We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Say Hello To The Hello Hotel”
Review of Hello Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hello Hotel
Ranked #42 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Well we have just got back from Bucharest after a 4 day mini break and I have to say this is the best budget hotel I have ever stayed in.We booked and paid in advance and received 4 nights for around 125 euro which was very good indeed,The staff are really good and accommodating a word of mention to the reception staff Dan and the girl's who's names I can't quite remember one organised a trip for me no issue's.

Also the lady manning the bar each night don't know her name but after the first night she even remembered what I was drinking she had the caps off the bottles before I had time to tell her!.

The hotel is very easy to find around 100 yards from the Gare Du Nord railway station but a word of warning close by is a very rough area full of gypsy's and other dodgy looking people but walk 5 minutes north and your away from all that.

Our only problem was the weather we must have picked the worst 4 days in the year as it rained practically non stop for 3 days and really messed up our sight seeing schedule but that means we'll have to come back!!!!!!!!

Anyway would I recommend this hotel a BIG YES

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulgre2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Hello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for such a beautiful review! We are so delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in our hotel! You certainly have to come back in Bucharest in days with better weather. Rest assured that your message was read by the entire Hello Team. We are looking forward to seeing you agin in our hotel!

Best regards,
Mihaela Staicu, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 433 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

If you like to wait 1 hour to check in, deal with the rudest and stupidest receptionists you ever saw in your life and have the bathroom in the actual room then go to this hotel. Yes...the bathroom is like an open space....trust me...you don't want to know.
I strongly recommend anyone to pay another $10 and go to the next hotel or you will regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Hello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review, your opinion is very important for us. We sincerely regret that we didn't meet your expectations. Hello Hotel is a new concept, modern, clean, friendly and easy way as you can see on our website

Hello Hotels is "a place for the traveler to sleep/rest, shower and dress/change clothes" (one of the comments billow) which suits to most of our guests needs.
We took notice about the receptionist attitude so we organize again for our reception customer care training. We do also our best to duplicate the staff at busy check in/ check-out hours which is one of the consequences of the type of hotel like our Hello: people traveling for one, two nights in Bucharest make us a very busy front office desk.

Best regards,

Mihaela Staicu,
General Manager, Hello Hotels Bucharest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Hello Hotel Bucharest, May 12 to 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from May 12 to 21, inclusive. We had a room on the fifth floor which looked out over parking lot and some apartment blocks. We also had a partial view of the Hotel Ibis which was right next door. But the view is not the main reason for choosing a hotel. Comfort, location and price are my main criteria, and Hello Hotel in Bucharest satisfies all three.

Our room contained one rather large double bed which was very comfortable. It also had a small writing table (and a chair) which was integrated into an open wall-unit style of furniture. This wall-unit, which acted as the headboard of the bed, also had a small space to hang up some clothes, but having only 4 hangers it meant having to place 2 or 3 shirts on top of each other with a pair of pants under them. We used the shelving of the unit below the hanger area to store socks, underwear, shorts and t-shirts. Our suitcases were placed on the upper shelves and other things were placed on the middle shelves. Being experienced travellers who are used to the small and cramped spaces on cruise ships and smaller, older European hotels, none of this presented a problem to us.

That said, the room was quite large with the bed occupying the centre floor-space, requiring us to access the bed from either side. The bed faced the window which allowed for nice breezes, on rare occasions, to cool the room. Even though outside temperatures were a comfortable 20°C, our room was exceptionally hot for us. The sir-conditioning system was not yet in use because it was still considered to be too cold to operate it.

The bathroom was divided into 3 separate compartments. The toilet, located next to the door, was separate from the shower, and the sink was in the room. By North American standards, this is quite unique, but it is not an altogether unpleasant arrangement. Anyway, a hotel is a place for the traveller to sleep/rest, shower and dress/change clothes as well as to store the purchases made on any given day. It is not meant to be a place where you go to live while you are on vacation, hence the reason why you stay at a hotel.

You must know that the bed linens are changed between guest, and after you check in, your bed linens will be changed every 4 days. If you request a change earlier than that, you will be charged a laundry fee of 2 euro. Towels are changed every 3 days, and if you request a change at Reception, you will be charged a fee of 1.50 euro. You have an option: you may hang your towels to re-use them, or drop them in the shower each morning for changing. We used our towels twice (once in the evening and then the next morning) so we left them in the shower for changing. [Most of us change our bed linens and towels once a week anyway, so going 3 or 4 days before a change in a hotel should not be a major issue or challenge.]

On re-reading the review to date, it seems that I did not enjoy my stay here. It is quite the contrary. I very much enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It is clean and comfortable and offers a pleasant stay to anyone. It shares a restaurant facility with the Continental Hotel located just behind it. You can have breakfast and lunch in this cafeteria-style venue at a very reason price. Or, if you prefer, you can have croissants and pain au chocolat for breakfast and a sandwich for lunch at the hotel’s coffee bar, which shares some space with Reception.

We had breakfast at the coffee bar every morning, and we usually had croissants and pain au chocolat with a delicious cup of coffee. Our waiter was Victor, and he often took a few minutes from his busy schedule to talk to us. For lunch, we sometimes ate at the coffee bar, having a sandwich or croissants. Sometimes we went to the cafeteria-style restaurant at the Continental Hotel. We often chose the Daily Menu. It is posted in the Hello Hotel’s elevators, and it changes every day.

The hotel is well located in the city and is conveniently located near the Metro, or subway, (Line 1). You can get almost anywhere using the Metro, with transfers to other lines, in Bucharest. The metro, buses and trams are operated by different companies, so you have to pay per ride per system; you cannot transfer between them on one fare. Each time you change between systems, you have to pay a fare. The Metro is fast, convenient, very inexpensive an the most convenient way to get around. A 15-lei (approx. $5) ticket is good for 10 trips at a cost of 1.5 lei (about 50 cents) per trip. Though we did not take the buses and trams, they are comparably priced.

Forget about driving in this city. Taking a taxi or a bus often means sitting in heavy traffic. The trams would be the better option, although it can be subject to traffic jams. There is so much traffic in Bucharest that you pay to sit in a traffic jam. There is little parking and streets can be so narrow that space on the sidewalk becomes the parking spot. Take the metro and walk – it’ll be faster than driving.

Our stay was made even more pleasant by the staff at Reception and at the coffee bar. We were greeted with cheerful hellos and happy smiles from Alexandra (there were 2), Daniela and Dan, and from their manager Sorin, every time we passed the Reception desk, as well as from Victor and the staff at the coffee-bar. If you need any information about Bucharest or how to get around, they are more than helpful. If you’d like to learn more about Bucharest in particular or Romania in general, speak with Dan. He is a wealth of information and can give you a very concise (and truthful!) Romanian history lesson.

The hotel is located near the Gara de Nord, the terminal station of the train. Being from a big North American city, we expected to encounter many homeless people or unsavoury types because that’s what we’d find here at home, but in Bucharest this was not at all the experience we had. We saw two homeless people only, and if others were around we did not see them. We did not meet anyone who could be considered ‘unsavoury’. We felt very safe in the neighbourhood, even at night. There was no one we would consider a dangerous element. It does not mean that you should not be vigilant anywhere you are.

If ever we return to Bucharest, Hello Hotel will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrd450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Hello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your detailed and realy fairy review, it was a pleasure to have you in our hotel!
Look forward to welcome you again!

Kind regards,

Mihaela Staicu,
General Manager, Hello Hotels Bucharest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel is spotlessly clean and is near to Gara de Nord and 10 minutes walk for the centre of town. The rooms all have wifi and security is good. Beds are comfortable and showers are hot. There is a small bar downstairs with drinks and snacks at reasonable prices. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Hello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your detailed and precious comments. You are always welcome in our hotel!!!

Mihaela Staicu,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed 9 nights at the Hello hotel in Bucharest because we wanted to visit other cities by train and do day trips only.
The hotel is located steps away from Gara de Nord the train station. Naturally like in any other cities, around the train station is not the most glamourous area. This hotel though is nicely located right next to the Ibis hotel and offers excellent services. There is a café adjascent to the reception area and you can also have lunch in the next building for a very nominal fee. The menus are posted daily in the elevator of the hotel.

We were surprised when we got to the hotel to see the rooms. We had seen some photos but didn't expect to have the room divided the way it was. Naturally the hotel is more a "pod" type hotel were every centimeter of space counts. But, it is very well arranged. The toilet area is seperated from the shower area and the sink (basin) is in the room area. The beds were really confortable and the tv had a good selections of channels in different languages.
One thing though, if you go in the spring, the air conditionning system changes only when the weather is warm, which means that if you get a warm day in May, you will have to keep your windows opened. This is the only drawback I found.
The personnel is fantastic! They are helpful, friendly and are able to inform you extremely well. There is even a young gentleman that works at the reception who has a wide knowledge of history of his country, we were surprised how much Dan knew, and what he told us or what he recommended was always in order to what we heard during the visits.

While we were there my Partner got sick during the night and the receptionnist in service really had the training to deal with this event. She started by reassuring me and called the emergency services and came up with them to ensure there would be no language problem. Thank you Daniela for this.

Another employee recommend a private tour to visit Brasov, Peles, Sinaia and Bran. For 2 people we had our private driver-guide and it costed us 99 Euros per person. Where else could you get this price!

Romania in general is inexpensive. They use the Leu (lei in plural) which is worth about 30 cents US for 1 leu. As an example a good meal in a regular restaurant in Lipscani (the old town) costed us 20 lei, fast math 6 US$, that is starter, main meal and dessert.

I definitely recommend this hotel. It is not luxury, but, it has all the convenience you may require. It is made to be a tourist hotel, but again, with everything needed and near metro station, train station, plenty of things to offer and an excellent staff.

Thank you to all of you especially Dan, Daniella, Alexandra and Sorin. You made our stay very enjoyable and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a room giving on the back of the hotel. Just one thing with this. If you have to keep your wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Montrealeronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Hello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your detailed and precious comments. Regarding the open windows in May I should say there is no more fresh air all year as in spring in Romania. It is more healthy to breath the spring air than the air conditioning.

You are always welcome in our hotel!!
Mihaela Staicu, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have spent on night in this hotel with my partner at the beginning of May before travelling further to Transylvania.

When we arrived the staff were friendly, they were competent speaking English and the atmsphere was friendly.

Our room was on the 4th floor, overlooking the road, we have a clean fully equipt room, tip for English tourists, there are no tea or coffee fascilities. We had a TV in the room and contrary to other reviews i saw on here they do have BBC news and Euro news in English, they have an Italian and a French channel as well. All movies are shown in English with Romanian subtitles so that's pretty handy.

The room was spacious, everything you need an nothing more.

The bathroom and shower are a bit odd, they both have glass doors and open from the room. This can be quite uncomfortable if you're not travelling alone. This should be improved on.

All in all it was a good experience staying at this hotel.
The location is a plus as well, 5 minute walk from the train station next to the IBIS hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Worldbackpackrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Hello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Customer, thank you very much for your detailed and precious comments.

You are always welcome in our hotel!!!

Mihaela Staicu, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hello Hotel is the best location where you must be in Bucharest when you travel national or international. Excelent price/quality!!! Daca doriti un hotel bun, curat, linistit si ieftin, acest este Hotel Hello!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avadanei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ContinentalHotelsRO, General Manager at Hello Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciations. We are happy to see that you liked out hotel and services and we look forward to welcoming you again in Hello Hotels.

Bste regards,

Maria Cristian,
General Manager, Hello Hotels Bucharest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
Ibis Bucuresti Gara de Nord
#38 of 169 in Bucharest
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agentia H Accommodation
Agentia H Accommodation
#103 of 169 in Bucharest
53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Eos
Hotel Eos
#72 of 169 in Bucharest
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Bucharest Palatul Parlamentului
1.6 mi away
Tempo Hotel
Tempo Hotel
#30 of 169 in Bucharest
443 reviews
2.0 mi away
NH Bucharest
NH Bucharest
#13 of 169 in Bucharest
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Hotel

Address: Cale Grivitei no. 143, Bucharest 010708, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: $30 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of your stay here is offered both by amenities and by the warm, friendly, young and joyful atmosphere all around the hotel.Hello Hotels team wants to meet you, to find out what you need and to place our hotel on your travel preference list.You can choose from the 150 rooms situated on seven floors and mezzanine.Smoker or non smoker, you can find a room suitable for you.All rooms have air conditioning and LCD.Pay extra services: Internet connection and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing