We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All alone? Don't go.”

Grand Cafe Van Gogh
Ranked #33 of 1,878 Restaurants in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Healthy, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All alone? Don't go.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

If you are alone, don't go because help at the bar for some drink and food is hard to find. To bussy with people at the tables. Looks inside are nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteefHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    168
    81
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lipscani treasure”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Sunny outdoor terrace is great for surveying the beautiful Lipscani District. My friend ordered Huevos Rancheros, but they produced a beautiful, creative and delicious variation. My omelette was very good as well. Wait staff was a tad disinterested but overall a good experience. Interior of the restaurant is also lovely.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klmattocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing special.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

An intimate local, but with bad food. Pity about the potential of this place. The area is very beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusu_Marin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangoghcafe, Public Relations Manager at Grand Cafe Van Gogh, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback!

Could you please contact us with a bit more detail on the 'bad food' comment? Which of the foods are you referring to and in what way were they bad.

We are eager to know what you found unsatisfactory and where we can improve.
We are at your disposal at info at vangogh.ro

All the best,
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A bearable place to sit and have a drink - but the food is yuk!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

In the old town area which is full of tourists and locals, easy to find and pricey like any tourist area.

But the food is disgusting. I had a simple hamburger and ordered potato wedges to accompany. The hamburger roll was so hard I could not bite it. The burger was stringy and a horrible taste. Anything that they could not kill like the cheese and gherkins was fine. The wedges were soggy.

Such a simple meal and they could not even do that.

Watch the drink tricks here. Order a Gin and Tonic without specifying and you will get the most expensive Bombay gin. Order a wine without specifying and you will get the most expensive wine.

Service is typically Romanian slow but average and the prices high.

If you dress smart and are not attentive, they will take advantage - but at least they speak good English. As is traditional in Romania, if you don't like the food, you still pay. Money is God here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dciaccounting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangoghcafe, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Cafe Van Gogh, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are sorry you had a less than pleasurable experience.

Please be sure we never do any 'drink tricks' - it is clearly stated in the menu that our gin & tonic is made with Bombay Sapphire (as it is the only gin we serve) and you'll find that 16 lei (3.5 euros) for a Bombay Gin Tonic is more than in line with prices in the area.

Regarding the burger, we take great effort to make a good one - we buy selected meat and grind it in-house then mix it with Worchestershire, onions, egg, Dijon mustard and spices. Indeed, in-house grinding may lead to some 'stringy' parts, it's the difference between home-made and store-bought (factory made) and always try and take those parts out.

We are sorry some made it's way to your burger and we happily invite you to a complimentary burger on the house at a time of your choosing to make up for this bad experience.

Regards,
The Goghs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good music, good atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

If u have a laptop and U want to get some work done this is the place for U, can find the Wi-Fi password written on the menu. Best snack food I ever tasted and good coffee. Not for people searching for some quiet time. Excellent place for meetings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Cafe Van Gogh also viewed

Bucharest, Romania
Bucharest, Romania
 
Bucharest, Romania
 
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Grand Cafe Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing