We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Calea Victoriei Residence
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Calea Victoriei Residence
Ranked #15 of 121 Bucharest B&B and Inns
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

i had a 3-night stay at a studio-appartment here . Radu was very helpfull , give a citymap , and some necessary essential basic information about the city . Location is top . Studio gave me all the comfort needed . I only missed electricity in the bathroom for electric shaving . Anyway , if i'll ever visit Bucharest again , sure would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martinlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The manager of this apartment, Radu, picked us up at the airport for free. He was almost perfectly on time, had a new, comfortable, not smoked in car that fit all of our huge luggage. On our way to the apartment, he showed and gave explanations about sights we passed, and answered any questions we had about the city. The apartment we stayed at, was located right in the center of everything you want to see. With very nice stores, like Gucci and Rolex, being right next door, we were right in the center of it all - all the touristy and shopping spots! We stayed across from a lovely church that we could see outside our window when we woke up. It could be the most expensive part of Bucharest. There was the most beautiful park (Parcul Cismigiu) with swans and peacocks just a quick 5 minute stroll from the apartment, we highly recommend you don't miss this park. We went everyday! The apartment itself is comfortable, it had everything you need, including a washer with laundry detergent (you have to hang dry clothes), and even a shoe shiner. They are obviously well maintained and perfectly cleaned. The maid comes every 2-3 days if you would like, we chose to opt out of the service. On the day of arrival be prepared to pay in RON or Euros, we were sick and didn't have a chance to exchange, but Radu was accommodating, though he did make it obvious he would prefer the other two currencies. Radu also drove us and our luggage to the train station on the last day, and was very pleasant as always. We are very, very happy with our experience, and recommend the apartment to others traveling to Bucharest. :)

Our only complaint is the bed was not very comfortable, it made both of our backs hurt. It felt like the mattress need to be changed a long time ago. We didn't bring it up to Radu, but I am sure if we had, he would have found a way to accommodate us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank romeopitbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I've stayed with my 3 old son at one of the apartments conveniently located in Piazza Rosetti just a couple of minutes from Bucharest University and all the other main sites...you can walk almost everywhere, if not you can catch the metro or bused that are very close. The apartment was newly renovated, very clean and well-equipped. Also, it faces the courtyard so it's very quiet...I couldn't ask for more. I was happy staying in an apartment rather than in a cold and pricy hotel room like most of Bucharest hotels are. Radu, the owner, was the most patient and helpful person, he was driving us from the airport to the apartment after waiting us for more than 30min at the terminal because of a bag problem, then he helped me carring the bags and gave us lots of useful information. I'll definitely stay at one of his apartments again next time I'll be in Bucharest.

Room Tip: Book in advance if you decide to stay here, it can be pretty busy during high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alinafor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Nothing to complain, really. The host was very service minded - which is hard to come by in Romania. He waited for us at the train station and brought us to the residence at a fair charge. Thorough explanations on what to see in Bucharest and what to avoid. That was a big plus for us. We enjoyed the restaurant recommendations very much and our favorite turned out to be a Italian restaurant! The apartment came with an equipped kitchen; grocery store is about 10-15 minutes walk but manageable. The room is good size for two of us; wifi was good; clean sheets and towels - literally nothing to complain. Considering the price we paid it was of very good value. I would recommend this apartment if you are looking for a couple nights stay in Bucharest.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank po-hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

It wasn's an actual hotel(it was a studio), but we had a good overall stay. On our arrival the manager called us, we decided on a place where we should meet to give us the keys. We had a kitchen, clean sheets, clean room, hot water, hairdryer.
The studio is located in a central, safe area, with few hobos, but quite a few dogs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marilena_dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We booked this apartment on the internet before our holiday. We were travelling around Eastern Europe, flying into Bucharest and just wanted somewhere to stay for the first couple of days while we made plans (the rest of our accommodation we booked on arrival in each place). Radu, the owner of the apartment contacted us by email and said he would meet us in a central square in Bucharest. Our flight was delayed and I called Radu, he was very understanding and agreed we would call him once we caught a bus from the airport. This was a bad idea - we missed the bus stop and got very confused! I can only apologise to Radu who was possibly the most patient man ever, waiting for us in the searing heat for goodness knows how long! First tip - if you are going to stay here maybe get a taxi from the airport! Radu walked with us to the apartment pointing out nearby shops and bars. He gave us maps and was a mine of information about various train and bus times, local attractions etc.
The apartment was in a very Eastern-bloc style building but in a great location within walking distance of all the main sights. Once inside the apartment was small and basic but very clean and had everything we needed. We were totally surprised by Bucharest and found it was a fantastic, friendly and fascinating city. Why does it have such a bad reputation? It's well worth a visit.
If you are looking for somewhere good value to stay, I can recommend this place. However if you are there for more than a couple of days you could find it a bit cramped. It is also not very sociable - if you want to meet fellow travellers choose a hotel or hostel instead.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iloveleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
0.2 mi away
Agentia H Accommodation
Agentia H Accommodation
#93 of 166 in Bucharest
52 reviews
0.8 mi away
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
K+K Hotel Elisabeta
#9 of 166 in Bucharest
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
0.2 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
0.6 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#12 of 166 in Bucharest
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calea Victoriei Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calea Victoriei Residence

Property: Calea Victoriei Residence
Address: Calea Victoriei, Bucharest 10094, Romania
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calea Victoriei Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Calea Victoriei Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing