We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish Food and Much More.”
Review of Divan - CLOSED

Divan
Price range: $0 - $39
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Divan is more than just another restaurant, lounge or cafe, it’s a place where people get together to meet each other, to tell stories, to share from their experiences, from their food plate, which may be different than yours. It’s a magical place, created as a melting pot between traditional and progress. Between the modern, noisy, agitated Turkey and its traditional counterpart, filled with meaningful stories of wise or adventurous man. At Divan, everything is made following this rule of reuniting the two sides of life, progress and evolution.
Bucharest
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Turkish Food and Much More.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Turkish restaurant, Divan, is a hit on a number of levels. First of all, it's located in the historical Lipscani district so there are a plethora of clubs, cafes and eateries to choose from with lots of action, especially on the weekends. The atmosphere at Divan is, well, divine. I've spent a lot of time in Turkey and you won't find a place in Bucharest with more Turkish flavor. That goes for the food as well. Everything is expertly prepared, delicious and not too expensive (but this is a rather high end eatery.) To top if off, they have shisha pipes a plenty for an after (or pre) dinner smoke and if you are lucky enough to be there for dinner on Saturday night, a belly dancer will spice up your already spicy experience. Divan is a delight and much cheaper than a trip to Turkey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    70
    34
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A bit of turkish delight in Bucharest”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had lunch today with our friends at the Divan restaurant today. It has been almost 3 years now that we haven't been there and the change is remarkable. First and one of the most important is that the municipality has finished paving the street! This gives you at once a feeling of cleanliness and comfort. Second, we had a very nice waiter who knew a lot about the food he was serving (not like other waiters that give you standard indications about the food) and a good sense of humor. Third, the music was not shouting, which is quite rare nowadays in normal restaurants. Fourth, the menu had quite a lot of dishes, but not too much like in other restaurants that offer you a menu like a bible and what is more important it was fresh and TASTY. The prices are not cheap, but the food, the service and the atmosphere are worth it. As a conclusion I would certainly recommend it both for the lovers of Turkish food and for the lovers of tasty food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mamiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“very good restaurant in Bucharest city center”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I'm not a big fan of Turkish cuisine, but this restaurant really left a good impression. It is located right in the busy old city center of Bucharest, where you have a lot of choices in terms of restaurants (and not only), but I recommend this place firstly because of the excellent food. Just try one of the kebabs and you won't be disappointed: large plateau with well-cooked meat and vegetables, unique taste and appealing "scents". Yummy! Drinks and deserts, all Turkish style and very good. You can chose a table inside to enjoy the great decor and Turkish music, or outside, on the street-terrace, if you want to feel the Bucharest vibe. It's recommended to book in advance, as this not-so-large restaurant can get very crowded, especially during week-ends. The service is very good, prompt and helpful, does good recommendations and speaks good English too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adi_ciocoiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Turkish ford and excellent location!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Being a fan of Turkish food, I was very excited about trying this restaurant. The restaurant is located in the heart of the old city on Franceza. I went there for dinner on a Friday and lunch on the following Friday. Both times, I had excellent service. A word about service in general in Bucharest: I saw that many reviewers gave average reviews for the service. In Bucharest, unlike the United States, your servers are in no hurry to get you out of the restaurant. They will not bring you the check unless you ask for it and coureously wait for you to decide when you want more food or drinks brought out. I happen to love this type of service. The servers on both occasions at Divan were very friendly, very helpful and made great suggestions. The food was fantastic! There was so much to choose from! The atmosphere was also very pleasant as you can either sit outside and enjoy the crowds or sit inside for a more intimate setting. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Bucharest!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A small miracle in the old town”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Ten of us ate here on a very hot summer night. Sat in the terrace and were provided with a full complement of mezze. I may have been starving and in need of a beer (which arrived promptly), but I don't know when I have eaten such tasty, varied (15 plates probably) and interesting Turkish food. It was a feast, especially for the vegetarians at the table. We had a bottle of extremely good (and comparatively expensive in this location) local wine. The service was very friendly and fast. (We were eating fairly early.) But I'd like to be back there with some plates of their mezze in front of me right now. On the basis of this experience, highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Divan also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
Bucharest, Romania
 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing