall. Clean and in good conditions.
The food in the restaurants doesn't come cheap comparing with other places in Bucharest but the quality is good. The restaurants are nice, good terrace for the hot summer days.
The English bar is the place to smoke a cigar and have a relaxing drink. It is frequented by a good mix of visiting business people and the local "cool".

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable time in our hotel situated within the heart of Bucharest, having the National Museum of Art of Romania and The Romanian Athenaeum right on the doorstep and that you appreciated our carefully-selected staff. Moreover, we are pleased to hear that our contemporary decor and quality food of the restaurants seduced you. We look forward to hosting you again among our outstanding guests.

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,969 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for week and a half... Really a bit confused. It has pros and cons and it really took me a while to make my mind up, which ones tip the scale. So let's start with the positive part: Location, location, location - stating from the hotel building itself (beautiful historical interiors in lobby), up to the central location in Bucharest (20 minutes walk from Parliament Building) that is not so hard to reach by car. Breakfast is really fantastic - very tasty, great offer of coffees (latte, espresso, etc. - whatever you wish), fresh fruit... and the best one - honeycomb instead of the pre-packed artificial honey! Rooms, let's say up to the Hilton standard. Also, the lounge snacks and drinks offer is pretty decent (alcohols... let's say below average). Now the dark side... missing some sort of the personal approach from the staff. Cleanness would be another issue - I had a room with balcony. Really enjoyed it but... the balcony was full of cigarette butts (non-smoking room), also it is impossible to open the windows (except for the balcony room of course) unless you ask in the reception. I was also under the impression that AC was not working...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback here on Tripadvisor! I am happy to read you enjoyed our central location, breakfast selection and Executive Lounge options.

We truly value all your comments as we try to learn from them to improve along the way and continually enhance our guests. Again, we thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us the chance to make it right for you next time you’re in Bucharest. Our Concierge and Reservations teams will be happy to help you plan that next visit.

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in July 13.

Before arrival in Bucharest a call was placed to the hotel to arrange airport transfers, this was swiftly dealt with by the concierge, Daniel, a member of the hotel we would soon become very familiar with.

The hotel has a very grand entrance and is steeped in history, fine brandy and a cuban cigar are a must in the English Bar, where war time spies used to congregate.

The rooms themselves are in-offensive, the air con works faultless, providing a cool haven from the city heat, so long as you don't open your windows (as expected). The minibar is well stocked and over priced, as is the norm.
The toiletries are excellent, as would be expected in a Hilton.

The strengths of this hotel are its incredibly warm and welcoming staff, particularly, all 3 bars, the breakfast crew and of course the concierges, who nothing is too much trouble for, from arranging days out to booking taxi's etc.

There is an indoor infinity pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and gym on the ground floor, only accessible from its own lift at the rear of the hotel.

The breakfast is very good and caters to all nationalities, we would strike a word of caution to anyone wishing to enjoy their breakfast outside, there are some rather large birds (whose call sounds like the shower scene from Physco) who like to monitor every mouthful, waiting for a spare morsel.

We never ate in the hotel (there is an Itaillian just oustide, to the left that is excellent value for money) as we wanted to take in the Bucharest atmoshere, so can not comment on the food, but should imagine it is very good.

This hotel is a great place to stay for many reasons, location, comfort, friendliness and I would
defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

A very high standard hotel, great location, service was perfect, rich breakfast and enjoyable fitness facility.
Highly recommend !
The hotel is located near the Ateneul, so it is central, close to many restaurants near by.

Room Tip: Use the spa and fitness centere for good health
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank אפרי ר
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great and incredible rich history, restaurants and location within the Hilton tradition. Staying here did not make me feel at home. And missing the more warm and personal approach from other Bucharest hotels. The room windows could not be opened having a bad effect on the quality of the air in the room penetrating the carppets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Anton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for highlighting the rich history of our property, our restaurants and central location.

If you are interested in our 99 - year history, I would recommend the book “Athene Palace” written by the American journalist Countess R.G. Waldeck. The book narrates the fascinating events and the international figures that made Romania Europe's last sensational source of intrigue and color during the ‘40’s.

I am really disappointed to read from your review that our team failed to make you feel at home. We strive to provide our guests a home away from home to enjoy and we truly apologize that we fell short on this occasion. Regarding your bedroom window, they can opened on request, I am sorry if this was not communicated to you.
Please rest assured that your feedback is incredibly important to us and we will definitely take all your comments into consideration. Again, we thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us the chance to make it right for you next time you’re in town.

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the Athenee Palace Hilton three nights after a river cruise in July. The outstanding feature of this hotel was the staff. Their friendly and efficient attitudes made each day a pleasant one. The staff in Roberto's was always helpful and attentive especially at dinner. The Concierge deserves special recognition for his exceptional attention in helping us. He went out of his way to contact the airline and print our boarding passes with seat assignments. He helped us when we missed our bus to the Village Museum by getting us a cab and giving the driver our destination.

The hotel accommodations were very good: comfortable beds, prompt cleaning of the room, robe/slippers, bath amenities, quiet location (6th floor). We enjoyed the breakfast buffet which had a variety of selections each day. It took a few trials to successfully use the key card in the elevators but this was not a problem.

We were able to safely walk from the hotel to other nearby areas. Major tourist locations were not close by so we were taken by bus to visit the Parliament Palace and other areas in the city. One of the most interesting visits was to the Village Museum which is an outdoor exhibit of over 60 actual homes from 19th century. In addition to the homes there are windmills, water wheels, churches and other aspects of rural Romanian life.

We enjoyed our stay at The Athenee Palace and highly recommend it to other travelers.


Travelnut
Leesburg VA.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for the very nice review, we enjoyed having you here. At Athénée Palace Hilton we are passionate about delivering exceptional service to our guests and I am delighted to see that you were fully pleased with your experience. I will gladly share all your comments with our team; especially with the team in Roberto’s and the Concierge team. Maybe on your next visit you will have the time to gather even more impressions about the beautiful attractions Bucharest has to offer.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Linda Griffin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've been using Tripadvisor for a while to read reviews so i figured I owed the Tripadvisor community by offering my own feedback and felt compelled to write a review for this hotel.
I stayed here for 5 days from 1-5th July and I have a very pleasant experience from the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out. Checking in and out of the hotel was quick and smooth with many staff ready to help - my request to check-out late on Friday due to a flight cancellation was granted. The level of service and personal touch was also felt during breakfast hours, despite it being very busy there was always somebody attending to your needs, offering tea/coffee and replenishing your drinks. I've been to Bucharest many times and stayed in several hotels and this hotel has the best breakfast buffet available with a variety of delicious cakes, muffins, made-to-order omelettes and more. On one day I was offered a coffee but told the lady I was in a rush and didn't have time and she very kindly offered me a take away cup along with some croissants to take away.

I had a spacious room at the front of the hotel with lovely views of the square outside. There was absolutely no noise disturbance at all as the windows do a good job of keeping the noise out. There are plenty of lovely bathroom amenities (Peter Worth), slippers and bathrobe. The large bed was very comfortable and the air-con ensured a good night's sleep.

The health and fitness centre was a nice way to relax at the end of a long day full of meetings. I used it both during and outside of working hours and it was never too packed. Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and a pool large enough to do laps in.

I cannot comment on the dining facilities as I dined outside.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel with its friendly and attentive staff and its full services. Would definitely come back again on my next trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us.
It is gratifying to know that you enjoyed the Athénée Palace Hilton experience and remained highly satisfied with the hotel facilities and services. It was very kind of you to highlight the friendliness of our team also. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback with my team. Maybe on your next visit you will give us the chance to pamper you with delicious dishes too.
Once again, thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us!
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Linda Griffin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#5 of 169 in Bucharest
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 169 in Bucharest
813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#13 of 169 in Bucharest
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Address: Strada Episcopiei 1 - 3 | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Family Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range: $104 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing