We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel”
Review of Berthelot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berthelot
Ranked #29 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I loved Hotel Berthelot. It's centrally located but quiet. The staff were friendly & incredibly helpful when I had a problem with a taxi driver. They went out of their way arranging maps, train schedules and ensuring I was comfortable. If only more hotel staff were trained to provide such excellent service!

Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of dishes to choose from and I enjoyed a very nice meal in the evening at the hotel restaurant. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable (I loved the big bed with feather pillows & doona). There was a wide range of tv channels, excellent free wi-fi, air cond and lovely bathroom and there was nothing I could fault. Would definitely return here if in Bucharest again and would highly recommend this hotel to others especially as the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 282 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

located in the center of town, great accomadations, even had dinner and enjoyed the food. They try to give excellant service. Very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rheallan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Staffs are friendly and helpful. Free welcome drink on arrival and you can choose from a range of soft drink, beer, fresh juice and red/white wine. Great location and you can walk for 5-10mins back to your hotel at night after a symphony performance by the world renowned George Enescu Philharmonic Orchestra at Romanian Athenaeum.

Breakfast is plentiful with cold & hot choices. Clean room with free wifi. A wonderful stay at Bucharest to kick off and end our Romania journey.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D_and_G_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

When we arrived to hotel, all of us said simultaneously: "This is how every hotel should look like!". Our room was perfect, new and modern with excellent air-condition. Since it was above 35 C, that was very important. The bathroom and shower were wonderful, the bed comfortable and duvet nice and silky. TV had more than 50 channels and wifi was free with excellent signal throughout the hotel. The underground garage was a little bit small but everything was ok. The hotel also has a nice terrace where you can have a complimentary drink upon the check-in. The breakast was varied, fresh and tasty. Of course, the hotel is right in the city centre, a few meters from Atheneum and 15-20 minutes on foot from Lipscani nightlife centre. This was the best hotel I've stayed at this year and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is centrally located and the room was quite nice an comfortable. But, in a four star hotel the shower should not leak onto the floor. The restaurant is open most of the time which is a good convenience and we had a coupon for a discount. No problems with the staff or the service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10,234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Bucharesti only has room for 20000 visitors. Finding a hotel reservation is a problem. The Berthelot is centrally located. The air conditioning works...but the place seems new, fresh, sweet smelling so it shouldn't be a surprise. Lift. The buffet in the morning offers fish every day, grilled egg plant, grilled tomatoes, marvelously mild bacon, no problem with the most important meal of the day. The excellence and variety goes on and on.
Staff are personable, direct, clearly advocating for the traveler, the opposite of adversarial. Concierge day or night a wealth of help and council.
Taxi stand around the corner to the right. Atheneum (national concert hall) about a two minute walk. Packed local restaurants offer nothing over the Bethelot and sometimes less. Haven't felt so satisfied since rural France. Ask the staff.

Room Tip: Early, advance planning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPriss234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Excellent location 5 minute walk from Revolution Square. Lovely room, full shower/ bath, phone, TV and free WiFimthrought hotel. AND totally non smoking except the patio. Almost unheard of here in Romania. This alone is the best reason to stay here.
Great staff, small lobby bar, and restaurant with wide menu. Fabulous buffet breakfast.
Carol Hitchie, Chicago USA

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room for more quiet but rooms are pretty well sound proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicagoagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 169 in Bucharest
1,198 reviews
0.8 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#7 of 169 in Bucharest
993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bucharest City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
Le Boutique Hotel Moxa
#21 of 169 in Bucharest
551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tempo Hotel
Tempo Hotel
#30 of 169 in Bucharest
448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#4 of 169 in Bucharest
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berthelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berthelot

Address: Gen. Bethelot St., 9, Bucharest 10164, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 169 Hotels in Bucharest
Price Range: $67 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Berthelot 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in 2009 and localized in the very heart of Bucharest, Hotel Berthelot offers to its guests a unique experience, where intimate, luxurious and vanguard represent key words.Situated in the historical and cultural center of Bucharest, Berthelot Hotel is close (1-15th min. walking) situated to the most important cultural and social objectives of the city.Surrounded by stylized buildings from the 1800's, the hotel’s rooms are disposed in such a way that the noise coming from the main artery does not interferes the unique and pleasant atmosphere inside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Berthelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing