We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cosiest hotel I've ever stayed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“cosiest hotel I've ever stayed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Athénée Palace Hilton Bucharest, as my review's title says, is one of the most cosiest hotels I've ever seen. The feeling that I am home away from home always embraces me since I step into the lobby - which always has a stunning flower arrangement in the middle of it.
The rooms are just perfect. Fluffy duvet and pillows, nice bathrobes and music in the bathroom.An upgrade to the executive floor is a must.

For sure this hotel deserves every one of its five stars and I am looking forward to write about it in my new Bucharest guidebook which will be launched next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
First of all I would like to thank you very much for choosing Athénée Palace Hilton as your home away from home and for writing such a nice review. I am delighted to learn that you had a cozy stay with us.
Positive feedback like yours is a great motivator for the entire team and we take great pride in making our guests to feel taken care of, valued and respected..Thank you also for complimenting our flowers in the lobby, we will share your comments with our florist who take pride in further enhancing our beautiful lobby.
The Athénée Palace Hilton team is looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    579
    149
    23
    26
See reviews for
170
461
135
686
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed for 1 day, booked 2 rooms for 3 persons. The services and the personnel were very friendly and doing all they could to make us enjoy the stay (except an intern receptionist who did not understand I already paid the rooms on-line...never mind).

Unfortunately, the hotel looks it start to loose its former glory. As another reviewer pointed out, the carpets start to look worn out (although still clean) and my room had an annoying constant noise during the whole night (AC? bathroom fan? could not discover). Also, the 2 rooms although booked together, were at 3 floor distance (4 and 7)?!?!?

The breakfast in the morning was excellent, but I would say if you care about your money, book another hotel for the same money and a cheaper one with similar standards.

Room Tip: Not on the Calea Victoriei Bulevard, it's busy every hour of day or night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback here on Tripadvisor! I am happy to read you enjoyed our services, breakfast options and the friendliness of our staff.
We strive to provide a personalized experience for each guest, actively looking for ways to exceed expectations. Having said that, it makes me sad to read we didn’t fully met your expectations this time. Please accept my apologies and rest assured all your comments have been shared with the team. We will certainly take your observations into consideration when we are refining our product to create a better hotel experience for our guests.
We understand that there were some issues that inconvenienced you , particularly the disruptive noises in your room, I am sorry we were unable to correct this while you were here. I hope the next time that you are in Bucharest that you will consider staying at our hotel again and you will give us the chance to make it right for you.
I hope welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had the chance of another visit and I have to say this old lady of Bucharest is losing its magic every time I visit - it has gone from a first class gracious luxury hotel to a tired and poorly managed operation with cost cutting to the fore - I stayed on the 5th floor Executive however the sparkle has gone - the rooms are tired the carpets are worn the note paper , envelopes and post cards have long gone and the Executive lounge has lost it's 24/ 7 access to a cold beer - the lady in charge was not in control - when the food and gin ran out it ran out - five children made a quite drink impossible and the same five - with 4 parents made Breakfast the same nightmare - but nothing was done ! Executive lounges should be havens of tranquility and calm - but guests felt they were in a crèche ! Bucharest Hotels can now offer so much more - I will not return and I think Radisson or Intercontinental can offer a whole lot better !

Room Tip: Floor 5 - if you get some peace in the lounge !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOPCAT010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
First and foremost, I wish to thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I honestly appreciate your valuable input as we constantly work to improve our guest experience.

I am aware that we are not immune to mistakes. However, it is how we handle the situation that can help leave a positive impression. Having said that, please accept my sincere apology for not offering you the excellent service that you deserve and that we strive to offer to our valued Guests. The lack of supplies like note papers, envelopes or cards is not a common practice and it does not align with the level of excellence we are known for.

I also apologize for the experience with the executive Lounge staff. Usually, guests feel that our team members are genuinely warm and caring and I deeply regret that you didn’t receive this service. As a matter of fact, I have followed up with my team regarding your comments in order that they too are aware of the experience you had.

Once more, I would like to extend our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences you experienced at our hotel during your stay and if ever you plan to come back to Bucharest and you wish to give us the chance to make it better for you, please contact me directly. I will personally take care of making your reservation.

Sincerely,

Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
257 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of an Insight Vacation Tour in July 2013. Our room and bathroom were large and looked like what you would expect from an American Hilton hotel. There were two small bottles of water in the room for free, which was nice. We were given free wifi codes and the wifi worked well in our room as well as the lobby. The breakfast buffet was nice with many choices and an attentive staff. It is a 5-10 minute walk from this hotel to the main shopping street (and also to a McDonalds).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to post this fantastic review on Tripadvisor. Positive feedback like yours is what we hope to get from every Guest! I am delighted to read you enjoyed our central location, staff service and breakfast options. Indeed, we take great pride in our up-town position near the attractive shopping, business and historic area.

There are many attractions and events throughout Bucharest I’m sure you’ll love. The hotel is within walking distance of many of the sites our Concierge will be delighted to point you in the right direction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Beautifully located in downtown Bucharest, within walking distance from Old Town, shopping on Victoriei Street and Magheru Blvd, the Athenee Palace Hilton is always a pleasure to return to. I had the opportunity to travel to Bucharest for business on numerous occassions over the past five years, and I pretty convinced that this is the best hotel in the city. From the nicely refurbished rooms, the excellent bed quality, the unbelievable kindness and helpfulness of the staff - very much unique in Europe, especially at Hilton facilities (I stayed in dozens of Hilton properties across Europe), the feeling that you are always returning home when you arrive in the lobby, the Hilton in Bucharest is a wonderful experience. I definitely recommend this hotel, and I am sure nobody will regret staying there during their trip to Bucharest.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeSipos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your comments about Athénée Palace Hilton on Tripadvisor as we take great pride in our beautiful historical building, excellent location and hospitality. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that.

Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home and I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent hotel, probably one of best in Bucharest. The Palace is an interesting building, very historical. Centrally located with great staff that were very helpful. For so-called "second world" counties, Hilton's offer consistent service and people can be comfortable that the service and cleanliness will meet 5 star standards. The building itself has a rich history dating back to the early 1900's. Bucharest is a touch tourist city - everything is spread out so it isn't like everything is close by. A lengthy walk to Parliament building, but it's all there for visiting. The restuarant is Roberto's, which was average to good. There is a little cafe in the lobby that was, at best, average.

Room Tip: Higher up is probably a little quieter since this hotel is in the city center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler37485796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such great comments about our hotel. It is always reassuring to learn that our Guests are happy and satisfied and that our efforts in meeting your expectations and providing the best services are successful. Perhaps on your next visit to Bucharest you will give us the chance to surprise you and your buds with new menu options in our restaurants or with a choice of premium drinks in our very own English Bar.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Excellent accomodation right in the middle of Bucharest. The hotel is a monument of architecture with a great history. Very good services and facilities. All the hotel employees were very polite and doing their jobs very good!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cornel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us here on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and our services fully met your expectations.
Indeed, the Athénée Palace Hilton has very much been at the center of Bucharest history throughout the last century. If you would like to learn more about our 99-year history, you may want to consider buying a copy of a book available at Reception on your next visit.
Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#7 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#8 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Property: Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Address: Strada Episcopiei 1 - 3 | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Family Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA and Travelocity so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing