We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic New Years Eve” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Epoque Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Epoque Hotel
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic New Years Eve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We used the Epoque as our base for a New Years Eve break over 4 days. It is in a quiet location that is close enough to the centre for short cab rides. There is a park close by and a good traditional restaurant also nearby. The room was spacious although the bed was barely 6 foot long. The staff were friendly. The bar and restaurant were both good although a little limited on choice. We did not make full use of the Spa but it looks great. The Wi-Fi was very slow on the 3rd floor and it required a new login session/account every 24 hours. There was only one bath towel each and they were quite small. Despite these niggles we had a very nice time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank christophus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,
Happy New Year!
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, your feedback is very important to us.
We appreciate your kind remarks and we are proud we managed to make a pleasant start of the year for you, however, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience encountered with the length of the bed and size of our towels, it is indeed something new for me, as no other guest ever complained since we opened the hotel in 2010.
As for the issue with the free wi-fi internet speed, we have recently had a full upgrade in all our property, but I will for sure have our supplier, Swisscom, check on that once again.
I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at Epoque, to prove ourselves better.
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    85
    23
    4
    6
See reviews for
86
252
56
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at the Epoque hotel for a full week and without an exception the staff was wonderful. Special arrangements or wishes, no problem, all taken care of without a glitch. In terms of organization and teamwork many service companies could learn from this hotel. So compliments to all! Facilities are good and the restaurant has a very interesting menu if you enjoy the French cuisine.
So why not an excellent? Well I hope the next time we will stay there again they will reach the excellent status. A few point to be improved: firstly a five star hotel nowadays serves standard fresh juices in the morning and not from a pack! Secondly, when you have a promotion which is not applicable to everyone, then don't publish it in your elevator! That's not clever marketing.Thirdly and most importantly: although I tipped your cleaning lady because she worked very hard throughout the week, cleaning of toilets and bathroom should be done much better.Maybe more staff or maybe a toilet cleaning course might be helpful.

As a conclusion, we had a great stay and we are looking forward to stay at the Epoque hotel again next time we will visit Bucharest.

Kind regards

Room Tip: the higher the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Taco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valuable Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor, and for your compliments, which have been passed to our team.
We are all proud and grateful we managed to deliver an enjoyable experience and really hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at Epoque.
Your feedback is really important especially to me, as owner, and I took note of all your comments, already run a new training on bathroom cleaning topic with the housekeeping staff.
As for marketing our offers, we have many returning guests, which are always interested in our special offers and it is quite normal to have special perks as incentives to guests that book directly to our hotel. Marketing it in our elevators is also a way to let all guests know that direct booking with the hotel always brings more advantages, so I kindly invite you, as well, to contact us directly for booking your next visit.
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was our first time in Bucharest and realy enjoyed our stay, over the New Year. I did a lot of research before choosing Epoque and it was an excellent choice. We had a front facing twin junior suite which was large and comfortable. Our New Year's dinner in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast Was one of the best that we have had. All the staff were very helpful and especially Kostis who did everything possible to assist us. Taxis are very cheap so we had no problem with getting around.'

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KATHLEENgREECE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Ms Kathleen,
Happy New Year!
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor regarding you New Year Eve stay at Epoque.
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, I passed your compliments to our team, especially Costi, we are all very proud to have delivered such a great experience and made your start of the year so pleasant.
As you noticed, also the weather was warmer than usual to complete the good feeling :)
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again at Epoque.
Kind regards
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip. The positive reviews persuaded me to try it ahead of the usual business hotels and on reflection, probably not the best idea. It's a good four star hotel for Bucharest, and would be perfect for tourists looking for somewhere quiet and classy.

Pros|
Good service
Very clean
Very comfortable beds
Lots of privacy
Quiet
Fast internet
Great, affordable spa treatments

Cons:
Restaurant food is very rich, everything doused in butter!
Fruit was out of a can/tin!
Gym is tiny and pokey
Off a badly lit side street, so it doesn't feel safe walking back after dark
Check out took AGES

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loosecannonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Epoque Hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us, whether positive (and I highly apreciate the pros you mentioned) or negative.
I would like to assure you that all products in our restaurant - including the fruits and vegetables are all fresh, and we always adapt to cooking preferences of our guests, therefore should you visit Epoque again, please make a note to the waiter regarding the way you prefer the food (e.g. not with so much butter).
Please accept my personal apologies for the duration of the checkout process, I checked with my colleagues and it appears we faced a system glitch at the time you had your checkout, again, apologies.
As for the location of our hotel, it is indeed one of the main attributes of real boutique hotel not to be located on main boulevards, but more away from the noise and hussle. As many of our guests call Epoque, it is a "hidden gem", an "oasis of intimacy and privacy".
I really hope we will have the chance to welcome you again, whether business or pleasure, and until then please allow me to with you a Happy New Year!
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This luxury hotel is located 5 minutes of the closest Metro Station & around 15 minutes walking from House of People (the biggest building in Europe) and Piata Uniri (Romanian Champs Elysees). Rooms are huge, and food in the restaurant is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for posting such a nice review on Tripadvisor, it is a great pleasure to see our guest really enjoy the Epoque experience.
Your photos are really nice, I'm glad you also tried the food in our restaurant L' Atelier - l'árt culinaire, as far as I see you tried some of my personal favourites :)
Look forward to welcoming you again in Epoque in 2014!
Until then, may you have the best year ever! Happy New Year!
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zonhoven, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I spend many days several times a year in Bucharest. Although there are many very good hotels with excellent service, the Epoque hotel has become my favourite. The rooms are nice and spacious. The house keeping assures rooms that are impeccably clean. In the morning, I can go for a swim in the pool before heading for breakfast. Most important is the warm family-like feeling that comes from the personnel; neither the anonymous service of a big hotel-chain nor the privacy intrusion of a B&B. Just friendliness that makes you feel like a valued guest.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WW-Traveller-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding you recent stay at Epoque Hotel.
I read with great pleasure you remarks, and I am happy to see you felt and appreciated the warm and welcoming atmosphere and the attention to details thay we value so much, as a boutique hotel.
You are indeed a valued guest and we look forward to your next visit.
Until then, please allow me to wish you Happy Winter Holidays and the best New Year ever!
Kind regards
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#8 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.5 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epoque Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epoque Hotel

Property: Epoque Hotel
Address: Intrare Aurora 17C, Bucharest 010213, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Epoque Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epoque luxurious boutique hotel is located in the very center of Bucharest, near Cismigiu Central Park, a perfect downtown location for a tourist exploring the city and also for a business person in need of connections to all major business venues of the city. With its 45 suites, a high class restaurant and a luxurious cozy spa, the 5 star Epoque Boutique Hotel has a passion to deliver its guest's satisfaction and exclusive life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Epoque Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing