We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Christina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Christina
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hotel has been recently opened. The rooms and the common spaces are elegantly designed and very well kept. Breakfast is excellent with a variety of choice. The staff is efficient and kind.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Hotel Christina and also the food from the restaurant! Thank you very much for your feedback, your opinion is very important for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    149
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
109
405
122
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed over the Easter weekend. We really liked the hotel. The rooms have a number of quirky features like remote controlled curtains, lighted shower head etc. and is clean and modern. Breakfast was included with a buffet of continental items as well as hot food which could be made to order (eggs, omelets etc) and good coffee. The front desk was able to give us advice on where to visit, eat etc and provided a map. We also booked a day tour via the hotel and the driver was considerate, friendly and very knowledgeable.

We thought the location was fairly good. We were able to walk to the old town which would take 20-30 minutes without stopping although there is also a Metro. There is a great bar nearby with 80+ beers available (Happy Bar) and a restaurant (Sangria) which had fantastic pasta. It is fairly close the the Peasant Museum and we were able to walk there in about 10 minutes. We took a regular taxi from the airport on arrival but booked a car with the hotel on our way back as this was cheaper than the taxi had been.

One (very) minor point about the hotel - I am not sure why when everything else is such a high standard, that the towels were small and not very good quality.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthernKat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Glad to know you enjoyed your stay and also the day tour with one of our drivers. Don’t forget we can organize many kinds of tours in Romania, including the Transylvania tour and also transfer shuttles from and to the airport and to other cities in the country. As you noticed, most of the times cheaper and for sure always at a higher quality standard than with a regular taxi/cab because the ones here, as you probably read in many places and experienced on yourself, use all sorts of scams to reap people of.

Regarding the towels, they are standard weight and size for a 4-5* hotel according to the legislation in Romania and we can change them as many times as you need. Maybe they are smaller than in other hotels, but by washing them, we pollute the water and the environment and we are trying to be as green as possible. The idea is that a smaller towel = less damage to the environment. However, don’t forget you can ask for as many towels as you like and there is also the bathrobe.

Bucharest can be very nice, as you noticed, if you know where to look and have the right information. I hope you had a lovely Easter and came back home with special memories! Thank you very much for your review, it is very important for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Thank you Hotel Christina and staff for everything. The room was lovely... Really lovely, the bed was so comfortable, breakfast great - make sure you have dinner at the hotel too - it was a great meal.
However it is the welcoming friendly staff who make Christina thoroughly deserving of the rating of number 1 hotel in Bucharest.
Really wonderful place... Thank you

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you!! for choosing Christina and being our guest! Your review is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giaveno, Italy
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

(20-25 nov 2011)
Excellent Hotel and attentive staff.
Breakfast was very good and rooms are very modern and perfectly clean.
Wardrobe was small but everything else (including the electioc bed) was perfect.

I had health constrains and they helped me by offering adeguate substitutes for breakfast.
One evening I was tired and they offered me a very excellent dinner (with a high price for Bucharest, but quite affordable for Italian standards).

Location was so and so, as it was like 30 mins walk from center and when I was here there were continous roadworks around making problems to car/taxi circulation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea_Ravera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank God the work on the road ended in November 2011, it was a nightmare but now the traffic is smooth and back to normal. It is true that the food can bee a little bit pricey compared to the rest of Bucharest, but we use only high quality and fresh ingredients! Of course when someone wants to eat something special, even if it is not on the menu, we can prepare dedicated food for them, no trouble at all, it is our pleasure to satisfy our guests. Thank you very much for your TripAdvisor review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This recent three star hotel is located near Piata Roma and provide me with a very pleasant sejour. It has a modern design with spacious and clean rooms. The breakfast is top notch and the staff is extremely helpful. It is located in an easily accessable zone of Bucharest with trams and metro stops close by. The surrounding neighborhood is a bit run down and the wifi signal was weak in my room. I will definitly go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mathasmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
It is true that some buildings in the city are not well kept as they should be, although the people and the town hall are making efforts so we hope things will improve in the near future. Most of the times, the internet is working very well in the hotel but sometimes, because there are many spots in Bucharest where they work on the roads, they damage cables. In this situations we use our back-up internet connections (we have 6 of them) so it is impossible that the internet will be completely not operational, even though the secondary internet connections are a little bit slower than the main one. Thank you very much for your review and we will be glad to have you as our guest again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Just superb. There were 13 of us staying in a wide variety of rooms but all of us were fulsome in their praise. Wonderful beds - decor - cleanliness - space and every creature comfort.
The staff who speak excellent English could not have been more helpful and seemed really anxious to help us enjoy Bucharest.
Oh and the food! I cannot begin to describe the spread they called breakfast - just everything anyone could possibly want.
They kindly laid on a dinner for us of truly Romanian food that was just amazing and spectacular - I have pictures but trip advisor doesn't seem to want to load them - can send to anyone who asks.
Should you be travelling to Bucharest and want somewhere central and convenient may I suggest you do not even think of booking anywhere else.

Room Tip: No need - they are all splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinPerryab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
I hope your experience in Romania was one to remember in all kind of ways - the capital, the countryside, the museums, food, drinks, music and other cultural contacts - and that we managed to play a part in building this experiences and fond memories. Thank you very much for your review and recommendations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Hi Guys, well this place was booked by me as it had great reviews - and they were right, it is a modern trendy hotel with attention to detail. The staff are fab, nothing is too much trouble, it is in town, the rooms are good, clean and colourful even with electric curtains - Highly recommended to others ... will return !!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaufontboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and for uploading the photo! We will be waiting you with our arms open!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.1 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 171 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 171 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Bucharest City Center
0.9 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christina

Property: Hotel Christina
Address: 13 Ion Slatineanu Street, Bucharest 010601, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 171 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Christina 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because life must be lived to the full one has to enjoy every moment. The Hotel Design Christina, which is situated in the heart of Bucharest, offers the perfectly luxurious and intimate ambiance so that you can take part in the lively pulse of the capital. If you come to Bucharest on business or holidays, relax in the extraordinary atmosphere of a hotel which says 'no' to banality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Christina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing