We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to visit Bucharest”

Walkabout Free Tours
Ranked #1 of 136 Tours in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A walking tour of Old Bucharest organized by a team of passionate and friendly guides. The walking tours are free, although tips are appreciated. Every day at 10:30 & 18:00
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best way to visit Bucharest”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We took the tour on June 9th, with Andrei as a guide. It was very interesting to visit the city this way, full of anecdotes and stories we would have never known without this.

I would strongly recommend the tour to anyone visiting Bucharest, specially helpful on the first day in the city to get a general impression of the city and its history, ask any questions / recommendations / etc... to the guide and then visit more thoroughly any museums, churches, palaces, etc.. you have liked the most during this visit.

And don't forget to tip the guides, even if they forget or don't want to ask for tips ;)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JagerB0mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,231
    149
    16
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You never know everything there is to know about your own city”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I strongly recommend this tour to Romanians and Bucharest-born people as well.
Sometimes living in the city makes you oblivious to all its history and transformations, most people get into the <<work - go to bars/clubs>> routine.
Even if I knew most of the historic facts and trivia (being a Bucharest history and architecture buff myself), it still proved a useful, learning experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Oana_Alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must on your to do list!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We took part in this tour yesterday. Simona, our guide was a genious! She is so informative, clever and interesting (thank you so much!!!)
If you are in Bucharest, please take part and donate! This is a great project, a terrific way to see the city and to meet the people.
Take part and know Bucharest and Romania a bit better.
P.S. We love you Simona!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AniaSio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The walk was an excellent way to see Bucharest and all it has to offer. Fantastic. The guide was very informative and so excited that we enjoyed the city.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NicNZAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Don't forget to tip your guide!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I met up with a few new friends (from another social network) and we all did the tour together. It was about 2.5 hours long and was really interesting. The guide was informative and funny. I agree with some of the others that you should do it toward the beginning of the trip. It's also a great way to meet people to do things with later in your trip. about 8 of us ended ip going out to dinner afterwards and shared lots of travel stories. Just don't forget to tip. It may be free but someone is giving you a lot of their time to entertain and educate you. We gave 20 leu (about $7 or €5), well worth it for 2.5 hours of entertainment! It's not required of course, but it is a nice thing to do.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank stevinazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkabout Free Tours also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Walkabout Free Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing