We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, service needs work”
Review of Crama Domneasca

Crama Domneasca
Ranked #107 of 1,845 Restaurants in Bucharest
Cuisines: Romanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Restaurantul romanesc Crama Domneasca este bine situat in Centrul Vechi al Bucurestiului, zona cu puternic impact turistic. Oaspetii sunt asteptati cu bucate alese, preparate romanesti unde niciunde nu gasesti, o vasta lista de vinuri romanesti si din strainatate din podgorii renumite, bauturi spirtoase si dulciuri cu traditie. Atmosfera este calda si prietenoasa, iar portile sunt deschise in fiecare zi de la 12.00 La 24.00 Pentru a intampina atat oaspeti romani, cat si din strainatate in catarea unei experiente si a unei mese ca la carte.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food, service needs work”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

I ate here twice during a trip to Bucharest.
I liked the food - stuffed cabbage leaves one day and ribs with polenta the next. Good value.
But while some of the staff are nice most are cold and inattentive - although I was acknowledged when I arrived I was then ignored and another time, they used my table to pile other plates on!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    139
    61
    31
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Findhorn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not happy”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Large restaurant right in the heart of the old town of Bukarest. Looks like a mix of a Greek tavern and tourist attraction. Fake flowers and broken amphorae. Large rooms inside, smaller outside seating area with views to an illuminated castle wall. Very busy, lots of people, place was packed. Friendly enough service but no time for recommendations as very busy. If you like a barbecue that's the place.. It's all grilled meats, traditional Rumanian fare .. They serve grilled chickens on sword-like skewers (as on the table next to us): if that's your liking then go there. Vegetarian platter is all starters and a bit oily.. Son and myself did feel slightly unwell afterwards - so we left quickly. Very loud folksy live music. Very basic food, no cooking skills. Would definitely not go there again...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Inattentive waiters and average food”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

having eaten at many Romanian restaurants I have to say that this restaurant is below par. It took a long time for the food to come and we constantly had to ask for top ups for our drinks. Food was ok, but not great

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MongerNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Somewhat dissapointed”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stopped at Crama Domneasca for a dinner on Sunday evening. I loved the small terrace in the interior garden, more quiet and very green.
The service & food were not great though. I ordered a tuna salad, it comes in a dry pita shaped as a bowl. It is hard to mix the ingredients inside. I would have liked more a glass bowl and a fresh piece of pita on the side. It had no dressing at all. I also ordered a lemonade, it come extremely sweet. I don't use sugar, I didn't like the sweetness.
My friend ordered a spicy pan. It come in a sort of bread, all the sauce was absorbed by the bread. The meat remained rather dry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crist291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Tasmania, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very nice environment- go in the evening”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice restaurant with traditional Romanian menu with direct views over the ruins of the old "Curtea Domneasca"
The perennial Romanian problem with non existing dishes being listed on the menu is present here too.
Otherwise food was goon , service was fast and the atmosphere the icing on the cake

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Calin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crama Domneasca also viewed

 
Bucharest, Romania
Bucharest, Romania
 
Bucharest, Romania
Bucharest, Romania
 

Been to Crama Domneasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing