We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track”

I Travel in Romania
Book In Advance
More Info
$86.00*
and up
Bucharest and Beyond Private Full-Day Tour
Ranked #10 of 179 Tours in Bucharest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Travelling is personal and no two travelers are alike. That is why all my tours can be customized. It is your vacation and you want to make the most of it. I consider the key to truly enjoy a tour in Romania is to interact with locals and get some authentic travel experiences. I am here to do that with you! My company will be at your full disposal so you can have an unique trip only with your loved ones and at your own pace. Every part of Romania has something special and awaits you to discover it, either it is the famous Transylvania with its Fortified Churches in the Saxon Villages, the unique Medieval Towns, the Traditional Maramures with its Wooden Churches, the Charming Bucovina with its Painted Monasteries or The Amazing Wild Danube Delta.
Reviewed June 15, 2016

I took a tour to salt mines, winery and muddy volcanos. To start with, I should say that Mihai is not an ordinary tour guide. By the end of the tour you realise that he is more like an old friend. Imagine, you fly to a country to see a friend and he just drives you around and shows nice places that would be extremely hard to visit by yourself using public transport. That's how it feels, rather than a typical Guide-Tourist relationship. He is quite knowledgeable and knows many historical facts and also ready to answer any your question from the point of view of a normal citizen of this country. I would definitely recommend him. And regarding this specific tour: if you’re a beach kind of person, it might not be for you, but if you like adventures and ready to spend the whole day searching for something new and different in order to return back to the hotel tired but happy then you’ll definitely like it.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Intetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private tour"
in 24 reviews
"bran castle"
in 12 reviews
"day tour"
in 12 reviews
"prince charles"
in 3 reviews
"transfagarasan road"
in 3 reviews
"days travelling"
in 2 reviews
"steam train"
in 2 reviews
"great patience"
in 2 reviews
"danube delta"
in 5 reviews
"great trip"
in 6 reviews
"salt mines"
in 4 reviews
"painted monasteries"
in 3 reviews
"careful driver"
in 2 reviews
"interesting trip"
in 2 reviews
"professional guide"
in 2 reviews
"excellent driver"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 4 reviews
Filter

95 - 99 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2016

Really nice tour and guide! Peles castle is fabulous, probably one of the nicest in the world to me. A little too crowded this time of the year but that is normal I guess. When I chose Mihai’s company, I was looking at some shared tours with many more reviews but the price was almost the same, except Mihai was offering the private tour. I made a great choice considering Mihai is really a safe driver, very knowledgeable about his country, and made my trip really enjoyable. The lunch was great, with a panoramic view of Bran and I suggest you should ask him to get you there for just a refreshment if not for lunch. Brasov's historical city center seemed much more relaxed than Bucharest’s and also cleaner, which was a nice bonus for the trip. So if you prefer private tours instead of shared, I recommend Mihai as a great option considering the price and quality of services offered.

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank mopar989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016

The private tour was initially booked for the Peles and Bran Castles plus Brasov, but actually we agreed while on the way to the castles to go for a really great mountain road trip instead of Brasov. I have heard about the famous Transfagarasan road but of course that is still closed until July or something due to snow. I asked our guide Mihai what is his impression of Transfagarasan and he proposed instead of the visit to Brasov to go for a mountain road trip close to the town where Peles castle is. He assured us that we would be impressed as Transfagaran. And we really were, even though I am not sure how the Transfagarasan road is for real. Mihai told us he drove up to almost 1925 meters so that was pretty close to Transfagarasan's height of little over 2000 meters. The scenery is simply beautiful and the road is in very good condition. Even though we liked the two castles a lot, especially Peles, the private tour with Mihai was much more than we expected with the nice surprise of this great mountain road trip included.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank betterlife9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2016

I was in Romania this week and had a tour entitled Bucharest One Day Private Tour to Peles and Bran Castles. I have never been to this relative unvisited Eastern European travel destination. Of course, we have all seen the movies and read the stories of Dracula. So this trip was a teaching moment for me. The first thing I was pleasantly surprised with the tour guide. Mihai is certainly a very good guide. A personable and knowledgeable man who treated me as a guest and not merely a customer. He picked me up punctually at my hotel. During the drive he told me that if I wanted to see anything else also, just to let him know. The castles were beautiful and interesting, but made even more so by his knowledge of them and side stories about them and the places we passed. Apart from the castles, I was really enchanted by the spectacular views of the mountain area on the way. Mihai promised me that I will have even a better experience if I come back for a 2-3 day tour of Transylvania , so he can introduce me some locals in the Saxon Villages. An unusually pleasant day for any tourist. I am now planning a return to Romania with a longer tour. Hopefully Mihai will be available.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

Great trip with Mihai. First, we werent sure if to book a shared tour or a private tour one. We were lucky to find Mihai who offered a very close price to the shared tour, but he does the private ones. So we agreed for a full day private tour to see Peles and Bran Castles and a visit in Brasov old town. He also added Rasnov Fortress - on the spot and no extra cost - on the list since we saw it looking interesting just when heading from Bran Castle to Brasov. Mihai made the trip very pleasant for us with all the information provided about Romania. Safe drive and surely much more enjoyable than a group tour.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Lilian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Travel in Romania also viewed

 

Been to I Travel in Romania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing