We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucharest free guided walking tour”

Walkabout Free Tours
Ranked #1 of 134 Tours in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A walking tour of Old Bucharest organized by a team of passionate and friendly guides. The walking tours are free, although tips are appreciated. Every day at 10:30 & 18:00
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bucharest free guided walking tour”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

In May when we were in Bucharest, we took a most interesting and instructive walking tour with a delightful young Romanian girl, obviously keen to share her knowledge of the city.. We walked for nearly 3 hours through the historical part of the city, discovering a fascinating mixed architecture and hidden treasures which would have been hard to find by ourselves. At the same time we met interesting travellers and went back to have lunch with some of them in the oldest brewery pointed out during our walk. It was a most enjoyable and informative morning, well worth while the few dollars you want to donate

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Frog-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,208
    147
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best way to get to know Bucharest”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The first thing we did when arriving in Bucharest was go on this tour. It was excellent! We got to see a number of highlights with a lot of background information. Simona, our guide, knows a lot about the city and its history and brings it in a compelling way. We took the tour in the morning and afterwards we went back to the places she recommended to visit from the inside as well. It was excellent! We didn't consider it a free tour, but rather a 'pay as much as you wish' tour. And this one was definitely worth quite a bit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby88472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than worth it!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I'm a big fan of all things local - and these guys (our tour guide was Simona) are very much that. She shared not only wiki knowledge of the place, but her own views and memories of her relatives, friends. It was absolutely enchanting. We went on Monday 21st July 2014.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MillaBasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We walked around the most important places of the city receiving a lot of really good information. I learned so much about history and culture. I totally recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Can't believe it was free....”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I spent 2.5 hours on the Walking Tour in Bucharest today and enjoyed the entire time. Our guide was not only very knowledgable and authentically Romanian but she was very funny. It was brutally hot but the lectures in the shade and water breaks made it very bearable. She was a delight and well worth the 10 Euro tip. She stayed around for 20 minutes after helping people with directions and explaining the train system and even walked a few of us to a highly recommended restaurant (which was very nice).

I recommend the tour to any who wants to see Old Town Bucharest. Just show up and look for the Orange shirt.

Cheers

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jakebarnes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkabout Free Tours also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Walkabout Free Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing