We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europa Royale Bucharest
Ranked #16 of 167 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Florianopolis, SC
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I made the reservation a day ahead on Internet and was pleasantly surprised, when I entered the lobby. A very modern atrium type hotel constructed only a year ago next to the old part of town, where you find hundreds of wonderful bars and restaurants.

The room was very spacious (approx. 30 square meters) with all amenities you can think of. Superbly large bathroom laid out with black and white tiles. Everything was fine, beds comfy, international TV, private safe, minibar, airco, smoke detection etc. The only one thing that struck me was the fact that the small dustbin in the bathroom had not been emptied. An oversight by the housekeeper, but not the end of the world.

Breakfast buffet on the groundfloor was typically Romanian, but nothing really to write home about. As a vegetarian I missed grilled tomatoes for instance.

All in all I stayed 3 days and I must say that the staff was very attentive to my needs, in good command of English, thus very helpful. Even the chambermaids have fairly good notions of the English language.

The single room at 81 Euros per day was what I considered value for money.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a quite room ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friedrichwelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa Royale B, General Manager at Europa Royale Bucharest, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking time to share this wonderful review with tripadvisor community!
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Europa Royale Bucharest!

Looking forward to welcome you back in near future!

Best Regards,
Audrius Abromavicius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    301
    76
    18
    11
See reviews for
64
208
80
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashkelon, Israel
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived two adults and two children aged 9 and 7 at noon, it was hot outside. We were very nicely welcomed, got our key and up in the elevator to the top 5 th floor. A very nice room well equiped all new furnituered. The best of all is the plaza unirii which is in the center of all transportation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benalon45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa Royale B, General Manager at Europa Royale Bucharest, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review and kind words!
It was our pleasure to welcome your family at Europa Royale Bucharest hotel.
We are very happy to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Looking forward to welcome you again in near future!

Best Regards,
Audrius Abromavicius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed 1 night at the hotel (twin beds). The staff was very serviceminded, we arrived 2 hours later than expected (the flight was delayed), in the middle of the night, no problem.

Nice and clean room, great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa Royale B, General Manager at Europa Royale Bucharest, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Jonnis,

thank you for your review!
I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Audrius Abromavicius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diekirch, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The room, the breakfast and the Swiss restaurant were OK. Unfortunately the sun didn't appear on the terrace, so, it was impossible to take the breakfast outside.Hotel can be used only like a bed and breakfast, but for at least the triple of price. Price/quality relationship is meager.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not showing to the Unirii Square: much trafic during day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexGrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa Royale B, General Manager at Europa Royale Bucharest, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your review!
I'm glad you liked it, but sorry to hear, that our hotel didn't meet your expectations as 4* hotel.
I can assure you, that it is rated four stars according EU standards and regulations.
Every year, tourism department checks all hotels to keep their standards or introduce new requirements for every category.
If you have any special comments or observations, how we could improve, please contact me via e-mail: dir.bucharest@europaroyale.com. Your comments would be highly appreciated!

Best Regards,
Audrius Abromavicius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Europa royale in Bucharest . The hotel is ok and very central in this beautiful city, however the management allow smoking throughout the hotel. At breakfast we encountered a man smoking a cigar at 8 am. This is unacceptable to most western tourists and until the hotels take a stand against smoking in dining areas. We complained and the restaurant manager said it was hotel policy to allow smoking at breakfast. We could not recommend the hotel whilst this policy exists.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gulliver0002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa Royale B, General Manager at Europa Royale Bucharest, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for taking time to share your review.
I apologize for the discomfort during your stay. Let me assure you, that our hotel's policy does not allow smoking in any public areas except designated area at the bar; smoking rooms (we have 7 rooms in our hotel, which are allocated for guests with smoking preference) and smoking zone in the restaurant. All other areas are strictly non smoking.
Since September 2013, we do not allow to smoke during breakfast time anymore, except at the bar.
Thank you again for the review and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Europa Royale Bucharest hotel!

Best regards,
Audrius Abromavicius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Europa Royal represents an acceptable choice for accommodations in the old town of Bucharest. The location is perfect for visiting the major tourist sights of the city, Breakfast is average, coffee rather watered-down American coffee, so be forewarned.
Rooms are comfortable, with effective air conditioning and most amenities, although no in-room tea and coffee service.
My major complaint is that, again due to its location in an area replete with night clubs and bars, the hotel does seem to attract a dubious clientele. I was waken up one morning at 1am by fighting, shouting and banging on the walls right outside my room. A call to reception, and shortly the row subsided. Next morning, when I asked reception about the cause of the disturbance, I was told that it was a party of 5 Russians and 1 Georgian, all very, very drunk, who were fighting in the corridor! Not exactly the sort of situation in which I like to find myself.
Since I was due to check out early from the hotel, I had called reception the night before to request an early breakfast, which, according to the hotel directory I found in my room, is available. Reception transferred me to the restaurant, where I was advised that breakfast is served from 7am in the restaurant itself. When I mentioned that the service directory in the room said otherwise, I was informed that, yes, I could have breakfast brought to my room at 6am. Needless to say, the promised breakfast never materialized.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardRiyadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa Royale B, General Manager at Europa Royale Bucharest, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Richard,

I read your review with big concern. Thank you very much for sharing it with us - it helps us to improve our services.
Let me assure you that safety and tranquility of our guests are our priorities. We have security on duty, as well as two front desk members on night shift. Our security verify hotel's corridors several times per night, as well as video cameras are filming all corridors and public spaces in the hotel 24 hours per day. In case of any disturbance - our front desk together with security give warnings for disrespectful guests and if it doesn't help, they are asked to leave immediately. We do not tolerate any violence, disturbance or aggressive attitude. Such situations aren't common in our hotel and I'm very sorry, that it did happen during your stay.

As it is declared in our guest directory - we do provide early breakfast for take away upon request. Please accept my sincere apologies, that it wasn't delivered for you. We investigate this situation. Also please be informed, that tea/coffee facilities are provided to the room upon request at no extra costs.

I kindly ask you to send me an email to Deputy.Bucharest@EuropaRoyale.com on your next visit to Bucharest and I will be happy to offer you complimentary upgrade as our regret for your inconveniences.

Best Regards,
Audrius Abromavicius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is not a 4 star hotel. Room very small and basic. The double bed was really small. Service quite disappointing, the day we left the young person at the reception was not even able to use the machine for the credit card. 3 stars rating will be more then enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabrizio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa Royale B, General Manager at Europa Royale Bucharest, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Fabrizio,

Thank you for your review.
I apologize for inconveniences during check-out procedure. It is true, that we had technical problems with our POS and transactions couldn't be proceed for few hours. To avoid inconveniences, now we have more POS and such problems shouldn't occur anymore. I understand your disappointment and let me assure you, that our staff is young, but they have regular trainings and work hard to achieve high level of professionalism.
I'm really sorry to hear, that our rooms didn't meet your expectations. Please do not hesitate to request for king size beds or biggest rooms available - our front desk is always there for you and will try their best to solve any issues and fulfill your requests.

I hope you will give us a chance to rebuild our reputation on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Audrius Abromavicius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
1.5 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 167 in Bucharest
1,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 167 in Bucharest
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#8 of 167 in Bucharest
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 167 in Bucharest
950 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Bucharest
NH Bucharest
#14 of 167 in Bucharest
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Royale Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Royale Bucharest

Property: Europa Royale Bucharest
Address: Franceza St 60, Bucharest, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 167 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Europa Royale Bucharest 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th century building overlooking the Unirii Square, next to "Hanul lui Manuc" restaurant, has become an elegant four star hotel. Europa Royale Bucharest has 92 rooms, tastefully decorated and air-conditioned, 2 conference rooms, a bar and a restaurant. The hotel will offer all facilities for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. The four star Europa Royale Bucharest Hotel is located in the Old Historical Center of Bucharest, on Franceza Street, one of the oldest streets from Bucharest. A once-glamorous residential area, the old city center, is now being refashioned into an upscale neighborhood. Nowadays, the area is home of many art galleries, antique shops and coffeehouses and now is also home of Europa Royale Bucharest Hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to the government district, most historical and cultural attractions as well as shopping streets, financial district, and downtown entertainment facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Europa Royale Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing