We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Hilton" name says it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Hilton" name says it all”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were two couples we went to celebrate our wedding anniversary and booked three nights. When we arrived we had a very friendly welcome. Large room very clean, we had chocolate and wine in cows without requiring that. Great breakfast selection is very rich and range of products. Highly recommend visiting at
The view from the room was to square and decorated for Christmas

Room Tip: I think all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sefi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest and for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to hear that you liked our location, breakfast, room facilities and decoration. Positive feedback like yours is a great motivation for our team, ensuring that we consistently provide excellent service to all of our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    599
    157
    24
    27
See reviews for
181
483
140
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ΣΟΦΙΑ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed there during Christmas 2012. I made an early reservation for a diplomat suite. The hotel is an historical building in the center of the town. The room was quiet good and clean. The staff was polite and helpful. There is an open parking in front the hotel but you must pay almost 18 euros per day. Breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charisisv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear you have chosen to spend the Christmas holidays at our hotel and you enjoyed staying here. Your kind feedback about our employees is appreciated and will be communicated to my team.

We hope you will come back again soon!

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was in Bucharest for a convention which was also held at the Athenee Palace, so I was glad to be staying in the same building.

Despite my luggage getting stuck en route in Zurich, the hotel staff were very helpful in ensuring I had at least some basic toiletries, and the very helpful concierge pointed me to some local shops where I could get some essentials, as well as liaising with the airline to get my luggage to the hotel as soon as possible.

The lobby area, as in many hotels, was a lot grander than the rooms and the corridors above, but i found my room to be spacious and clean.

The food in the restaurant was of a good standard, the breakfasts were particularly well catered. The photographs of previous guests in the bar area assured me I was in good company, staying in the same place as former Presidents, Hollywood movie stars and other celebrities.

I think my favourite part of my stay would be the Romanian staff, they were always very friendly and helpful, and stunningly beautiful in the case of most of the female staff. Especially the young lady who served us in the restaurant on our last night there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamK523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review of your stay with us. I am glad to hear we succeeded delivering you the best of hospitality. Positive feedback like yours is a great motivation for our team, ensuring that we consistently provide excellent service to all of our guests.
Regarding the lobby grandeur, this part of the hotel is a well-preserved area, Les Colonnades dating from the original construction in 1914 and reminiscent of those times.

Thank you once again for your kind review and I hope we will welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

From start to finish, my stay here was flawless, spotless room, helpful staff, wonderful breakfast and a great little bar on the ground floor. The one thing that was a little srange was that there was no restriction on smoking indoors! It was my first time in Romania so it wsn't something that had crossed my mind until I waslked into the bar and was hit by a wall of smoke! Nonetheless, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escape_the_norm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton England
Level Contributor
278 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A generally pretty standard Hilton experience. Nothing wrong with it really, but just feels rather dated and tired. Good location, but generally uninspiring. Could just do with a refresh programme. Plus I didn't get the same impression of helpful service - generally going through the motions. If you want a functioning business hotel is fine, if you're coming for a special experience, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us.. We were sorry to read that the overall experience of your visit was not up to your expectations Please rest assured that your input has been shared with our team to take corrective actions, where necessary.

Hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can exceed your expectations on your next stay with us!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
1,123 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 628 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Its a superb location and it has rather boring, average rooms.
The healthclub is getting a facelift, which will help and probably be high quality.

The big difference was the staff, that helped us in our travells
- English bar
- Breakfast place / Gabriela
and Concierge and Front desk.
Very hospitable.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank FOL-1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the hospitality and friendliness of our staff. Your kind input referring to our employees is much appreciated and will be communicated to my team.

We look forward to seeing you again at Athenee Palace Hilton!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Thru the Viking River Cruise folks, we finished a great Danube River cruise here, as the next folks started theirs. This was an ideal location in the city to explore the city of Bucharest. The rooms were large and clean, the service in both the English bar and Lobby Bar, as well as the front desk was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristinaK4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton_Bucharest, General Manager at Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at Athenee Palace Hilton and for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Positive feedback like yours is a great motivation for our team, ensuring that we consistently provide excellent service to all of our guests.

We hope you will visit us again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Linda Griffin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#8 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#9 of 166 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 166 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest

Property: Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
Address: Strada Episcopiei 1 - 3 | District 1, Bucharest 010292, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#11 Family Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Bucharest from the historic Athenee Palace Hilton Buchrest hotel, built in 1914 and set in the heart of the city. At the Hilton Athenee Palace Bucharest hotel you can enjoy local attractions including the Romanian Athenaeum and the former Royal Palace. Theatres, shops and cafes are all located within walking distance. All Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel rooms have wireless internet access. Upgrade to a Hilton Room Plus or choose an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy the heated indoor pool, Jacuzzi and well-equipped gym or indulge in a luxurious treatment in the hotel's beauty center. Spend the evening in our onsite casino or dine in one of 3 restaurants. The English Bar offers a large selection of whiskies. Feast on authentic Italian delights in Roberto's restaurant.Just minutes' drive from Henri Coanda Airport, the Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest hotel has 11 meeting rooms for up to 400 guests. The Le Diplomate Ballroom is an UNESCO heritage monument and the setting for international events. Take in magnificent views over the Revolution Square and the Athenaeum from the fifth floor balcony in the Executive Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest Hotel Bucharest
Hilton International Bucharest
Hilton Bucharest
Bucharest Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing