We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel so far”
Review of Tapok Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tapok Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“The best hostel so far”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Whenever we think of a perfect hostel - we think Tapok! It was our love from the first sight. The porch outside was amazing, we spent a lot of hours sitting there and meeting all the interesting people who were also travelling to Chisinau - a great way to spend a friendly summer evening. The staff was so nice and caring. The administrator showed us all the good places to eat and visit on the map, invited to the jazz concert and shared chocolates:) The location was also very good - just a few minute walk from the main street. I liked the bright design and snacks in the kitchn. But for me the most important thing is the atmosphere and it was totally amazing, very very friendly, we found a good company there to explore the city together, go clubbing and sing songs at 5 am. I would definitely recommend everyone to stay at Tapok! You'll enjoy it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    24
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
6
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was quite good and the service was very good most of the time. I did however, have a problem when trying to pay and not having exact change. The staff then told me that it was not good and seemed to expect that I would somehow magically produce exact change. Apart from that, no problems and good beds.

Room Tip: I stayed downstairs - it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PhilipLoventoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijmuiden, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Nice and cozy hostel. Almost in the midlle of the city center. Very friendly and helpfull employees. Good information about public transport.Not very big, but everything is there. The kitchen can be used throughout the whole day by anyone. I'm glad I found Tapok Hostel. After a few times in different accomodation which were not so very good, I know where I'm going to next time!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nicoswart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This place is intimate but very comfortable. The beds were like clouds and the room quite. The staff were very helpful and the hostel bike works well. The kitchen has everything you need to cook and great wifi. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aviatoradair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapok H, Manager at Tapok Hostel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for review!
Hope to see you again in Tapok Hostel;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Tapok hostel was a nice enough place to stay. I paid a little more for the smaller bedroom upstairs (4 bunks) and it was comfortable with lockers in the room and good wifi. The upstairs bathroom is REALLY small and not the cleanest in the world (although there's a lot worse out there). The location is a bit of a walk from the center (15 minutes?), but really not bad at all. Oh, there was not hot water in the shower one morning and the water pressure was pretty lousy most of the time. Staff (one girl) was nice and other guests were interesting. I didn't use the kitchen, but it looked to be nice sized with plenty of cookware. Not much in the way of hang-out areas, but the outside courtyard is nice and quiet. Overall, if you're looking for a cheap, moderately comfortable place to stay, Tapok will do just fine.

Room Tip: Four person option is two bunk beds. Room is small but okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WalkingInWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapok H, Manager at Tapok Hostel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and staying at Tapok Hostel. We are always taking into account guests advice and complains. The water problem mentioned by you is fully fixed and the cleanliness is improved. It is hard to be perfect in everything but we are going to be 99% from 100%:)
Wish to see you again in Tapok Hostel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

staff is rarely there and is not very wellcoming not competent anyway
bathrooms are really, really dirty
good location and good price though, but it's very small so you don't want to spend your holliday there

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lu3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tapok H, Guest Relations Manager at Tapok Hostel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear lu3333, unfortunately you wrote this review despite the fact that you have never lived in our hostel. It's very sad to consider our staff not competent and bathrooms dirty while you never saw our hostel. We kindly invite you to visit us and to check reality. Definitely you will change you opinion about us;)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ternopil, Ukraine
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great place!!! Very good place to stay in. It is very clean and comfortable.Have been there with friends. Very friendly staff!!! We found a great international company of people from all over the world there each with an interesting story to tell. Thanks for all)))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irynka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chisinau hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chisinau
Hotel Chisinau
#7 of 44 in Chisinau
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Leogrand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Business & Spa Hotel Olsi
Business & Spa Hotel Olsi
#24 of 44 in Chisinau
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Retro Moldova Hostel
Retro Moldova Hostel
#14 of 39 in Chisinau
30 reviews
0.7 mi away
Guest House Suisse
Guest House Suisse
#7 of 49 in Chisinau
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chisinau Chill Hostel
Chisinau Chill Hostel
#5 of 39 in Chisinau
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tapok Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tapok Hostel

Property: Tapok Hostel
Address: Armeneasca 27A, Chisinau 2012, Moldova
Location: Moldova > Chisinau District > Chisinau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Chisinau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hey guys! Looking for a place in Chisinau to chill out and make new friends? So this is the right place for you. We know exactly what you are looking for: we promise we will make our best to make your travel a unique experience. We have absolutely the best location in the heart of Chisinau. We’re right on Armeneasca street in the historical city center. You'll be located within walking distance of all the city action. We’re also close to the bus, trolleybus and minibus stops to get around Chisinau. Tapok is an oasis for backpackers, featuring all the amenities, activities and events that travelers truly want. This includes friendly staff to help you, a fun international crowd to hang out with, cool rooms, a great vibe, weekend events and activities that supply lots of fun for free or very cheap. This place was just an old yellow house that has been remodeled into a colorfull nice-designed hostel. Each of our dorms has four-to-eight beds plus two shared bathrooms to escapre queues and a guest kitchen. There are free lockers in every dorm as well as free white linen, towels and free luggage storage. Wooden beds are custom handmade with very comfy mattresses, personal lights, hangers and power sockets. You will feel yourself like at your home and sleep like an angel!Our outdoor common space is fantastic, featuring a huge, warm and welcoming courtyard that has music, grill, trees and flowers. You can always enjoy your refreshments and a barbeque with sunbathing and cold beer in a cool company.Relax and get to know your fellow travelers (a fun international crowd) at our free BBQs and gatherings.There’s also a kitchen available where you can cook and have a meal in a favourable atmosphere after a day's sightseeing. There we also have free snacks, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tapok Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing