We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff. Mediocre bathrooms.”
Review of The Midland Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Midland Hostel
Ranked #23 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Bucharest
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I stayed here in early May 2011 for just one night. All in all, average hostel. Apparently, this hostel location is brand new, although it looks like it had been operating in that location for a long time.

Pros:

- Near the center of the city, most places are within walking distance.
- Location is very safe. French Embassy is right across the street. The security guards are literally standing on the sidewalk in front of the hostel.
- Friendly, helpful staff. But you have to approach them and be persistent; they do know the city well and can recommend day trips, clubs, museums, how to deal with the street dogs, and more.
- Quiet. Could have just been the lull in guests on the Monday night I was there, but no one was making a ruckus, and there was not much traffic on the street.
- Lockers for your bags, which is big enough to hold more than the carry-on limits the airlines impose.

Cons:

- Using the bathroom shower requires traversing the lobby area from the room I was in (the one immediately to the left upon entering lobby). This can be awkward in the middle of the night if you are in your sleep gear and stumbling eyes-half-closed past your fellow guests that are still awake. Also, showers are "euro-style" in that you must hold the shower head in your hand, and the water pressure is low. Americans are not used to that. Where do you put that shower head when lathering up, anyway?? Great view from the throne of the adjacent buildings, if the windows are open.
- No bar in the hostel. You can bring back food and beverages from the "non-stop" store about three minute walk away. Having a bar on site would up the social interaction factor of the place.
- Guests that were there at the time I arrived were not as outgoing as I have been used to at other hostels I have stayed, but this could be just that it was a Sunday night.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
Thank paulino636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 75 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: O quarto privado é silencioso e muito espaçoso
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank vanessitta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Margherita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank ClementineBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Levar cobertor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Estácio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
3  Thank MescalinaBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
1.1 mi away
Antique Hostel
Antique Hostel
#4 of 155 in Bucharest
313 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Map Hostel
The Map Hostel
#30 of 155 in Bucharest
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puzzle Hostel
Puzzle Hostel
#22 of 155 in Bucharest
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Umbrella Hostel
Umbrella Hostel
#1 of 155 in Bucharest
337 reviews
0.9 mi away
Little Bucharest Old Town Hostel
1.1 mi away
X Hostel Bucharest
X Hostel Bucharest
#14 of 155 in Bucharest
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland Hostel

Address: Strada Biserica Amzei nr 22, Bucharest 010395, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Bucharest
Price Range: $16 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Midland Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing