We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from I Travel in Romania tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience I Travel in Romania
from $140.00
More Info
from $695.00
More Info
from $119.00
More Info
from $86.00
More Info
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveler rating
91
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private tour bran castle day tour days travelling steam train transfagarasan road danube delta great trip salt mines painted monasteries interesting trip his knowledge professional guide excellent driver carpathian mountains wonderful guide beautiful country
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 92 of 92 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2016

At the beginning of April we were spending some days in Bucharest.

As we also wanted to see some of the castles outside Bucharest, we were looking for a tour to take us to these sights in Walachia and Trassilvania.
Planning our trip, we quickly came to the conclusion that we wanted to do a private tour rather than one with a big group of many tourists.

Among some other guides we contacted Mihai from ITravelinRomania.
We then decided very quickly that we wanted to do the tour with him. From the first email contact it was an very pleasant experience. Mihai answered our many questions very fast and together we forged the plan to vistit Peles Castle, Bran Castle as well as Rasnov Castle.
Mihai also offered the tour at a very reasonable price.

On the day of the tour Mihai picked us up at our hotel in Bucharest in a very tidy and comfortable car.
On our way to the first stop - Peles Castle - we were quickly convinced that we had chosen the right guy for the job as Mihai was very friendly and open to us and also a very safe driver.

He provided a wealth of interesting information (in very good English, by the way) about the landscapes we were passing and also gave us some general facts about Romania, its traditions and culture as well as its politics.
So we got a good crash course in "Romania for Dummies" ;-)

Mihai knew his way around very well. So he suggested an restaurant with great food for lunch.
On the way he also did little detours to scenic places where we could take photos of the carpathian valleys and enjoy the nice view.

Time really flew by on this tour and at the end of the day we had seen beautiful castles (we would advise a visit to all three of them!) and the astonishing countryside and we have learned much about Romania from our very knowledgeable guide.

In the evening he drove us back to our hotel. He even had a little present for my girlfriend, who had her birthday the previous day - that was really cute.

In the end we can only say:
Thank you for this amazing tour. We can highly recommend it and you as a tour guide to anyone who has an interest in getting to know Romania and who wants to do a customized tour at a reasonable rate

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank cbrun-de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihai C, Owner at I Travel in Romania, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Dear Stefanie, it was my pleasure to be your guide in beautiful Transylvania! I hope to see you both in the future when visiting Romania again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2016

We arranged a weekend break to Bucharest at the start of March & decided we wanted to include a day tour to Romania’s most famous castles of Bran & Peles. We considered a standard tour within a large group but felt that we would have a better experience with a private tour & our own personal guide.
After much consideration we chose Mihai at ITravelRomania & we were extremely happy that we did. In the first instance he was very quick to reply by email to our suggestions & was very flexible when we wanted to change the itinerary slightly. Overall Mihai made the whole experience thoroughly enjoyable & relaxed.
The day began with Mihai picking us up from our hotel and taking us to Sinaia via the Carpathian mountains to visit Pele’s castle. On route Mihai made the journey go quickly with many anecdotes about life in Romania & the history surrounding the castles spoken in perfect English.
We arrived at Peles in bright sunshine and enjoyed a fascinating tour around the stunning Royal castle a truly breath-taking place surrounded by beautiful mountain views.
On route to Bran castle we wanted to see some snow & take in some close up mountain views so were able to take a trip on the cable car at Babel up to 2290m up, we opted for this rather than visit the town of Brasov & were very glad we made this change, something only possible with a bespoke private tour. After a light lunch we headed for Bran castle and listened to stories of Vlad the impaler & the link to Bran stokers Dracula, again Mihai was very knowledgeable. The castle itself was fascinating & certainly lived up to its billing as being one of the most popular tourist attractions in Romania.
Before our journey back to Bucharest Mihai drove us to Cheile Gradistei Fundata for one final look at the stunning mountain backdrop & one last photo opportunity.
It was definitely a day to remember made all the more special thanks to Mihai. He was polite, friendly, knowledgeable & probably most importantly he listened to our needs. He gave us space to explore the venues ourselves but always kept in contact & was always there waiting for us when we were ready to move on.
If you decide to visit Bucharest & want to visit some of Romania’s beautiful sights then look no further than Mihai he will make it a trip to remember!

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank edp768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihai C, Owner at I Travel in Romania, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Thank you Ed for your appreciation, I hope to see you again in the future for other trips in my beautiful country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2016

My husband and I booked a trip to Romania on a whim, so we decided to hire a tour guide to do a tour of Transylvania as we were unfamiliar with the region. Mihai was super responsive and gave us very thoughtful recommendations on what we could do in our limited time, so we decided to hire him. His price was also very fair compared to all of the other tour companies we contacted.
All in all, Mihai was an excellent guide. He far exceeded our expectations. He took care of everything so we could just relax and enjoy the scenery. Traveling with Mihai was like traveling with someone you know for a long time. He has a good heart and super honest, and we trusted him to handle all of the arrangements. He made our trip! We would recommend him in a heartbeat for the following reasons:
1) Excellent English and safe driver: Mihai was always making sure that we were comfortable. We wouldn't been able to connect with the locals without him and shared as many laughs as we had.
2) Responsiveness and Authenticity: Prior to our trip, we bombarded Mihai with questions, and we always received prompt and speedy answers. He was able to work with us to craft the experience that we wanted. We wanted to see the best of Romania in the time we had, and we wanted to understand how people truly live and experience their part of the world. We got a chance to connect with locals and had an opportunity to appreciate how the social-political situation of Romania's history led to the development places such as Malancrav.
3) Local Artisans and Residents: Our first stop was Viscri, a Saxon town that was off the main road. We would have gotten lost if we had tried to find it ourselves. Mihai brought us to a local artisan shop, and met a local lady who sells handmade woolen slippers with leather soles. All of the slippers sold in her shop are made by her and her neighbors. 75% of the proceeds from each sale go to the lady who made the selling slipper. After Viscri, we stopped by another Saxon town, Malancrav, where the sweet caretaker of the church gave us a tour and a brief history, which has a beautiful painted altar. We enjoyed an awesome meal at the home of a local shepherd, where we met a 1 month year old lamb, Dolly. Through MIhai, we got a chance to ask the local shepherd many questions, including about her life and her family.
4) Good itinerary: We finish our trip seeing Sighisoara, a beautiful city with a citadel in the middle of the city. It's a city that hasn't changed much with time and has retained its European charm. We felt that our trip with filled with a good blend of country and city and very customized to us.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank revelation981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mihai C, Owner at I Travel in Romania, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2016

Dear Natalie, I am so glad you both enjoyed the tour and it was surely one very special for me! Romania is a very special country and I am happy you considered to visit it! Thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016
Google Translation

Date of experience: June 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews