We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of Villa Barrio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Barrio
Ranked #14 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Villa Barrio is a small hotel which at one time was a mansion and whose rooms are located above a very stylish bar/restaurant. The hotel offers excellent value for money and, although breakfast isn't included in the price, offers breakfast in the restaurant. Breakfast itself was of extremely high quality and very reasonably priced (from memory, c. Euro 7).

The staff were very welcoming and helpful and the hotel itself is located with very easy access to the metro. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars located in the immediate vicinity of the hotel should you need these.

Overall, an excellent hotel, professionally run and very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belfast077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 68 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Barrio is a renovated mansion: the ground floor is a stylish bar-restaurant, there are 7 rooms on the first floor, and apparently a nightclub in the basement. I suspect that had I stayed at a weekend, I'd have been irritated considerably by the latter, but between Monday and Thursday I had a great time, and would warmly recommend it. It is extraordinarily cheap for what it is, and although a bit out of the very centre of town it has plenty of good places nearby, especially Tonka and the Harbour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lets start with some warnings: Villa barrio is a club-restaurant in which the owners smartly are using the top of the villa as guest rooms (there are 6-7 rooms). The villa is old (may be 100 years old) and has been renovated with cheap materials like plastic floors and cheap furniture. There is no hotel reception (only reception for the club) , no internal phone line and the owners are asking to pay upfront all the room fee (why?). The breakfast is ok but you have to pay 7-8 euros/person. The room that I stayed was dirty with a persisting smell from the sewage in the air. The smell was not leaving even after I opened all the windows. Finally the only good things about Villa barrio is the price (but if you add the breakfast, there are better places to stay in Bucharest) and the location, which is very good in the middle of everything in the city.

Room Tip: Stay out of Room 7-it smells sewage all over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank athens2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is actually an old mansion that's been recently renovated and it looks great. There is a club in the basement, a restaurant on the first floor and the hotel rooms are on the top floor. It's a clean and stylish place to stay. And it's cheap. We were wondering why was that? It tuned out that the club downstairs works until early in the morning (as early as 6 oclock) and from our room we could easily hear the drums. Next morning the maid left some ear plugs in the bathroom. I guess someone had already made a complaint. As a whole, it's location is perfect, and there is free parking space in the neighbourhood, in case you are travelling with a car like we did. I recommend this place!

Room Tip: Choose a room where the cable tv works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiroRuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I thoroughly recommend this hotel. It's in a beautiful old building in the centre of the city. The rooms are smart and very comfortable, and the staff are very friendly. It's maybe not quite as close to the Old Town and the University district as some places, nevertheless they're only a (pleasant) 15 minute walk, or 1 stop on the metro, away. It's a small hotel, only 6 rooms I think, so there's no permanently-manned reception, but this proved to be absolutely no problem for me. There's a good restaurant and bar downstairs, which is busy with a young crowd most evenings. There are also several good restaurants, and a 24-hour supermarket, within a 5-minute walk. What else can I say? At the price I paid (30 Euros a night), I reckon it's really good value.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Although I prefer staying in the heart of city centers Barrio is the wisest choice when it comes to Bucharest's heart (Old Town/ Lipscani) which beats extremely loud!

Barrio has really chic and clean rooms, friendly staff and thick walls and glasses to leave the clubbing beats of it's bar outside the rooms.

I strongly recommend it, unless you really really don't want to use any means of transfer to get to the Old City which is 2km away.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_miss_cinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
Thank 11MIKL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bucharest City Center
0.4 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 169 in Bucharest
1,188 reviews
0.8 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#6 of 169 in Bucharest
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
#21 of 169 in Bucharest
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#35 of 169 in Bucharest
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Barrio

Address: Strada Biserica Amzei 30, Bucharest 010395, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Bucharest
Price Range: $47 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Barrio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of Catargi family, one of the most aristocratic families of Bucharest, this magnificent Art-Deco style villa has been built in early XIX century and has been painted by famous Italian painters. Villa Barrio has 4 junior suites (max 3 pers) and 3 deluxe (max 2 pers). The junior suites (45mp) have downstairs a cosy living room with satellite TV and soft couch and upstairs a king size bed, bathroom (bathtub and shower), bathrobe, hairdryer, minibar, safe, air conditioning, phone, wi-fi and satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Villa Barrio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing