We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of Popasul Dacilor

Popasul Dacilor
Ranked #16 of 339 Restaurants in Chisinau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Romanian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chisinau
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

One of the best restaurants in Chisinau. Very various and wall prepared food. The prices a big but the quality is on top level. Strongly recommend ...

Helpful?
Thank AdrianChD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    39
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A special treat...”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

a bit more expensive then other restaurants, but great for "that" special evening, an invitation or celebrating: sort of traditional furnishing (all wood, antlers and chandeliers) with a luxurious touch... sometimes live (traditional) music... excellent Moldovian cuisine as well as international dishes on a menu of some 20 pages... good beer and wines... a bit outside of the center (15 min by taxi)... nice garden... best to reserve a table!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobOfVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Moldovan Food Experience”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Popasu Dacilor is one of the most unique restaurants I have ever visited. Although there was an interior dining room, we were seated in an elevated, open air dining room in the trees. It was both beautiful and quite comfortable. Servers dress in traditional costume, and furnishings are rustic. The service was very good, the food even better. They offer an extensive menu of regional specialties. Out group ordered a fresh vegetable platter, pickled vegetable platter, placinte (cabbage or cheese in dough), and mamaliga (polenta) for the table. We each ordered a meat specialty including rabbit, chicken, beef, and pork. Each was perfectly prepared with a special sauce or stuffing. During our meal a group of musicians played traditional songs for us. New friends in our party are from Moldova and were touched by the traditional music. This is expensive, but if within your budget, worthwhile. Our bill for 6 was 2000 lei ($161.00) which is quite high for most families here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Chisinau”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

“Popasul Dacilor” is a nice place for a weekend dinner or lunch, especially during summer time. They have outdoor tables surrounded by trees and decorations in traditional style.

Delicious traditional food! Everything tastes good and the service is quick and great.

Also, in the evening they have a folk band singing!
If one wishes to celebrate his/her birthday with the family closest friends, “Popasul Dacilor” is definitely the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaRusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place and atmosphere, overpriced and administrator is very rude.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice decoration,but i think the food is over priced. The waiters did not speak english, at least basics -bad!!! The administrator was rude when i asked to have separate bills for every person as we were a group of 13. He said is not possible, but in the end they did it, why should you then spoil my mood???

The food was good, but think overpriced. Do not thing that was the best i had for the money i paid.

The waiters in rest where very polite.

Recommend - not really.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TriptoMoldova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popasul Dacilor also viewed

Chisinau, Chisinau District
Chisinau, Chisinau District
 
Chisinau, Chisinau District
Chisinau, Chisinau District
 
Chisinau, Chisinau District
Chisinau, Chisinau District
 

Been to Popasul Dacilor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing