We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful professional staff, clean comfortable rooms”
Review of Capital Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Plaza
Ranked #34 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Vechta, Germany
1 review
“Very helpful professional staff, clean comfortable rooms”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

stayed there for a week, and during this time i enjoyed the professionalism of the staff, how they are ready to help for 24 hours. The rooms are wide, clean, comfortable beds, wide bathroom. Breakfast is good with wide variety of choices, Coffee is brilliant.

Room Tip: if you need quite rooms just go for the rooms looking at the side of the hotel not at the main stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WElgouery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    108
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
35
9
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

As always, rating a hotel can be difficult when you experience both the worst and the best service during a stay. Let's start off on a positive note: the hotel staff did everything they could to find out why my computer did not connect to the wifi. It turned out that the network does not allow for vpn secured access. This is in fact very bad when on a business trip, so be aware if you log on from behind a firewall. Then look for another hotel.

Beds were very nice if you like them a bit hard as I do. Rooms were also fairly modern. Missed BBC World on telly. Only showers in the standard rooms.

Cleaning was not good. Found hair on the bathroom floor, not belonging to me. See attached pic. No paper tissues in the bathroom, and towels were not replenished although I followed the instruction and put used towels on the floor.

I asked for an iron and ironboard. It arrived very quick, but it was completely useless. The iron surface seemed to have partly melted down. Luckily I tested it on the board and as you can see on the pic, it left a big burn mark.

Breakfast was a buffet with limited choice and quality, so nothing more than ok. Juices seemed to be nectar based, and not chilled. Selfservice for coffee and tea.

I had dinner in the Italian hotel restaurant one night. No big experience. Service was extremely slow, and the food was more or less tasteless. I had tagliatelle with scampi served in a very creamy sauce. Adding salt did not help much. The waiter also refused to split the bill.

Location is ok for business meetings, but if you are a tourist choose a hotel closer to the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriscrossNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

It was a very pleasant stay - the room was very spacious as was the bathroom. I liked the decor too - fairly modern. It was very clean, a good range of accessories in the bathroom although I think that when there are 2 people in a room, 2 bars of soap would be appropriate. Breakfast was a very good self service, and I think I would quite probably stay there again on a business trip. Free wifi - a big thumbs up!! The staff were good, the little that I saw of them as I was not in the hotel for too many hours. I also liked the location - on the side of Bucharest towards the airport, not dead centre so easier/quicker to get around. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retro46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
790 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

After 6 nights in different hotels in Romnia, we finally arrived in Bucharest to a lovely 4 star hotel that was new (only 4 years old), clean, big room, big bathroom, great lobby and bar.
The buffet breakfast was to die for. It offered a huge variety of fresh food that was topped off all the time.
Right around the corner of the hotel is a Mega Image supermarket and next to that coffee shops with great cakes.
The room was only E105 including the 2 buffet breakfasts!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hotel very good, especially for business, clean, rooms big enough, breakfast always fresh food.

Staff are always polite but are always very insistent for tips which I didn't like, Bell boy made a big deal about a tip when he called me a cab, other then that, nice, clean hotel near city centre.

Restaurant staff in the other end was fantastic, very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cry70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I Have Stayed many times at this hotel , i find it great value , i take a apartment / suite which if you ask you can get a good rate on , approx 120 euro definitely worth it

only 30 metres away is a great supermarket , there are very good restaurants all around , top of ing building , the loft just around the corner , hotel food not so bad , desk staff very helpful will order taxis help with info , altogether what you want while your away , in nice soundings at good value

Room Tip: ask for a suite , and try to get a deal , of the rack rate rooms facing towards the front can be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

this hotel is functional enough as a business hotel, all the basics, clean, but lacking in character. i was not happy with the staff because they tried to sell me their taxi service for 25 Euro to the Opera House, but when I stepped out of the hotel to get a local cab it cost only 15 Lei (USD$5). then they tried to sell me a three hour tour of the city for 70 euro, when I found out I could get around the city by local cab for about USD$15 with my own english guidebooks in hand). Why a romanian hotel would want Euro when the currency is not even used here, sort of reminds me of the late 1980s and 1990s when I used to go to China a lot and the Chinese THEN would do anything to charge you in USD. They were desperate for US dollars so they could escape China. de Ja vu. I also was overcharged in a restaurant here but got nothing but the run around from the food and beverage manager. I don't know if this hotel represents all of bucharest...On the contrary, I spent almost five days in the romanian countryside (Bran, Brasov, Rasnov, Sinaia) and people there were very honest and hospitable and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
#24 of 166 in Bucharest
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#52 of 166 in Bucharest
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Bucharest City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
1,122 reviews
2.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Bucharest Unirii Square
1.1 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Plaza

Property: Capital Plaza
Address: 54 Iancu de Hunedoara Bd, Bucharest 011745, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing