We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive winery in the Moldavian countryside”
Review of Milestii Mici

Milestii Mici
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.73*
and up
Milestii Mici Underground Winery Tour from Chisinau
More Info
$219.68*
and up
2 Excursions in One Day Milestii Mici Winery and Tiraspol Transnistria
Ranked #2 of 87 things to do in Chisinau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Impressive winery in the Moldavian countryside”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

There is nothing to dislike about touring this impressive winery. The guide is informative and actually like his job. The winery itself is in the Guinness Book of Records. To be frank there isn't much to see in Chisinau or surrounding areas, but this is a must see. Vast underground storage facilities, a fabulous room to sample wines and have some fruit and cheese. Of course at the end of the tour you will want to purchase some award winning wines. I find Moldavian wines to be an excellent value.. Don't miss this tour if you are in Chisinau. A must see.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeC965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    70
    29
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Visit the Largest Wine Collection in the world!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This giant wine complex was found in 1969 and in was declared in 2005 as a "national-cultural patrimony of the Republic of Moldova" by the Moldavian Parliement. It's situated next to the village of Milestii Mici (not far away from the capital of Moldova - Chisinau) and is one of the most important tourist attraction in Moldova.
The tour to this attraction is done by your own car (you are accompanied by a local guide) since the wine cellar of Milestii Mici is situated in underground galleries with total length of 200 km (55 of them are used for the wine storage), all of them between 30 and 85 m below the ground, air humidity of 85-95% and with a constant temperature of +12 to +14 C. The different galleries of the this unique "wine city" are named after type of wines - "Cabernet", "Traminer", "Sauvignon", etc. In the wine storage department there are 3500 containers with average tankage of 6.5 mln dal. 1200 of these containers are special oak tasks with tankage between 800 and 1200 dal. After driving around you visit by feet the so-called "Golden Collection" of Milestii Mici of around 1,5 mln bottles - registered in the Guinness book of Records in 2005 as the largest wine collection in the world!
After you make the tour which usually is between 45 and 60 minutes you are invited to the tasting halls where you could have a lunch (typical Moldavian cuisine) and taste red and white dry wines as well as their very interesting "Margaritar" dessert wine with 16% alc. volume.
Next to the wine cellar there is a shop where you could buy all of their wines - from more usual ones (great quality, apart from the very good value for money - I recommend their red Codru wine with a price of around 3 EUR per bottle) to more expensive wines from their "Golden Collection". You can pay in the wine shop not only in cash but also by the most common debit/credit cards.
I really would recommend visiting this unique attraction (well, it's not really cheap but I guess the experience is worth the price) if you are in Chisinau, Moldova - it's just 20 minutes drive by car from the capital!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very interesting and enjoyable, i found the best way to go is get a taxi driver to take you, it cost $2 each for him to drive our group of 5 round the winery , entrance was approx $20 each for the standard tour which involved trying three types of wine, they were only cheap wines but the trip itself is worth it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dazzer113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good to see, but I'd rather see where my 50 Euro's went...”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Great winery tour, but WAY over-priced!

I was part of a work group and we did this tour on our off-time at our own expense. Considering that we provided our own transportation to/from and during the tour (the guides got into our vans - forcing some of us to stand, on a tour we paid for??).

Then we had wine tastings and a dinner, which consisted of a vegetable plate (no dip, sauce, oil or vinegar - despite having asked twice, once by our Moldovan speaking host!) and a small cup of broth (I guess it was supposed to be soup?) that had a rock hard bread cap baked on (not edible...but fun to play with, see picture) and contained 3 or 4 mushrooms and I kid you not, a single cube of chicken. AND no dessert... incredible when compared to the dinners we had had previously in our time in Chisinau, where we had 3, 4 and 5 course dinners with beer and wine for about 20 Euro's.

For 50 Euro's (in MOLDOVA) I expected a helluva lot more - especially when we found out the most expensive wine we tasted was about 7 Euro's in their shop!!

The wines were good, especially if you like white wines and/or sweet wines. The tour itself? was neat to see & experience, if only so that I can say I've been to the world's largest winery. If there were anything else to do in Moldova, I'd give it a miss, at least you won't find yourself singing:

Ohh where, ohh where, did my 50 euro go? Ohh where ohh where can it be??

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bradenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“best winery in Moldova”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The winery is pretty big, and you need a car for the tour in the underground streets. The guide was very friendly and helpful, although her english wasn't quite good.
They offer several tasting and eating packages, but most are available for a minimum 5 persons group. The meals, the wine and the service were awesome, although the prices are pretty high.
You can buy great wines at the winery shop, for prices far smaller than the city supermarkets.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Dilvish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milestii Mici also viewed

Chisinau, Chisinau District
 

Been to Milestii Mici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing