We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay..”
Review of Epoque Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Epoque Hotel
Ranked #2 of 168 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac Falls, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay..”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Époque Hotel in Bucharest is a great find. This is from a person who travels the world on business and for pleasure. It was my first trip to Bucharest, and the weather was cold, so I did not get to enjoy the nearby park. Although the neighborhood is a little shabby but a ten minute walk to the old city was very refreshing and offered me an opportunity to explore the cafés and restaurants that dot the area. My room was very good in size and very clean, though the view was not much to cheer about considering that I was staying for over 5 nights. The breakfast is wonderful, but the real reward is all the friendly staff who spoke English we'll and who were extremely helpful. I am planning to return soon and I will definitely return to the Epoque, and hope you will too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Epoque Hotel.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that we managed to prove you made the right choice for your first trip to Bucharest.
You will always be welcomed in our boutique hotel and I am confident you will not be dissapointed.
A big thank you from our entire team and we all wish you Happy Winter Holidays and Happy New Year!
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    91
    28
    4
    6
See reviews for
96
284
58
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Epoque hotel, next to the Cismigu park, is perfectly located for getting close to the city center.
All started with the check-in. A friendly lady welcomed me and registration went very smoothly. A few words about the facilities in the hotel, and off I was to the room.

The room itself is just great. Spacious, very clean and with all amenities one would expect in a 5* hotel. Heating works perfectly, a heavenly shower and nice sitting area. Separate desk with lots of plugs. I had a room facing the park (4th level) and I must say it was quite nice taking a step on the balcony. The bed was very good with very fresh linens on it!

The pool - albeit very small - was a great experience and is very well maintained.

Breakfast was maybe a bit limited (I had better breakfasts in 5* hotels in Bucharest), but it had all I liked with separate (free) egg orders possible. Service was bit slow on one day (I think it was sunday).

All in all, a great hotel, very friendly staff and a good location. Just what I needed

Extra plus : the hotel only works with a reliable taxi company which is charging normal rates

Room Tip: try to ask for a room facing the park on a higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
It was a real pleasure to read your review, thank you so much for taking the time to post such a detailed feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am glad you enjoyed the Epoque experince, you surely are a "detail" person, and I'm proud we managed to meet your expectations.
Hoping we will have the chance to welcome you again in Epoque Hotel, I take this opportunity to wish you Happy Holidays and a great New Year!
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were at Epoque Hotel for a small private event and we got a Junior Suite for one night. It was exquisite!
The staff is extremely friendly and made us feel special and appreciated; the rooms are clean, spacious, quiet... just so elegant and luxurious. I loved this hotel and would surely recommend it if your travels bring you to Bucharest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lulu954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you again for chosing Epoque Hotel and I am glad we convinced you made the right choice for your small private event.
I really appreciate you took the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, your feedback means a lot to our entire team, I passed your compliments to my colleagues.
I hope your travel plans will bring you back to Epoque, until then
Happy winter holidays!
Kind regards,
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed over a short business weekend in room 101. The hotel is clearly quite new, one of the newest I saw in Bucharest. It is fairly small but has everything that's needed. Close to everything but not in a noisy location.

The Spa is great, with a small but adequate pool I was the only person using it which made it very relaxing. Well equipped gym, which I was keen to try out, unfortunately I forgot my shorts! Some tables and loungers were by the pool with a menu. I was never spoken to about ordering anything which was a shame. Others have mentioned the lack of jacuzzi, it would be a welcome addition.

Room 101 was large, comfortable and had the best stocked mini-bar I've ever seen! Heating controls were excellent and very modern.

The bedroom had a huge bed which was let down by polyester sheets. There were three types of pillows. Easy to use safe, convenient plug sockets, Ethernet connections (wireless too) and TV with loads of channels. Room has a window but no view, not really an issue. There is also a dressing table and large wardrobe.

The bathroom has an enormous double shower in the wet room complete with bidet and loo. In the rest of the bathroom there is a large bath and double sinks. Heated floor in the wet room was amazing! Plenty of towels etc.

The reception area in my room had a sofa, coffee table and desk again with convenient power and Ethernet connections. Another larger TV across the room. The room was spoilt by a large empty area between the TV and sofa. A cabinet under the TV would have made it look much less bare. The mini-bar had everything, there was no room left for anything else! Prices for the mini bar put me off, which is a shame as otherwise I would have used it.

Restaurant was good, with a varied French menu and skilled chef. Portions were plentiful and delicious. Breakfast was equally as enjoyable with food cooked to order in addition to buffet. Service was superb.

Bar was well stocked with a friendly knowledgeable bartender open for a chat, which was stopped me from going stir-crazy! Prices were fairly reasonable for the service and quality received. Seating in the bar area was not very relaxing, could have done with a few sofas, I spent less time in the bar purely because of the seating which is a shame.

Concierge staff were incredibly helpful and were always on the end of the phone if anything was needed. I booked a private car for dinner one night, at a very reasonable price.

-1 for value purely because of the high mini-bar prices.
-1 for Sleep Quality because the sheets weren't particularly comfortable.
-1 for spa because of no service.

Everything else was superb. I look forward to staying again/

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14zz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
I would like to personally thank you for taking so much time to write such a detailed review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Epoque Hotel.
I read with great pleasure all the kind words and also your observations, your feedback is extremely important to improve in any aspect we may.
I assure you that all aspects you mentioned have been discussed with our team members, especially the one regarding the bed sheets which are 100% cotton, of course. We are currently checking with our laundry cleaning provider, as it may be an issue related to the cleaning process.
Should you decide to visit Epoque Hotel again, you will be more than welcome and I hope you will notice improvements regarding the aspects you mentioned.
Allow me to wish you Happy Winter Holidays!
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We were at the hotel for five night, the pool and spa are great , especially when it's cold outside. rooms are clean and nice, we were in a executive suites which was wonderful but small for four people. the food is great, rich breakfast and the restaurant very high level, all the dishes we tried were excellent,
Staff were kind and enthusiastic to help, there is a little problem with the taxi it difficult to find the hotel.
In conclusion highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moriya1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you for posting such a flattering review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Epoque.
I passed your compliments to our French Executive Chef and he was very pleased his dishes were highly appreciated, and sends his regards.
We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in our boutique hotel.
Happy Winter Holidays!

Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It's been several years now and Epoque became my favorite spot when I'm dropping to Bucharest ! Keep going for the best ! The rooms are great the breakfast excellent and the service is at steady 5 stars quality

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bogdan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Mr Bogdan,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about Epoque Hotel.
It is always a great honor and pleasure to have you as our guest, and I am really proud we managed to turn Epoque into your "home away from home".

You will always be welcomed here, at Epoque and we look forward to your next visit.

Until then, Happy Holidays!
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galati, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

All is perfect, Beautiful and confortable large suite, Nice SPA area, Excellent breakfast. Efficient and kind employees
Only two small remarks: a jacuzzi is missing in the SPA area and the first time you come the hotel is a little bit difficult to find

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank parigi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana P, Owner at Epoque Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,
Thank you so much for posting a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Epoque.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, and I would just like to specify that our swimming pool is equipped with powerful under-water bubble jets as well with massage showers, therefore compensating in part the lack of a jacuzzi.
I hope you will return to Epoque with pleasure and next time you will test the bubble jets from our swimming pool.
Kind regards and a big thank you from our team for your kind words.
Diana Popescu
Owner & CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 168 in Bucharest
1,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 168 in Bucharest
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#8 of 168 in Bucharest
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epoque Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epoque Hotel

Property: Epoque Hotel
Address: Intrarea Aurora 17C, Bucharest 010213, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 168 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Epoque Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Epoque luxurious boutique hotel is located in the very center of Bucharest, near Cismigiu Central Park, a perfect downtown location for a tourist exploring the city and also for a business person in need of connections to all major business venues of the city. With its 45 suites, a high class restaurant and a luxurious cozy spa, the 5 star Epoque Boutique Hotel has a passion to deliver its guest's satisfaction and exclusive life style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Epoque Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing