We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, kind of nutty to get American BBQ in Chisinau, but....”
Review of Smokehouse

Smokehouse
Ranked #14 of 424 Restaurants in Chisinau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $6
Description: Welcome to Smokehouse - Chisinau's first American BBQ Restaurant. We promise BBQ, Beer and Community. No more. No Less
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Smokehouse - Chisinau's first American BBQ Restaurant. We promise BBQ, Beer and Community. No more. No Less
Reviewed August 13, 2017

OK, kind of nutty to get American BBQ in Chisinau, but it was a fun and tasty experience. I'm more than 70 and this catered more to people in their 20s and 30s, it seemed, but some families. The food was fine. The atmosphere was fun. I'm glad I went.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank obp483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 283 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

We loved smokehouse and revisited several times. English menus and good English spoken. Food delicious, but not much variety, be sure to like BBQ! Beer and atmosphere good too, it's popular though and you can't always get a table for a bigger group. Quiz night on Tuesday is fun, we will win next time!

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Fionam2242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

Very friendly staff, really good mix of guests from different places on earth. The place to be for beer geeks in Chisinau, with a handfull of really nice craft beer on tap, but their food aren't bad either.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OlaRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

I ate here during a weekend visit with friends. I can honestly say that I was surprised by how the restaurant looks - it gives you the feeling of an authentic american restaurant. The food was very good (we had pulled pork sandwich and the big plate of ribs). Their pickled onion was great. Although the pulled pork was very tasty, some of the ribs had a little bit too much fat, but were still very good. The arnold palmer drink is also great. I was impressed by the fact that the iced water is free and so are the sauces. There is a great selection of side dishes to choose from.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank robertrL3136OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile

We have been traveling to Chisinau for 10 years, and live here for two months every summer. First experience walking in it feels like home! From the great English, to the glass of water (instead of a bottle), to a one page menu (not 15) and lastly, the American style food without a Moldovan twist. Don't get me wrong, we love Moldovan food and culture, but when you're away for as long as we are, this is a breath of fresh air!! Thank you for a great experience- we look forward to coming again!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokehouse also viewed

Chisinau, Chisinau District
 
Chisinau, Chisinau District
Chisinau, Chisinau District
 

Been to Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.