We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divan - CLOSED

Divan
Price range: $0 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Divan is more than just another restaurant, lounge or cafe, it’s a place where people get together to meet each other, to tell stories, to share from their experiences, from their food plate, which may be different than yours. It’s a magical place, created as a melting pot between traditional and progress. Between the modern, noisy, agitated Turkey and its traditional counterpart, filled with meaningful stories of wise or adventurous man. At Divan, everything is made following this rule of reuniting the two sides of life, progress and evolution.
1 review
“Great food poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I've been here a couple of times and each time I really enjoyed the food. Everything I've sampled was extremely tasty and well presented. The prices are wholly justified.

However, on each visit I have found the staff very rude. They either seem reluctant to come and take your order or they look personally offended if you ask for more time to decide on what to have.

It's a real shame as their chefs are brilliant and it looks like a very welcoming, stylish little place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SinzianaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    70
    34
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went to Divan without a booking on a Friday night and were lucky enough to get the last unbooked table. The starters were amazing, the service was punctual. No complaints.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 465denise465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
222 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A place with character but slightly overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

The design of the place, the outfit of the waiters, the light inside, the aromas and the taste of the food all give character to the restaurant and make it somehow memorable. It could be, though, being located in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the old town, that gives it a more touristy air and makes the experience less magical and the attention for details less strict.
We were five friends / family having lunch on a Sunday afternoon. The place was not overly crowded and we chose to sit upstairs since we find the design more appealing.
We believe more attention should be paid to the quality of the service. The waiters were polite and friendly; however, they would bring more charm to the place if they enriched the clients' experience with recommendations on the menu, being an exotique one. In this case, their presence were ordinary (but their outfits), and they didn’t smile. Also, the service was somewhat slow, which (not for us, but in other cases) may be disturbing.
The food was good, tasty and special, beautifully presented.
I couldn't specifically say what lacks this place, but I would say the service could be slightly better in order to give you a more intimate, cosy feeling. They shouldn't be caught in the trap of becoming a tourist attraction for its design, exotique cuisine in the heart of old city, but a must eat here for the overall quality of the experience. Which is special, but not yet magical.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliza_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Waldsee, Deutschland
1 review
“Divan—a Slice of Turkish Exoticism in Romania”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

A Turkish dish found in Romania? If you can’t tell light from dark, it must be a dream to ever experience such a thing. But, that’s the truth. If there is a chance you are going to visit Romania anytime soon, the Divan Restaurant is the one place you should never miss at all costs. Why?
If you start picturing this place as yet another ethnic-based restaurant, which you can possibly find anywhere else around the world, you better get that image off of your mind. Divan is in no way similar to those restaurants whose pictures you take and collect within photo albums. If anything else, the Divan is a place that combines those elements of café, lounge, and, of course, restaurant, to simultaneously offer you another experience in hanging around with people you perhaps meet for the first time. You can actually talk to people there. Share everything from those little stories you have during your vacation up to, perhaps, things personal to you. The bottom line, you can actually speak and share, two things us human rarely do in this time.
What’s more, you can enjoy both modern and traditional atmosphere of Turkey at Divan. The blend will ultimately and eventually create some sort of environment so comfortable you can barely think about leaving it. Foods? Mezeler, Corbalar, Kebaplar, Salatar, plus a string of foods that can make you drool with hunger just by saying their names.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wulanizer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Taste of Turkey in Bucharest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I visited this lovely Turkish restaurant on a recent trip to Bucharest. I love Turkish food and regularly visit my favourite local Turkish restaurant in England so I had high hopes for this restaurant. It's situated in the Lipscani district, surrounded by bustling cafes, bars and clubs. The decor in Divan is beautiful and colourful and upon arrival the staff were friendly and respectful. I decided to have one of the kebabs and was not disappointed. It was delicious! The meat was full of flavour and the salad very tasty. I don't normally have dessert but had to try something sweet here (I love baklava!) so I decided to try the Knuefe which is a delicious traditional sweet made with dough, sugar syrup and cheese. I'd go back again just for that!

The service in my opinion was excellent and although the staff were not overly gushing (something I dislike actually) I found them to be professional, efficient and respectful. The only downside I'd mention was that it was a little on the pricey side but I do feel it was worth it for such nice food.. overall, it was a lovely evening and I'd highly recommend the restaurant, especially if you enjoy Turkish food like me.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Divan also viewed

Bucharest, Romania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing