We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch service in an excellent setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Ranked #9 of 170 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just returned from ten days staying at the Marriott in Bucharest. From the moment we arrived until we left we were met with outstanding service. Each morning we enjoyed a breakfast buffet with excellent variety - included in our hotel cost. Our room was very quiet, bright and clean. We wanted advice on seeing the city as well as touring the countryside. The Concierge, Monica Isarie, provided us with very helpful information and arranged day trips for us. She made sure our guide knew the area, the history and could speak English. Florin, our driver/guide, looked after all our travels including taking us back to the airport very very early in the morning. Monica and Florin helped us sample excellent traditional Romanian cuisine and wine.
We do a lot of travelling and the service provided at the Bucharest Marriott is probably the best we have had anywhere.

Room Tip: We were with friends on this trip. Their rooms and ours were 'Standard' - very spacious, br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyTravellerYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

748 - 754 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice, beautiful and big hotel, not cheap. Quite far from the city center as well...They do charge €17 for Internet service though, yes 17 Euros per day...either they must be very desperate, lack sincerity or have absolutely no clues to package their sales...there are better options in town....unless u can claim from company/ business expense, I'd avoid this one altogether...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and for your comments.

We regret the inconvenience related to the Internet and we can assure you that we passed the information to the respective department.
Moreover I would like to let you know that our Concierge team could advise your about the easiest ways to reach the City Center as well about the areas near the hotel so that your stay could be a very pleasant one.

We appreciate a lot the time spent on this feedback and look forward to seing you back with us again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed only for 1 night. The checkin was swift and the lobby is stunning. Well, the rest of the hotel is pretty outdated, especially the room had a feeling of the 90's. Unfriendly colours, heavy curtains. To use the wifi on various devices requested the help of the operator, she had to create different usernames and passwords.... that is a bit weird, in other Marriotts this is much easier. The lounge on the 8th floor is spacious, helpful staff, but again the furniture and the design is so outdated and dark. The best feature of the hotel is the gym and spa area, wow, professional, huge and state of the art. This is a good hotel, once the rooms get a facelift, it will be perfect.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank vizslabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest, ,

Thank you for your commnents and for sharing your comments with us.

Plese be sure that I will share them with my team and we do hope to host you again at our hotel and to convince you about the high level of our standard services.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked 1 night at Marriott Bucharest, however, we were disappointed. Not necessarily something went wrong, on the contrary, everything was fine, but we felt that it was not by far a 5 star hotel. Furniture old and outdated, bed was pretty hard and uncomfortable. The room had a lot of accessories, but we felt it lacked something. We had also some problems at the check in, our reservation was not found, but this is minor. The breakfast buffet was nice, with lots of products, better when comparing with the room, but below 5 star standards(not all products were of good quality)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review and please be sure that your feedback is important for us.

We are sorry to hear about your inconvenience related to the room and the check in, nevertheless let me assure you that we will share your remarks with the respective departments.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon at the JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here for one weekend, celebrating with my family on a special occasion. The property is very big, the room was clean and nicely decorated. However everything one could see in the rooms, hallways and the hotel's interior (I refer to furniture and details) were very old. For me this is definitely not a 5 star hotel, looks like an old hotel from the 80's. On the other hand the breakfast was very good, not extraordinary , the products were not great quality (nothing premium) but the choice was very wide. Overall I wouldn't come back to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback with reference to your stay with us.

Please be informed that recently we have a new beautiful Lobby and therefore we would be very happy to have you back as a guest in our hotel where we will convince you at the same time about our high level of services.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

if you order breakfast in the room, although the breakfast is included in the room rate, they will charge you the full price of breakfast 30 euro per person , instead of a modest service charge like all other hotels . You also have to pay for internet 15 euro per day

Room Tip: opt for radisson , fair charges modern hotel, super location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billcha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igael_Porecki, General Manager at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and please be sure that your feedback is helping us to improve the quality of services we provide to out guests.

I would like to let you know that for breakfast orders in the room there is an extra charge for the service of 10 % of the breakfast fee.

I do hope that we will host you again at JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The enormous polished marble lobby sets the tone for this undeniably grand pile. Behind the Parliament Palace and part of the overall design plan for the area. The reception staff are very professional; the concierges exceptionally helpful, as are the bellhops. The rooms are large, some with a view of the Parliament - a megalomaniac folly. The furnishings are substantial, modern and comfortable; luxury bathrooms with shower and tub. You can do all your shopping in the lobby with the likes of Louis Vuitton, Rolex and Bang & Olufsen (this is irony). Shirts are Lei 28.

The one slight problem is that you are a bit far from the Old City and will need a taxi. The bellhops will put you in one and tell the driver where to go. Coming back is tricky. Not for communication reasons, but taxi drivers seem to regard foreigners as an easy touch: Meters are frequently 'broken'. Taxis have the mileage rate on the outside. Never get in a taxi with a rate starting with 3; 1.39+ is more like it. And there is no such thing as a night rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Parliament and wonder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.4 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.5 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#5 of 170 in Bucharest
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 170 in Bucharest
840 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Bucharest Hotel
Sheraton Bucharest Hotel
#12 of 170 in Bucharest
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#15 of 170 in Bucharest
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel

Address: Calea 13 Septembrie 90, Bucharest 050726, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#5 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range: $104 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand in every way, the JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel surrounds you with luxury and elegance, befitting the chosen hotel of European royalty, international dignitaries and music stars. Prestigiously located next to the stunning Parliament Palace, the hotel "city within a city" complete with shopping gallery and casino, state-of-the-art fitness and spa center. The 402 guest rooms and suites, the largest in Bucharest, offer everything the traveling executive requires and feature exquisite bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Bucharest
Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Bucharest Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing