We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with some funny technical gimmicks”
Review of Hotel Christina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Christina
Ranked #1 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2011

+ Nice and clean hotel
+ Hotel is located near Piata Romana, 3 metro stations away from Gara de Nord
+ Some gimmicks include: temperature-sensitive LEDs in the shower head, a built-in lamp in the leg of the desk, curtains that open/close automatically when you move them, mattrasses that can be automatically adapted to your needs and maybe more things we did not notice
+ Free WiFi
+ Decent breakfast
+ Coffee machine in the room
+ 1 free bottle of water upon arrival
+ Friendly and very helpful English-speaking staff
+ Funny owner ("My bank and I are the owners of the hotel")

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2010

Hotel Christina is a great experience as soon as you walk in the reception lobby. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms have a great modern feel and are spotless. The best part may have been the in-room espresso machine! The hotel is within walking distance of many of the best parts of the city too.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turnepf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Well, I was born and raised in Bucharest and, on my frequent visits there, used to stay at my old, would say cozy home, owned now by my niece. It just happened that I fell upon Mr. Bowoodforest's from Sydney review, after which my wife suggested to give this boutique hotel a try. The experience of staying there proved to surpass even our already high expectations. For a detailed description of the amenities you'll enjoy, please refer to Mr. Bowoodforest excellent review that I think would be vain to try to outdo for its thoroughness. What toiletry! I would only resume our impressions with these points: 1. The owner obviously aims and succeeds to give you the best a modern hotel can offer. 2. The staff is simply incredibly polite, nice and helpful. 3. You'll be hard pressed to find elsewhere a better value for your money. That may be partly caused by the fact that Bucharest is not yet, to my regret, a real touristy destination. That may change because the potential is there. 4. As a consequence of the above, we decided to stay here on our future visits to Bucharest, trading our free home accommodation for this excellent boutique hotel where we felt not a bit less welcomed. On condition, sure, that nothing, including prices, would change to become less appealing!
And finally, a true anecdote about our stay there: My wife left behind in our hotel room a nice pair of shoes. We were still on our flight home when there was already a polite email in my inbox asking about how to proceed in order for the shoes to reach us in Israel. Not bad, isn't it? Cheers to Cristina, Sergiu and all those wonderful people I regrettably omitted to ask for their names.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sergiu62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. You have to like a very modern design but if you do then you get a super place to stay.
The de Luxe rooms have reclinable Auping beds, flat screen tv, Nespresso machine and much more! All is new, clean and colorful. A good breakfast with a large selection of fresh tea flavours. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
I really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. Everything at the website is exactly what you get.
SUPER!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loyaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We booked this hotel on the basis of reviews on Tripadvisor and stayed for three nights. From the moment we arrived until the time of departure, the staff service and assistance was nothing short of outstanding. The hotel is centrally located in a quiet residential part of Bucharest and is in easy walking distance of both public transport (approximately 5 minutes) and also many of the city sights.

The hotel is modern (only 12 months old), is quite trendy with its various colour designs and provided us with onsite parking. The rooms are a very good size (including bathroom), spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished / decorated. The beds are of an excellent quality and can also be electronically adjusted to better suit your requirements. All rooms have secure wi-fi, air-conditioning, a safe, bathrobes with slippers and also an excellent assortment of toiletries. There is also an unstocked mini bar fridge, with the hotel offering to stock in accordance with “case by case” requests.

An excellent cold / hot buffet breakfast was provided each morning (with eggs of your choice cooked on request), whilst the hotel restaurant is strongly recommended, as on the one evening we ate there, the food was simply superb. Besides the normal ”a la carte” offering, there is also an excellent 4 course dinner package on offer at a cost of 15 euro’s.

In summary, the service, quality and value for money make this 4 star hotel an absolute stand out.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bowoodforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This hotel is quite simply without peer anywhere in the world for this price range. It will be interesting to see if the modern style stands the test of time as there are some slightly "gimmicky" touches which could break in time. We were very impressed with both the hotel and the city it is located in and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Christina for four nights earlier this week, and had a fabulous experience.

It's super clean, staff are amazing, buffet breakfasts outstanding AND they give you Bulgari toiletries!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoebeandMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.1 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 169 in Bucharest
828 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 169 in Bucharest
439 reviews
1.1 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#6 of 169 in Bucharest
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.6 mi away
NH Bucharest
NH Bucharest
#14 of 169 in Bucharest
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christina

Address: 13 Ion Slatineanu Street, Bucharest 010601, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: $75 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Christina 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because life must be lived to the full one has to enjoy every moment. The Hotel Design Christina, which is situated in the heart of Bucharest, offers the perfectly luxurious and intimate ambiance so that you can take part in the lively pulse of the capital. If you come to Bucharest on business or holidays, relax in the extraordinary atmosphere of a hotel which says 'no' to banality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Christina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing