We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience”
Review of Crama Domneasca

Crama Domneasca
Ranked #104 of 1,812 Restaurants in Bucharest
Cuisines: Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurantul romanesc Crama Domneasca este bine situat in Centrul Vechi al Bucurestiului, zona cu puternic impact turistic. Oaspetii sunt asteptati cu bucate alese, preparate romanesti unde niciunde nu gasesti, o vasta lista de vinuri romanesti si din strainatate din podgorii renumite, bauturi spirtoase si dulciuri cu traditie. Atmosfera este calda si prietenoasa, iar portile sunt deschise in fiecare zi de la 12.00 La 24.00 Pentru a intampina atat oaspeti romani, cat si din strainatate in catarea unei experiente si a unei mese ca la carte.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Average experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It was not a bad experience, but I was a little bit disappointed (maybe my expectations were a little too high). Located in the Bucharest old city center, you can easily spot it. Once you go inside, the atmosphere is pleasant, typical traditional Romanian restaurant, with a nice view to the Medieval walls of the Old Court. The service was ok, but during our visit they were very busy (the place was very crowded) and we waited a lot for our order to be taken and then for the food to be served. As for the food, some was good (actually delicious), some was not. I was especially disappointed by the "smoked rib on the sword", which was not on a sword, was very salty and seemed like cheap supermarket bacon put in a pan. Prices are so-so, I can't complain about it. I especially liked the live band playing traditional Romanian music and the bar decorations. Would recommend to others, but only with a heads-up warning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adi_ciocoiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    138
    61
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An ok meal in old town...”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

On a very nice september after noon we decided to go for a walk with our little girl and then to have lunch in a restaurant. We choose this one. It is a nice restaurant.
We stayed outside. It was ok, meal was good, but we waited very long time until we could eat.

The waiter was inattentive, cold , no smile on his face. He has not been able to recommend us any thing.

The food was good, the service was not good!!! Needs work!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anadalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
222 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Bad experience, average Romanian restaurant in Bucharest”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had been here a couple of other times before and we had average to good experiences. However, last week we spent here a very un-enjoyable evening, and in the future we will definitely avoid going here.
The place offers a truly Romanian décor and menu, along with the usual band of singers who passes to each table and plays for the traditional fat tip after. I totally despise this but some may find it enjoyable.
Last week, on a Tuesday evening, the place was busy with a group which had booked most of the tables inside. We stayed in the garden outside, near the old walls of Curtea Veche, which is actually a very nice and green area of the restaurant. As is got later in the evening, we got a bit cold staying outside, but moving inside was not an option due to the presence of the loud group of people inside, and the singer, and to the heavy smoke.
The service was very impolite and blunt. The waiter announced us that the kitchen could provide us a very limited amount of dishes, so we should choose only grilled food. Also, we wanted to order some specific wines from the menu, but they had almost none. We had to settle for a wine found available and our fifth try, I believe. The waiter seemed very grumpy when we kept asking for glasses or for water, like we were disturbing him. His attitude was really disturbing to us, actually. He begun the evening by announcing us that the food was going to take more than one hour to cook.
When it finally arrived, the food was quite average. Most of us had grilled pork, which turned out to be very hard to eat. Very badly cooked, you needed some strong muscles to cut it and equally strong teeth to chew it. We had no dessert, even if some of us left hungry from this place.
The check, after being ordered, took as while to arrive. We decided to pay with a credit card but, most surprisingly, we were asked whether we wanted the mandatory 10% tip to be included on the bill, or paid separately. We found this repulsing. We paid everything with the credit card, but why bother to leave a tip for such poor service and food? If you come here, please opt for paying with cash, and leave your own amount of tip, if any, not am imposed sum. A very unprofessional touch.
We left the place feeling very bitter for the experience we had, deciding not to return very soon here. We already know some far better Romanian traditional restaurants in Bucharest, which will stay on our list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eliza_Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“You are here for the Mic'i”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

It is a nice restauran, with nice atmosphere, there are no English menus, but there are pictures in the menu. the location is great just in the middle of the Lipscani area (the old city) on Sunday evening it was quite empty, but the food was very good, without later consequences. the service was quite slow, even in romanian standards.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kobi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food, service needs work”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I ate here twice during a trip to Bucharest.
I liked the food - stuffed cabbage leaves one day and ribs with polenta the next. Good value.
But while some of the staff are nice most are cold and inattentive - although I was acknowledged when I arrived I was then ignored and another time, they used my table to pile other plates on!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crama Domneasca also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
 
Bucharest, Romania
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Crama Domneasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing