We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel, extremely helpful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Christina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Christina
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, extremely helpful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed here for work for one night and this hotel was really nice, the rooms were really modern and bright and clean, which makes a nice change form old fashioned dark hotels. The staff were really friendly and helpful after i left my suitcxase in a taxi cab that drove off with it, not intentionally. They tried all night to contact the taxi firm and it was at the hotel in the morning for me, so thank you Christina. Also the breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and very nice freshly squeezed OJ, mmm. I can also highly recommend the 3 course meal, the soup was gorgeous nad the pasta was huge but the best things was the dessert, it was so refreshing and the bulgarian red wine was yummy. I would definately recommend this hotel. Only wish i had managed to figure out the coffee machine that was in the room. Oooh forgot the mention the electric curtains, very impressive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeaniewilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Our approach is different from most of the hotels out there (as you said: modern rooms with many gadgets, everything bright and clean, fresh orange juice that you can squeeze yourself by using a special device, etc.) and I am glad to know that, even on such a short stay, you had the chance to enjoy the atmosphere and things we have to offer. Happy to hear you are a wine lover, a glass of good wine can make a very good meal into a fabulous one! Thank you for the recommendations and review and hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    151
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
112
412
123
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

I first want to say this is the best hotel i have ever stayed at.

Room AMAZING i booked a deluxe room (purple room) what can i say everything was so clean tidy and had a great look.

Staff amazing if you asked for anything you got it straight away, Very helpful with the local area.

Area amazing a very short walk from the main street. Quiet street but lovely.

I dont have 1 bad word to say about this hotel, great valve, great location, great staff, great breakfast.

I would return to this hotel if i ever returned to Bucharest

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write the review! Although some people pick hotels that are on the main street, many prefer a location like the one that Christina has: very short walk from the main attractions, subway/metro station and main street, but on a nice quiet street. The cleanliness of the rooms is one of our priorities: everything is spotless clean/disinfected. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we will wait you again if you are planning to see Bucharest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We spent two nights on arrival to Bucuresti and two nights later in a two-week vacation. The 24 room hotel/restuarant is an incredibly modern, immaculate facility! The flooring is a combo of large tiles and granite, with inset lighting. The facility is all white with bright color accents. We met the owner and commented on how nice everyone on the staff was. He said that he interviewed nearly 1,000 applicants when he started less than 2 years ago and that he only selected people who were genuinely pleasant and caring.
His first chef was foreign and brought a totally different menu than the typical heavy Romanian fare. It is very healthy & tasty and even includes some Asian fusion dishes and great salads and fish dishes. The breakfast buffet is really superb and they are happy to provide expresso and omlets made to order. On our second visit on July 11-12, they had just gotten a new expensive juicer and were having fun making fresh orange or grapefruit juice for everyone. If you prefer tea to coffee, they have 25 varieties of quality tea.

We were extremely impressed with the value Hotel Christina offers. They use the best quality everything, including toiletries and even provide two tooth brushes with a large tube of Colgate toothpaste, which is expensive in Romania. They greet guests on arrival with a large complementary cheese plate and two glasses of wine at the restuarant.

We had no problem with parking, but as the number of cars in Bucuresti increases, that could pose a future issue that they will need to resolve.

We highly recommend both the hotel and the restuarant. Even if you are staying elsewhere, do try out their restuarant for lunch or dinner. Prices are good and the meals are excellent!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guest150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
I am happy that we met and that you had a good time at Christina! Indeed, the fresh juicer is a new acquisition for a more natural alternative to the regular juice and I hope that people will like the idea. Regarding the greeting complimentary appetizer, it is our new approach and a nice way of saying hello! Thank you very much for your recommendation and I hope that we will meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Best hotel in our 7 weeks in Europe. Staying one night and early flight tomorrow. Staff have offered to pack our breakfast. Cannot fault, cleanest standards and good value.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarmaleking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for the compliments, it is very nice when we hear from our guests that they felt genuinely good at Christina even when they had so much to compare with like in a very long trip like yours. Although it is impossible to have the exact same variety in the packed breakfast, compared to our regular one, I hope you enjoyed it and that it was still a very delicious breakfast. Please have in mind that whenever it is impossible for you to attend the breakfast, we will pack it up for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

It is a small boutique hotel not far from the center of town. The reception was very friendly, the room was a bit small but comfortable. The beds are adjustable – something I haven’t seen in other hotels. When we got to the room the air conditioner didn’t work. The tried their best but they couldn’t get it to work. After we came back in the evening, they upgraded us to a niceר room to compensate us for the inconveniency- a very nice thing to do! All together the staff was very friendly and did their best to make our stay enjoyable

Room Tip: the basic room is pretty small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry_A9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Hello Larry! First of all I want to thank you for picking Hotel Christina for your stay in Bucharest; it was a pleasure for us to have you as our guest! I am sorry for the inconvenience caused by the air conditioning, but I am happy that we could sort it out and that in the end you were pleased. Those beds do come in handy when you are watching TV, reading a book or just looking for a more comfortable position when sleeping. Also, I hope you noticed the special mattresses embedded with silver threads which in combination with the constant air flow permitted by the design, they don’t allow the existence of bacteria, making the beds super hygienic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London to Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Thank you so much for your generous offer to let us stay at your sensational Hotel! The beds, rooms, showers, staff, food and the owner/ manager were second to none. We felt so at home and it made our whole Bucharest experience a very enjoyable one. Would recommend this to anybody- BEST HOTEL BREAKFAST HANDS DOWN!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ride2Rescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
It was our pleasure to have you guys! I think that it is great what you are doing and we had some rooms that were not occupied so it was natural to have you. Everyone should search about you on the internet to find out more. If the breakfast satisfied even you who do so many thousands of kilometers on bicycles through the world, then it must mean something. Thank you very much that you took the time to write a review and make the recommendations on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel Christina fully deserves its current status as #1 hotel in Bucharest.

We went for one of the purple (superior) rooms, and didn't regret it. Powered, adjustable bed, large tv suspended from the ceiling, electric curtains, small balcony and corner wrap-around window. Very good toileteries provided.

The whole hotel wasspotless, including our room.

Parking is available in a locked garage round the corner - though i wouldn't recommend driving into Bucharest is you can help it. 3 Metro stations within walking distance.

Breakfast was great - lots of choice and great service from staff. Never seen such a large range of teas!

We ate in the hotel one evening, taking advantage of the very reasonable 15 Euro set menu. Very good food, but not much atmosphere as few other diners.

i'd really recommend the Christina - the location isn't the most central, but that means it's quieter than much of Bucharest, and you can get some sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jebndelorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelchristina, Owner at Hotel Christina, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
We put allot of price on cleanliness and hygiene in the hotel as you noticed. It is very important for us because we know it is very important to our guests. It is true that the traffic in Bucharest can get sometimes chaotic, that’s why I recommend you a driver, or a taxi what we can call for you, or the subway/metro system which is cheap and an efficient way to get around Bucharest, but if you do use your personal car and have trouble finding a parking spot, do not hesitate to ask the reception about it and we will sort it out right away. Regarding the breakfast, I am glad you enjoyed it and appreciated the variety, but don’t forget that you can order things that are not in that moment on display. Although most people appreciate that the hotel is very small and intimate, one of the negative points for some people is that the restaurant is not very crowded all the time, but others prefer it this way. Still, we encourage everyone to get the menu you were talking about, it has a good price for very good food. Thank you very much for taking the time to write the review and recommendation, I hope you we will see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.1 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 165 in Bucharest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cismigiu
Hotel Cismigiu
#3 of 165 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 165 in Bucharest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bucharest City Center
1.0 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Christina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Christina

Property: Hotel Christina
Address: 13 Ion Slatineanu Street, Bucharest 010601, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Christina 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because life must be lived to the full one has to enjoy every moment. The Hotel Design Christina, which is situated in the heart of Bucharest, offers the perfectly luxurious and intimate ambiance so that you can take part in the lively pulse of the capital. If you come to Bucharest on business or holidays, relax in the extraordinary atmosphere of a hotel which says 'no' to banality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Christina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing