We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Gorgeous lobby, great atmosphere, spacious rooms. I haven't even checked out yet but I'm just impressed. The lobby is impressive with a couple of water features and a large internal atrium. Breakfast/restaurant is very classy and even serves cappuccinos for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    596
    128
    49
    37
See reviews for
119
379
133
983
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Arrival
Took 30 mins at peak our Friday afternoon from airport to hotel by car, driving generally relatively calm.
Despite electronic booking service at airport which should eliminate most taxi scams it still happens as quick Google will support, so would suggest that arranging a private pick up at airport is best unless on a tight budget. I met with an American who had taken what he believed was an official taxi from airport only to be threatened with a $300 shake down if he wanted his luggage.
Hotel check in was friendly and relatively quick. They provide uniformed staff at the entrance and reception area and did somewhat reluctantly offer assistance to a 63 yr. old with large suitcase.

The Northern European Radissons in particular have overcome this problem by removing anyone who looks like they might be there to take care of suitcases or otherwise help customers and then instructing the remainder to stay with a counter firmly between them and customers unless an emergency. They apparently take the position that if anyone is silly enough to travel with a suitcase, then they should take the consequences. I am sure as Romania beds itself into Europe they will quickly grasp this.

It must come as a profound shock if they ever visit Asia where it is taken as read that the suitcase issue is taken care of by staff from car to room without asking as they are led to their room.

Room
I had a business room on 5th floor facing west and overlooking the pool, so quite an attractive vista and no road noise, however it seems on Friday and Saturday nights at least marquis are put out around the pool with an enthusiastic band playing classic Bulgarian songs such as “Oh Carol” and “ Show me the way to Amarillo”. The windows are double glazed so the noise did not bother me, however if on lower floor and/or you are a light sleeper would suggest maybe the Road Side maybe better as traffic seems light.
The room is quite tastefully decorated and seems well maintained, the air con takes a certain amount of fathoming as despite pressing buttons to reduce temperature as instructed, it has seemingly no effect on the LED read out temperature….that is because it is adjusted on a bar graph which is not calibrated, hence you have to experiment.
The first night I had not grasped the technology so opened the window…this had some interesting consequences as at dawn with window open a tremendous noise erupted outside sounding like thousands of birds…….it was thousands of birds, large crows making the very attractive call that crows make as they circled the area !

Bed and pillows well sorted and comfortable and a turn down service ( once again I am sure this can be dropped if full EU integration is the target )
Bathroom has separate and sensibly sized bath, the only slight complaints was that the illumination in the shower stall was noticeably lacking and some of the towels have long lost that warm cuddly feeling.
Internet speed generally quite good 10-12 Mbs

Décor generally
Such things are subjective but I felt it was both unusual and attractive with large central atrium running up to the roof allowing light to come down and some quite dramatic decorations.

Restaurants
I only tried the Prime Steaks restaurant, it was pricey, but premium and service attentive, there are however many restaurants within 5-10 minutes’ walk that look quite good and much cheaper and with more local atmosphere. However be warned that it seems most bars and restaurants allow smoking and many do smoke, hence a plus ( for me ) with Prime Steaks was that they do not. The outside Marquis had buffet style food and long convivial benches to sit on to observe the energetic band and dancing which I suspect could be fun given the right mood and level of alcohol.
Tried breakfast on the club floor, which was OK, tried on the ground floor and found it a chaotic buffet with far too much noise and jostling for me first thing, so returned to the club floor.

Club Lounge
On the 8th floor, layout and furnishing reasonably attractive, staff did not seem wildly enthusiastic but nobody stopped me helping myself to drinks and snacks, however the choice of savory snacks seemed very limited, often to a selection of nuts otherwise the only food seem to be cakes. There were spirits and soft drinks and basic choice of red and white wines, both Romanian and of somewhat indifferent quality to my taste.

Summary
I have no benchmark in Bucharest, suspect it may be the best in town, but would probably try another a little closer to the old quarter next time around, just so I could satisfy myself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Singapore_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
225 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a business meeting for an important client in the Radisson blu Hotel Bucharest (30 pax). Preparation and organization was smooth. Guests liked the style of the hotel - modern and cool - and the service. As the hotel was fully booked and they had the Octoberfest in their inner courtyard, service was getting to their limits, but still all very friendly.
A good place for smaller and bigger business meetings in Bucharest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcDeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice hotel to stay in Bucharest. It's quite near city center and have execellent rooms. Enjoyed complemenary internet with great speed. Experienced business conference area and found it quite well. The choice of vegetarian food was ample and was beyond my expectation.

Overall it was very good exeperience to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvitthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alba Iulia, Alba, Romania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great hotel, comfort is at home here. They have great restaurants inside. I enjoyed the Steak House very much. I had a delicious Galletto stuffed with liver and my parents had a fois gras. We always go there when we are in bucharest and I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlinIgnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent hotel, great rooms, superb pool and spa, great people. I really enjoyed the hotel especially its downtown location. I suggest some of the restaurants and pubs around. Friendly people, great nightlife. Just one suggestion: ask for a room with a court view not street view. Its too noisy. Traffic is heavy in the rush hours and hotel has no special lane. So when more cars park in front of the hotel the lane blocks the street and all hell breaks loose: honking and shouting etc. If you have your window open its horrible. You hear the noisy conversations of the taxi drivers. The street is narrow so noise is amplified. All five star hotels have control on whats going on in front of the hotel but here no. Management should do something about it. Otherwise the hotel is great. Will definitely stay next time in Bucharest. Best if they can do something about the noise in front of hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a back court view are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel has more then one building. The main building might be justified to be ranked as a 5 star hotel but the other buildings are not even 2 stars.
We were (my wife and I) in this hotel for 3 nights from September 19, 2013. We were given a room (studio) in building D1. The entrance to the room is from the main building, so you can be satisfied from the 5 star lobby, but as you reach your room you are going back in time to the communist period to an old broken apartment. Old furniture, broken bathroom. To get warm water you have to open the tap for more than 10 minutes and wait. Water from the bath is comming out from the floor. The mattress was 20 cm. shorter then the bad so we had a hole over our heads and feet. In total we had a very bad experience.

Room Tip: Don't agree for rooms other than in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDumitrescu, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Unfortunately there was a confusion probably from the reservation point, meaning the D1 wing is not a Radisson Blu 5 star hotel but part of Centre Ville ApartHotel (4 star) which is located in the same complex and under our management but it is not a Radisson Blu. I would like to specify that we always promote and sell our 4 star wing under the Centre Ville ApartHotel name and not under the 5 star brand Radisson Blu Hotel, Bucharest. The price difference between the 2 hotel brands is also significant.

Most probably the information given to you when booking was not fully correct, therefore, in order to take measures and avoid this confusion again, we would very much appreciate if you could inform us by what channel you have submitted your reservation.

Once again we deeply regret this unfortunate situation and even for the Centre Ville ApartHotel we value your feedback and will take it into consideration for improving the quality of our services here.

Best Regards,

Daniela Dumitrescu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bucharest hotels
0.1 mi away
Athenee Palace Hilton Bucharest
1.4 mi away
JW Marriott Bucharest Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Christina
Hotel Christina
#1 of 166 in Bucharest
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Bucharest
InterContinental Bucharest
#8 of 166 in Bucharest
1,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Bucarest City Centre
0.5 mi away
Epoque Hotel
Epoque Hotel
#2 of 166 in Bucharest
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest
Address: 63-81 Calea Victoriei, Sector 1, Bucharest 010065, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Bucharest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Bucharest
#3 Spa Hotel in Bucharest
#6 Family Hotel in Bucharest
#7 Business Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bucharest
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bucharest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Bucharest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucharest Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing