We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely Recommended”
Review of Hotel Scala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Scala
Ranked #2 of 121 Bucharest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definitely Recommended”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

An old villa in the middle of Bucharest, complete with dark wood paneling and antiques, couldn't be a nicer place to stay. As you step in the entrance you immediately feel comfortable. The atmosphere has definitely a 'wow' factor about it. The rooms extremely comfortable with original old furniture, hand written cards with information - touches of detail abound. Breakfast excellent. Staff helpful and friendly. No complaints at all. It deserves the excellent reviews. Stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    38
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
14
87
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked two rooms for us and our children. We arrived late and were checked in without fuss. The rooms were very clean and well appointed and ours had a lovely balcony. Staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was good with a reasonable choice.
A good location, which had easy links to key areas of the city. We didn't eat at the hotel but it did look charming.
Down sides - lack of a lift a killer carrying suitcase up to second floor, very uncomfortable beds like sleeping on concrete! And finally although hotel says it takes American express when it came to pay so say the Amex line had trouble, the receptionist would even try it. Although I have read on previous reviews that this has happened before. If the increased transaction charge is the reason then don't say you accept it.
Anyway overall these were minor in what was a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Would recommend .

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Warsaw
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I am always happy to stay at this boutique hotel. the standard room (at 70 euro) is really top quality. Large room with big and comfortable bed. The daily breakfast is delicious one. Wifi is strong and works perfectly everywhere.

Room Tip: the only problem might be with parking space. I was told the room prices via hotel website are too b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poland_WarsawBogdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I wanted to spend a beautiful Valentine's Day with my fiancee so we reserved a table in the Hotel's Gourmee restaurant. The food was fantastic! It's a small restaurant with with high attention to details and guests. We had San Jaque, pasta, and soups. One of the soups was not that great, but eatable. Also desert was delicious! Must eat here again.
After dinner we check-in. I booked a Superior room. It was perfect: great large bed, huge room, beautifuly furnished, a nice bathroom with marble floor. Breakfast was also delicious.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Call the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is located in sector 1, and really in the center of it all. It is located about 12 minute walk to the old city which makes this property a nice hotel for walking to destinations in the city. The hotel is a small, boutique property. The price is great, and very affordable. If price is your only concern, than you cannot find any better place than this hotel in the city. There is no lift on the property so if walking a couple of flight of stairs is an issue, then look elsewhere. I stayed in a large deluxe room on the second floor (third for US readers), it was very clean, bright and had a great balcony. The bed was great and the space ample. My only complaint is that the decor is very dated. The room was actually caught between two zones in that the bathroom was remodeled and modern and the rest of the suite was more or less a reminder of grandmas home. That being said, other than being dated, the rooms are fine. what makes this hotel such a great place is the staff. The owner who is present on the property often has surrounded herself with great, attentive, caring staff. Housekeeping is very kind, the desk employees attentive, and really have a genuine attitude in working with tourists. The staff in the restaurant are also attentive, and keen to offer suggestions.
If the hotel were to update rooms, and maintain the high standards they currently operate with, this place could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khonkaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
151 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very well located, nice house with amazing renovation and personnalized decoration. Rooms are more than ok, each of them is different. Even if i'm not crazy about barocco/rococo style, i have to admit that there, everything has been done with a great taste and style. Breakfast is great, bed too, rooms are big and got everything you need. Owner and staff are very friendly and make the best to make your stay a great moment. Bathroom is maybe the minus... amenities are not very qualitative and poors and bathroom is not at the level of the hotel... but as you can get great deals, it's a real great value for money. Recommended without any doubt!

Room Tip: Was on the GF room (front of reception)... loved it and the small balcony is perfect for smokers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Each room has an individual decoration (we've tried two different). Great value. You will feel very special, each item has been chosen with great taste... some pleasant sense of affordable luxury!
An amazing breakfast (beautiful presentation of the scrumbled eggs!)

PS: If they propose you a taxi to the airport for 25EUR, don't take it :)
Take a regular taxi (BUT:check the counter and don't hesitate to talk strongly), it should cost you 30 lei from the city center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorimene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.8 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 166 in Bucharest
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 166 in Bucharest
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.4 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#9 of 166 in Bucharest
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scala

Property: Hotel Scala
Address: Strada Rosetti C.A. 19, Bucharest 020011, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scala 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scala Hotel Boutique is a destination of reference for all the lovers of the comfort boutique concept. Scala Hotel is more than a place intended for repose, it is a fascinating journey into a world of refinement that aims at perfection. In the 10 rooms and one apartment everything is conceived as a symphony of modern comfort and classic style, to offer a memorable experience, always repeatable. Located in the heart of the city, close to all the major interest points of Bucharest, only 20 m away from Magheru Boulevard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Scala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing