We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from The Guide - Day Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Guide - Day Tours
from $103.60
More Info
from $253.20
More Info
from $270.40
More Info
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
79
1
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
79
1
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balkan region private tour his knowledge fantastic trip beautiful country beloved country day trip spent two weeks lake bled surrounding countries plitvice national park comfortable van medieval town his passion dalmatian coast rich history visiting croatia
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 82 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2018

A few of us recently traveled to Croatia a friend recommended we book a day tour with The Guide as he had done tours with Jakov previously and highly recommended his company . Jakov was booked out the day we wanted, Marko was our guide for the day ,he picked us up from our accommodation ,he was very friendly and spoke perfect English we knew we would have a great day. We did an Istrian tour starting off in the town of Hum, smallest town in the world. We had no idea this town existed even though my husband is Croatian, so thank you Marko as it was a pleasant surprise ,Marko was very knowledgeable and took us to a couple of unexpected Historical sites along the way to Pula and Rovinj Thank you Marko we had a fantastic day we will look forward to booking more tours on our next trip .

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Nashii_Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGuide-Croatia, Owner at The Guide - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2018

Dear Nashi and guys, thank you for taking time to write this review. We really enjoyed being your tour agent/guides . You should definitely come back to see the rest of Croatia and it will be my pleasure to show it to you. Best regards, Jakov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

Jakov gave us a private tour of the Walls surrounding Dubrovnik, then around the town itself. He is super knowledgable about his beautiful country and gave an awesome, informational tour. We also took a day trip ending in the beautiful town of Kotor, Montenegro where we learned much more history and enjoyed the scenery. Jakov's sense of humor blended in with the lessons was helpful and made our time with him so enjoyable! Thanks Jakov!

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGuide-Croatia, Owner at The Guide - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Hi Amy,We are very pleased that you had a great time on your days tour to Dubrovnik walls and Montenegro day tour with us. We always try to give our best and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour. Your feedback is very much appreciated and valuable to us. . Thank you for choosing The Guide TA! Hope to see you again soon!
Best Rgds
Jakov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018

We went on a private customised tour for 9 days with Jakov around Slovenia (Lake Bled) and Croatia and it was a truly fantastic experience!

Croatia is such a stunning and beautiful country with lots to offer in terms of scenery, culture and food. Not to mention their passionate fans (It was world cup fever!)

Jakov was very enthusiastic and knowledgable. He went to great lengths to put our comfort first and addressed our needs without fail. He was an excellent guide and the tour was really well planned and customised to suit us perfectly. He was very flexible and as such we were able to relax and thoroughly enjoy our holiday.

We would definitely recommend him and his company for anyone looking to explore Croatia! It is definitely worth a visit (and many more after!)

Jon
Singapore

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank HanJ222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGuide-Croatia, Owner at The Guide - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Hi Han Family, We are very happy that you had a great time on your 9 days trip from Wiena,Zagreb,Plitvice,Split,Istria, to Dubrovnik and back with The Guide TA and Jakov like your guide, we always try to give the best and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour. Your feedback is very much appreciated and valuable to us. . Thank you for choosing The Guide TA! Hope to see you again soon!
Best Rgds
Jakov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

My husband and I spent two weeks on a private tour of Croatia and Slovenia with The Guide. It was the trip of a lifetime.
Jakov was very knowledgeable about world history, religion, culture, and geography. He was able to pull all the different pieces together into a consistent theme which made the trip all the more enjoyable and interesting. Marko had great perspective on world current event politics and changes happening inside Croatia. Both were excellent English speakers, great drivers, engaging and attentive to all our needs. We enjoyed spending a week with each of them. Jakov planned our entire trip of fantastic sights, tours, local lunches, and accommodations. We could not have been happier with the choices.
We first stayed in Zagreb, Croatia where we enjoyed a city tour of Zagreb, day trips to the Medieval Town of Samobor and to Trakoscan Castle. Next we traveled to Plitvice where we stayed 2 nights allowing us an entire day to enjoy Plitvice Lakes National Park - a highlight of the trip. Then our travels continued to Rovinj with a stop at Motovun, a hilltop village. Rovinj was a beautiful coastal town and we took day trips to the Roman amphitheater in Pula, and Tito's private island Brijuni. Then on toward Oprtalj with stops at Porec and Groznjan. Next we went toured Lipica stud farm and Postojna cave on our way to Ljubljana, Slovenia. Two nights in Ljubljana and we were on our way to Lake Bled which is a must-see. The boat trip to the island church and the hike around the lake up to the castle were the highlights. The Slovenian landscape is beautiful and we took day trips to hike to waterfalls, ride an aerial tram above Lake Bohinj and take long scenic drives along the Soca river and through the Julian Alps. There were so many beautiful sights and unexpected and fun stops along the way. Too many to recount. A private tour with The Guide was definitely an experience that exceeded all our expectations. We hope to come back again soon!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 373DeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGuide-Croatia, Owner at The Guide - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Hi De Browers, We are very pleased that you had a great time on your two weeks private tour of Croatia and Slovenia with The Guide. Our guides like Jakov or Marko always try to give the best in the tour,We are super happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour. Your feedback is very much appreciated and valuable to us. . Thank you for choosing The Guide TA! Hope to see you again soon!
Best Rgds
Jakov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Jakov provided expert guide services and translation help during our recent 4-day visit to Zagreb, Croatia and the surrounding area. His vehicle was comfortable and impeccably clean. His flexibility in customizing the tour as our plans changed was very much appreciated.

Before we arrived, he helped us with family research and contacting family members for 2 fantastic afternoons of visiting.

The walking tour of Zagreb was interesting and insightful, especially showing us the house he grew up in. We enjoyed hearing his passionate presentation on the diverse history of Zagreb and surrounding area and learning about the importance of Croatia in being a crossroads of world events and how it evolved over time.

We particularly enjoyed seeing the Zagreb Cathedral, Dolac Farmer’s Market, and riding the funicular. The discussion of St Mark’s Cathedral (and its roof) was interesting, especially when we discovered the next day that my great-grandfather was baptized there.

Jakov explained the importance of various monuments in the downtown parks and the wonderful museums. These are all places for us to explore on our next visit.

He provided a breathtaking panoramic tour of Medvednica Park with a delicious traditional Croatian lunch and a “million dollar” view of Zagreb in the distance. Too bad the weather did not allow us to see the Alps.

Another wonderful “million dollar” view of Croatian wine country and luncheon highlighted the tour. The lovely walking tour of the community of Samobor and the delicious cakes that we enjoyed eating while relaxing on the outdoor patio with its surrounding beautiful flower planters concluded another wonderful day.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank waukvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGuide-Croatia, Owner at The Guide - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Videkovices, Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We take personal approach in creating each tour in order to cater and satisfy your travel needs and interests. T
See U guys soon back in Croatia..
All the best
Best Regards
Jakov

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews