We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of a non-existent range in Chisinau!”
Review of Jolly Alon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jolly Alon
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Chisinau
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Ok let's qualify this first. There are literally no decent hotels in Chisinau, at least not if you measure "decent" by Western European standards. This is one of two (well known) 4-star hotels in the city, both of which are spotlessly clean but painfully dated. In a way though this wasn't a problem -you could say my room was "retro" in design! The most annoying thing was the pillows- so soft and floppy your head is basically touching the mattress. Everything else was fine, and the desk staff were nice, but the breakfast needs some serious work to be 4-star quality. The location is great and there is a decent bar and pool onsite too. You won't find anything else in Chisinau, so for now this hotel rules the roost!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Djwill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 151 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for over 2 weeks whilst on EC business. The hotel is of a reasonable standard. The rooms are dated and rather drab, but they have everything you need for your stay. The hotel staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Good things; lovely park across the road, nice outdoor cafe, the staff, the lobby and main areas. Things that could be improved; the WIFI as it was intermittent, the breakfast, although okay there could have been more variety and the comfort of the bed. All in all my stay was pleasant and I would return. Thank you Jolly Alon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistyLakeDistrict_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel is in a good area and very convenient for parks, banks, shops and transport. It is not a UK 4 star standard and the bedrooms are a bit outdated but the public areas have been upgraded. Didn't visit the gym or pool but colleagues said they were very good and the pool nice and warm although only open in the mornings. The staff were very helpful, finding us cold milk for our tea, providing heaters in our bedrooms when the weather was unusually cold for the season, sorting out issues with another guest who was very noisy. The bathroom in my room had been refurbished and was extremely clean; the housekeeping staff were cheerful and friendly and reception sorted out an additional room for us at very short notice. Breakfast food very fresh and well presented. Overall much better than we expected from some of the moaning reviews on the site - some people need to remember where they are and give others a break.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are lighter and some have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel is right next to the city center, next to a park, in a quiet area. The rooms are big and clean, wifi is available everywhere in the hotel. The breakfast is good, but doesn't offer a big variety.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bosu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is well located some 15 mins from the airport. The rooms are clean and well serviced. There is free wifi throughout. It's a good speed but you must log in frequently as it drops you every time you move about the hotel. There is a pool and gym that has limited opening hours.

The breakfast buffet isn't bad with a good selection of foods to cater for all. There is a nice park across the road with a playground for children.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank IrelandPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a hotel with "soviet atmoshpere". But it is good, Clean rooms and quiet. Good working Place in the room and the wifi is working almost all the time. The staff are firendly. The berakfast could be richer but I am not a big breakfasteater. The gym is excellent and well equipped.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were told that there are basically 2 hotels of decent standard in Chisinau.
Jolly Alon (we were all the time tempted to call it Jolly Alone) is one of them, well located downtown.

Very pompous appearance and lobby and armchairs that make you expect Hosni Mubarak to enter the place any moment. The personnel in terms of friendliness is more or less Ok.
Quite poor restaurant! For good cuisine and excellent wine you have to go to restaurant Pegas (Pegasus) - judged by cars in front the focal point for local elite.

The hotel rooms are old fashioned but clean and (mine at least) spacious.

Room Tip: Go and eat in restaurant Pegas. Order taxi to thr restaurant, order taxi from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterZashev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chisinau hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Leogrand Hotel
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Flowers Hotel
1.5 mi away
Berd's Design Hotel
Berd's Design Hotel
#1 of 46 in Chisinau
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Chisinau
Hotel Chisinau
#6 of 46 in Chisinau
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#12 of 46 in Chisinau
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regency Hotel
Regency Hotel
#15 of 46 in Chisinau
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Alon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Alon

Address: Maria Cibotari Street, 37, Chisinau 2012, Moldova
Location: Moldova > Chisinau District > Chisinau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chisinau
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chisinau
Price Range: $83 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jolly Alon 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jolly Alon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Alon Chisinau
Jolly Alon Hotel Chisinau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing